Customer Reviews for

The Glass Books of the Dream Eaters

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

It never stops, not for one second

I'm not going to explain the contents of the book, as it is explained by B&B already. But I must say, if you haven't read this, you have seriously missed out. I found it refreshing, intelligent, and outrageously amusing. There is alot of subtle humor if you catch it. I...
I'm not going to explain the contents of the book, as it is explained by B&B already. But I must say, if you haven't read this, you have seriously missed out. I found it refreshing, intelligent, and outrageously amusing. There is alot of subtle humor if you catch it. I found myself taking the book everywhere because everytime I tried to take a break, something else happened. Celeste was questioned by a gorgeously evil masked woman. Chang is surrounded by 4 soldiers, Svenson by 5 and a boat of corpses. And honestly, I haven't read this sort of poetic writing since The Alienist. Now it does get difficult to follow all the characters, I found myself one day scribbling a sort of tree of characters, just to make sense of it all. But it is all worth it. I must admit, I'm more of a fantasy sort of person, and the sexuality of this book just got me all atwitter. MY goodness!

posted by Anonymous on August 26, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Eyes Wide Crossed

Seldom has a story started out so promisingly and ground to such a disappointing halt under the weight of it's confusing plot. I enjoyed the three main characters as well as it's Victorian setting, but their character development and relationships were abandoned in t...
Seldom has a story started out so promisingly and ground to such a disappointing halt under the weight of it's confusing plot. I enjoyed the three main characters as well as it's Victorian setting, but their character development and relationships were abandoned in the last half in service of it's bewildering cast of villains and it's overwrought narrative. There's a lot to like about this novel, but if you venture it, you'll need to keep notes on all the characters, there were just too many of them for me to keep straight.

posted by Anonymous on October 29, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2006

    unstoppably perilous scenarios, but a fun read

    After the fiftieth or so time one of the heroes escaped from a certainly fatal encounter, I started to be weary of the drama of it all. But I must admit, I became fond of Temple, Chang and Svenson, and rooted for them anyway. The erotic tilt was not overwhelming and made the long read overall quite fun.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2006

    Eyes Wide Crossed

    Seldom has a story started out so promisingly and ground to such a disappointing halt under the weight of it's confusing plot. I enjoyed the three main characters as well as it's Victorian setting, but their character development and relationships were abandoned in the last half in service of it's bewildering cast of villains and it's overwrought narrative. There's a lot to like about this novel, but if you venture it, you'll need to keep notes on all the characters, there were just too many of them for me to keep straight.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    This is a wild over the top but fun Victorian thriller

    The note on Ministry paper from her fiancé Roger Bascombe simply said that his engagement to Celeste Temple is terminated. Not upset over the abrupt ending of their engagement or even his cowardly cruel method of delivering, twenty-five years old Miss Temple simply needs to know why. She decides to find out first hand.---------------- Leaving her island paradise, Miss Temple travels to London to learn the truth. Disguising herself she serendipitously trails Roger from the foreign ministry to Harschmort House. The curiously intrepid visitor sneaks inside the stately mansion only to find odd goings-on especially at the theater in which Miss Temple sits in the audience apparently enjoying erotic acts performed on stage. Before Miss Temple knows what is happening, she gets involved in a masked tryst with voyeurs looking through mirrors at her while she looks back at their depravity. Miss Temple flees the chambers of sex but not before she kills a thug trying to prevent her escape. Those inside want her stopped while she finds aid from two men assassin Cardinal Chang and diplomat Abelard Svenson, who want to rescue abducted females from this den of iniquity with dreams of world domination starting with local sexual sacrifices.---------------- This is a wild over the top but fun Victorian thriller that never slows down from the moment that Miss Temple receives the letter and has an itch to learn why, but discovers much more than just the reason for her dumping. The story line in some ways is a coming of age tale though the heroine is twenty-five and her lessons are in debauchee, religious-sexual ceremonies, and rites of passage. With too many characters coming (figuratively and literally) and going, the story line can get difficult to follow, but worth the time as Miss Temple battles a depraved cabal preparing to conquer the world.---------------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2006

    It never stops, not for one second

    I'm not going to explain the contents of the book, as it is explained by B&B already. But I must say, if you haven't read this, you have seriously missed out. I found it refreshing, intelligent, and outrageously amusing. There is alot of subtle humor if you catch it. I found myself taking the book everywhere because everytime I tried to take a break, something else happened. Celeste was questioned by a gorgeously evil masked woman. Chang is surrounded by 4 soldiers, Svenson by 5 and a boat of corpses. And honestly, I haven't read this sort of poetic writing since The Alienist. Now it does get difficult to follow all the characters, I found myself one day scribbling a sort of tree of characters, just to make sense of it all. But it is all worth it. I must admit, I'm more of a fantasy sort of person, and the sexuality of this book just got me all atwitter. MY goodness!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2007

    Fantastic, to say the least!

    This book is quite over-the-top, as many before me have claimed, but is that not what fantasy fiction ia all about? Simply put, a brilliant, far-reaching, fun Victorian novel. I will say, it is not for those without imagination or for the faint of heart. If you are looking for an intelligent, fantastic read, 'The Glass Books of the Dream Eaters' is definitly the book to read!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2007

    Absolutley Outstanding!!!!!!!

    Dahlquist is pure genius with this book. Charachters fresh,storyline of the book: absolutley unique. Anyone not finding this book a page turner needs to be taught to read and use there imagination all over again. Simply Delicious. I look forward to the next novel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2006

    A Must Read

    Simply put...It is fantastic fun!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2006

    Overhyped and Stodgy

    After the hype around this book, I found myself quite disappointed when Dahlquist did not deliver. I read about 3/5 of this novel before having to admit defeat. It is simply too ponderous, and the story could have been told in about 200 pages.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2006

    A must read

    A betrothal broken without explanation. A suspenseful chase by carriage and train. A country house hosting inexplicable vice. An intrepid heroine seduced by danger... And that's only the beginning! Gordon Dahlquist's mammoth (760 page) debut novel reads like a 21st-century imagining of a Victorian thriller. Pulsing with terror, erotic energy, and exhilarating invention, this is a fantastic and compelling saga ¿ part Wilkie Collins, part Jules Verne, part Sherlock Holmes, part Alexander Dumas. I and nine other booksellers had dinner last night (8/1) with the author, on the Queen Mary. How cool was that. He got the idea for the book in a dream, and wrote a lot of it while commuting to his 'day' job at Columbia Univ. It only took him a year to write! This is his first book, but he's a playwrite. I think that's why the book is so visual, very visual, and never boring. You must read every word, no skimming. A sequal is in the works

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2006

    Just get to the point already!!!

    I'm not sure what book the people below read but this book dragged on forever. 760 pages and the ending was horrible. So many unanswered questions. An over abundance of characters, almost too many to keep track of. This book reminded me a having a conversation with someone at a bar who talks so slow that you are about to jump out of your seat and scream get to the point. And then the person just stops talking and you realize that is the end of the story and you are like thanks for wasting my time with 760 pages leading up to a crappy ending.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Potential

    It started out with so much promise... crime, sex, mystery, and a dreamy steampunk armosphere. But 300 pages in and I can't do it anymore. Characters are running amok and and the dialogue has disintegrated into pensive self-talk. Just skip to the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    ?.

    ?.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Steampunk thriller

    Highly lmaginative, strong distinctive characters. Very fun to run pellmell into danger with three very likebly unlikely protagonists. I think the author is quite the artist. I am a fan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What a thrill!

    I'm a reader who is typically put off by chapters running beyond 70 pages, but once I embarked on this bizarre journey with Miss Temple, Cardinal Change, and Svenson, this tome of a novel becomes almost impossible to put down. Three separate voices narrate, which forces the reader to piece together the events as they unfold, and heightens the intrigue surrounding the mysterious blue glass.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Could not put this book down!

    I picked this up on a whim in paperback (well vol. one) and I then had to buy the entire first book in hardcover. It is one to have in your perm. library. It is full of fun and adventure. The characters are fully developed and complex. It grabs your attention and refuses to let it go and at then end leaves youwanting more. Thank goodness Mr. Dahlquist has the second book coming out soon, I have had mine preordered for quite some time and can't wait for it to arrive!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2009

    A simply astounding read.

    This is one of the best novels I have ever read, and I have read hundreds of them. A most original and unique story. I love books that challenge the mind as this one does, with its complex characters and intricate plot. A must-read for any reader who considers them self somewhat of an intellectual, with literary tastes elevated above the norm. I would not recommend this to just any reader, as it could be quite daunting to a young person, or somebody who just likes a simple story, with simple characterizations, and a simple subject.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2006

    I think the author needs to eat less dreams...

    I must admit that there were many times that I enjoyed this novel completely. I grew to either care about the characters or hate them, even though keeping track of all the characters became difficult at times. If the book had cut back on the 'Eyes Wide Shut' sexual degradation of women I think this book could have been a complete success.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2