Customer Reviews for

The Glass Castle

Average Rating 4.5
( 2221 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1379)

4 Star

(498)

3 Star

(200)

2 Star

(78)

1 Star

(66)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

what a great book

The Glass Castle is a inspiring novel that really deals with problems that many face, neglection. The mother doesn't care enough to be a true mom, and the father is too busy getting drunk to care in a fatherly way. Which leaves the children with a lot to be desired. In ...
The Glass Castle is a inspiring novel that really deals with problems that many face, neglection. The mother doesn't care enough to be a true mom, and the father is too busy getting drunk to care in a fatherly way. Which leaves the children with a lot to be desired. In a quest for independence and to find a way through life the children separate and it shows many different paths life can lead you down..It is truly an inspirational book, that shows you don't need someone always and to never give up. I really recommend this book.

posted by devin10 on May 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Captivating True Life Story!

I wasn't sure if I would like this book going in knowing it was a memoir of some girl's childhood and upbringing. However, after getting into the book I realized the life of Jeannette Walls was anything but a typical childhood story. I myself could not relate to even on...
I wasn't sure if I would like this book going in knowing it was a memoir of some girl's childhood and upbringing. However, after getting into the book I realized the life of Jeannette Walls was anything but a typical childhood story. I myself could not relate to even one aspect of her crazy life, but that made the book so much more interesting. The stories of this American family are outrageous, sometime they left me feeling heartbroken and at other times I fell in love with every member of the Walls family, even Rex and Rosemary. Jeannette and Her siblings are amazing and heroic, overcoming all odds to come out on top. A great story with all happy endings! Glad I gave this book a chancee :)

posted by Hot4Books on June 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2230 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 112
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A truely inspiring story!

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. Jeanette Walls is a wonderful storyteller. I was completely absorbed in the book and could not put it down until it was finished. I experienced a full range of emotion while reading this book. Jeanette's ability to overcome the poverty and obstacles of her youth is truely inspiring. Since reading this book myself, I have purchased copies to give to loved ones. This is one for your personal library.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My favorite book of all time!

    Walls is an amazing writer with an even more thrilling and amazing story. This book is uplifting and inspiring. The reader really feels a part of the story and there are times where you will want to reach into the book and save these children. You will be shocked, warmed, dumbfounded, and enraptured by this book. I tell everyone that I meet: YOU MUST READ IT!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book got me back into reading.

    You won't be able to put this book down. Amazing stories lurk around the turn of each page, you won't be able to stop until you know what happens next...and next...and next...until you're done with the book. Her story is not only bewildering but an inspiration. It's amazing how strong people can really be and the lives that each of us lead can be so much deeper than we imagine. Read this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Outstanding

    I loved this book absolutly inspiring! I would recommend this book for adults and children that can understand the description. I loved this book! It is a true story about a womans life. Almost like a biography. Totally worth buying! Money will be worth spent!! It will make you feel like you are her, like you are in the story!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Not sure

    Some things in this do not seem realistic. I believe the hard life, but some of the events seem unlikely.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    I love this book!

    I just want to say I love you Jeannette Walls! You inspire me!! This book inspires me!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Glass Castle is one of my top five favorite books

    Jeannette wrote an exceptional book. Her writing style keeps you wanting to turn the pages. Although there isn't any true normal childhood, Jeannette proves you can still survive no matter what obstacles you have to overcome. Many parents are often dreamers but they stifle their visions to raise a family. Jeannette's parents took their children with them on a life time adventure. They truly lived paycheck to paycheck and many times with even less.

    Special Note:
    One of the County School Systems where I live added Jeannette's book as a required summer read. I believe high school students would enjoy this book and it would keep them interested.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Outrage was the general feeling

    As I read this book I keep bouncing between respect for the intelligence instilled into these children and outrage at the total neglect and lack of concern for the well being of these children. The author did an excellent job of making the inconceivable seem normal.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2010

    Read 3 times!

    I love this book. I have read it three times and I would read it again. The author creates such a picture with her words, you feel like you are in the scenes. You almost feel sorry for the author (who is the main character in the book) and jealous of her life at the same time. She had a crazy, and wild upbringing which she describes beautifully. I recommend this book to anyone. It would be a great book club addition. I suggest you add it next month! This book would make a good gift for anyone you are looking to buy a gift for. You will enjoy reading this book. I promise.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    Hannah_Black

    The Glass Castle Glimmers
    "I was sitting in a taxi, wondering if I had overdressed for the evening, when I looked out the window and saw Mom rooting through a Dumpster." With a first sentence like that, you know you're in for a treat of a book. The unbelievable part is that this is true story. Jeannette Walls invites us to view her amazing life in The Glass Castle. Normally, I am not a fan of memoirs. There're either composed of sugary-sweet slice of life tales or of self-pity and cries for attention. The Glass Castle strikes a perfect between uplifting and realistic. Walls tells her triumphant tale without an ounce of the afore mentioned self-pity, even though she rightfully could.

    Walls grew up with an alcoholic dreamer of a father and a "live and let live" type, free spirit mother. They did things "Rex Wells style" aka breaking out of hospitals before paying and leaving town any time they pleased, disregarding bill collectors as "mafia members out to get them".

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Glass Castle Shines

    I wasn't sure if I would like The Glass Castle. However, i enjoyed it. It is the type of book that makes you realize that your life isn't so bad. I would recommend this book to everyone because Jenette Walls is an engaging reader. The only person that I couldn't stomach was her mom.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book, i was entertained the whole way through and would recomend this book to any of my friends and family

    In the novel jeannette Walls is growing up through the story and tells of her and her families mischevious and dangerous acts. ie running from creditors police and other problems in there history. There are many funny instances, but more important are the tragic ones there are many points in the story were heart wrenching storys of awfullness take place wich in the end make u grateful for what u have so by the end of the story u feel better about urself and the authour its a great story and would recomend it to anyone old or young


    o and have a great summer Mrs. Adams

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    An inspiring, must read memoir!

    Jeannette Walls, author of The Glass Castle, never lived in an ordinary, peaceful home. Her family, included her crazy, uncaring parents, Rex and Rose Mary Walls, and her loving, and supporting siblings, Lori, Brian, and Maureen. Her father, Rex, was a very violent person, when he was drunk. When sober, he was an intelligent man and gave his children knowledge not taught in a regular school, such as learning how to signal Morse code. Jeanette's mother, Rose Mary, was an artist and hated to be distracted by taking care of her own family. She often tells her family that they are holding her career back with their demands of essentials, like food and clothing. Since Jeannette Walls' mother was an artist, a lot of their money was spent on her supplies. Rex was mostly paid minimum wage, and fired from plenty of jobs. That made the family's money limited, and caused them to move from one unknown, rural town to another. "Dad came home in the middle of the night a few months later and roused all of us from bed. ' Time to pull up stakes and leave this s***-hole behind,' he hollered. We had fifteen minutes to gather whatever we needed and pile into the car." pg. 17. Here, this passage shows how the family's life has always been. It was almost like a monthly routine. Every couple of months they would just pack up and leave, when in trouble. What really kept their family together were the children, Jeannette, Lori, Brian, and Maureen. They would collect bottles and other recyclables so they could return them for money. Though that was not a lot, it made them feel like they were helping their family, making a difference. They cared for each other when one was in need and distress, and would say, "every thing will be ok", though that really was not the case. It just gave them back their hope and reason to keep trying. Even though they weren't exactly well off, all of their family always had dreams. It was to build there own home, called the Glass Castle, so that it was eco-friendly and could replenish their every need. This dream made their family have at least one thing in common, and it always gave them a sense of happiness..

    The incidents in this story of Jeannette Walls' life will shock you in a way of despair but also thrill. Each chapter of this New York Times Best Seller is what will keep you reading more and more. The chapters seem so different from each other, but they really follow her life like any other book. Some of the outcomes are forlorn, yet some will just have you intrigued by the things said and done. It makes you truly appreciate the things your parents give and do for you. This book's over all story is light- hearted and happy, unlike what people think. In my opinion, I think this book is great for anyone, especially people who love to read about crazy adventures in deserts and other places. This book will grab your attention in a different way. Every page will inspire you, as it tells the tale of a girl who has to fight for her siblings and her own life. Jeannette Walls' is an outstanding writer. She can make her life story filled with sorrow seem upbeat and hysterical with the turn of a page. I do not understand how she can remember the vivid details of her child hood, but that is what makes the book absorbing and stimulating. There really are not enough words to describe the feelings you get when you read just a page of this book. But I can certainly say that no one can think this is a boring book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    The story of a brave girl with a troubled family

    As a young girl Jeanette always thought her life was normal. When she gets older, she realizes that her family is different, but not necessarily in a good way. Her father taught her brother, sister and her amazing things and shared wonderful stories; but sometimes he was a raging drunk. Her mother was wild, not accepting rules. She thought that schools corrupted children and didn't believe in giving Christmas presents. Her parents were happy with little: money, food, or clothing, the basics to live. Sometimes for their children so little it was embarrassing or made their life harder.

    This is an inspiring story that shows the bravery of a young girl, who has the courage to defy her parents and do what she wants. Leaving home was her way of defying her parents. Even though she moved to New York City her parents still followed. She finally had to accept that her parents loved her in their own way. Even when they were old and living in abandoned building in the city they were always happy with little. This New York Times Bestseller will have you on the edge of your seat, eager to find out what happens to Jeanette along the exciting, sad, and sometimes dangerous path of her life. I hope that you will enjoy this book as much as I did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fabulous Book!

    After reading this book I wish I could personally thank Jeannette Walls. As I turned each page I felt as if she was writing in many ways about my own experiences growing up. This book reaffirmed my belief that children raised under similar circumstances have an innate resilient ability. Many pages made me cry not out of sorrow, but from feeling so proud of where I have been and where I am today. Many pages also made me laugh, where some of the very same things have happened in my life. <BR/><BR/>If you want a book that truly makes you feel thankful for everything you have in your life, no matter how grand or small, read this book. You will be surprised how your views of everyday actions and interactions will change. In a day and age where many people have become so preoccupied with the here and now this book will inspire you to dream larger and live happier.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2014

    I grew up playing the piano, practicing soccer, singing in choir

    I grew up playing the piano, practicing soccer, singing in choir, playing with my sisters, and participating in so many other activities that children do. I never really appreciated how lucky I was to have a normal childhood. I never had to worry about not having food, or if my house would fall over on top of me, or if I would freeze because we couldn't afford to heat our house in the winter. These are some of the many things that Jeanette Walls had to deal with in her childhood.
    Jeannette Walls was raised by her eccentric, flamboyant, and slightly crazy parents, who, despite loving their children dearly, were irresponsible and unfit to raise a family. In her early childhood they lived as nomads, traveling the country and never settling anywhere. Her father was an alcoholic who could never hold a job and her mother was an &quot;excitement addict&quot; who was never capable of being a mother. Later in Jeanette's childhood, when her family ran out of money, they finally settled in Welch, a small and forlorn town in West Virginia. Jeanette and her siblings were left to fend for themselves. Her father spent all his time gambling, smoking and drinking. Her mother refused to work, even though she had a degree in education, and spent all her time painting. When Jeanette told her mother that they needed money, her mother responded, &quot;Why do I always have to be the one who earns the money? You have a job. You can earn money. Lori can earn money, too. I've got more important thing to do&quot; (272). Jeanette, who was just thirteen-years-old, was the main source of income for the family. Overtime, Jeanette's only goal became escaping Welch, which proved to be much more difficult then she could have ever imagined.
    This is an amazing story about overcoming the hardest of situations and going above and beyond your circumstances.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    HATE IT

    I didnt give a crap about this book i was forced to read it for school it sucks screw this

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    Would never recommend this book.

    I would never recommend this book. I love to read! But not this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    Very touching, well written and sad at the same time!

    I couldn't put down the book! I read in three languages; a good novel is gold for me. At the end of the book the only thought was: I'd like to give Jeanette a big Hug - what a strenght, after all she passed.I lived on three continents, met many people in my life. Always thought that the unspoiled have more strenght than the spoiled, despite their scars. Thank you for sharing your life with us, it takes lots of courage to reveal all these harsh details. Your writing is captivating, I will read the new novel as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    An oustanding story of family and survival

    The Glass Castle is a wonderful book by Jeannette Walls about how she grew up in a family that was poor and disfunctional. She explains why she kept believing in her father despite his inability to care for a family. Also why her mother stayed with the family when often she was not prepared for the responsibility. The book is well written. I often felt I was right there with her. I could not understand how she lived through her childhood and became the person she is today. Still loving and caring for her parents who providing so little parenting. I couldn't understand how parents who love their children could let them go hungry and cold, not worry about their safety and health. <BR/>This is truly a wonderful novel. It makes you cry, it makes you laugh and leaves you in awe of Jeannette Walls. As well as grateful for the parents and home you have.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2230 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 112