Customer Reviews for

The Glass Castle

Average Rating 4.5
( 2241 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1394)

4 Star

(501)

3 Star

(201)

2 Star

(78)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

what a great book

The Glass Castle is a inspiring novel that really deals with problems that many face, neglection. The mother doesn't care enough to be a true mom, and the father is too busy getting drunk to care in a fatherly way. Which leaves the children with a lot to be desired. In ...
The Glass Castle is a inspiring novel that really deals with problems that many face, neglection. The mother doesn't care enough to be a true mom, and the father is too busy getting drunk to care in a fatherly way. Which leaves the children with a lot to be desired. In a quest for independence and to find a way through life the children separate and it shows many different paths life can lead you down..It is truly an inspirational book, that shows you don't need someone always and to never give up. I really recommend this book.

posted by devin10 on May 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Interesting family dynamics

This book made me realize that my own childhood was a lot easier than I thought it was. Interesting family dynamics and although I wanted to like the free spirited parents I found it difficult to reconcile the drastic effects their choices had on the children. It was i...
This book made me realize that my own childhood was a lot easier than I thought it was. Interesting family dynamics and although I wanted to like the free spirited parents I found it difficult to reconcile the drastic effects their choices had on the children. It was inspiring to realize that despite (or maybe because of) the difficulties of their childhood, the children became successful adults.

posted by main-page on May 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2014

    I don't know

    My mom read this book and she heard about by a friend of hers and she would read some of the parts to me and when she stoped reading to me i would away wonder what would happen next and maybe i will read it when i am older and by the way i am 11 and in 5th grade

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    I'm very surprised to see the very high number of reviewers givi

    I'm very surprised to see the very high number of reviewers giving this book 5 and 4 stars. Perhaps they enjoy memoirs as a rule, or stories of disfunctional families, but this book did not work for me. Problematic for me was the sense the every other sentence could be preceded by "And then,..." It seemed to be a string of anecdotes one after the other, but with little cohesiveness other than the over-arching presence of the parents. Her siblings were written about rather sparingly as though they were bit players on the stage of the author's telling. It was also impossible to accept all of the trains of dialogue. For instance, as a three-year-old, she presumably suffered severe burns from a kitchen fire for which she states she required skin grafts. We get her recounting of the conversations with and between the doctors, nursing staff and her parents, but not one word about the trauma. Much of the rest of the book is similar, though less dramatic. Easily the best parts for me are the beginning and the ending where she describes her situation with seeing her mother on the street after she has achieved adulthood. These parts I found very worth reading. Unfortunately, they were only a small part of the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2007

    Memoir of Complete Dysfunction

    I enjoyed the book in an odd way. Ms Walls writes adequately, and she didn't spare any of the gory details. The parents were absolutely pathetic. Neither of them took any responsibility at all for their children. The children literally had to raise themselves, and they did an admirable job of it. I was a bit 'turned off' by the constant defense of the writer toward her father. He literally used her to gain his wants and desires. He was obviously very intelligent, but to what end? He did nothing and contributed nothing to the family and was detrimental. The mother didn't need excuses made for her. She needed psychiatric help in an institution. She lived a pathetic existence. As the book came to a close, I became less and less interested in the story. It took on the nuance of a fairy tale where everyone was happy and unscathed, and they were almost thankful for their years of privation and abuse, and they missed the drunken, narcissistic Rex Walls. They seemed to think Mama was 'cute' and just a bit off key. I found it extremely hard to feel sorry for any of them because they were all intelligent people, and surely they saw that their upbringing was 100% the result of two pitifully dysfunctional and even cruel people who could have cared less about them. The children deserved to pat themselves on their backs for their survival and for their successes. That was not as clear as it should have been, and that ruined the book for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    Nice effort

    The Glass Castle is not a very well written book: the narrative is interesting as any life story would be but the writing is rather poor.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2007

    How old are the reviewers?

    To believe this story has not been seasoned with exagerations suggests that those that gave this book an outstanding rating were either very young or simple minded. How many children can read decency in another person's eyes? and then remember it years later to write a book. I guess the book wouldn't sell if only the facts were written, but to call this a memoir is rediculous.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2007

    Not Believable

    Heard how great this book was. I was very disappointed. I found it very hard to believe -- especially coming from the memory of a three year old to an eight year old (most of the book). The parents did not make life an adventure -- they were both insane and unfit. Found it odd that she was known as being from the family who lived in garbage yet was able to find many babysitting jobs. No heat in winter, no food, no fit clothing, eating maggot-filled and moldy meals yet not one of the kids got sick? Not one person in all those years saw these kids eating from the garbage? No one questioned a family of six arriving in the middle of the night in various towns? And all through the kids' interrupted, intermittent schooling, they are as bright as geniuses? Might be a good fiction, but found it unrealistic.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2006

    disappointing

    I kept reading, and reading, waiting for the book to get good. I read alot of books and this was just boring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2006

    Trash

    Reading this book was like watching a Jerry Springer show.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4