Customer Reviews for

The Glass Castle

Average Rating 4.5
( 2237 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1390)

4 Star

(501)

3 Star

(201)

2 Star

(78)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

what a great book

The Glass Castle is a inspiring novel that really deals with problems that many face, neglection. The mother doesn't care enough to be a true mom, and the father is too busy getting drunk to care in a fatherly way. Which leaves the children with a lot to be desired. In ...
The Glass Castle is a inspiring novel that really deals with problems that many face, neglection. The mother doesn't care enough to be a true mom, and the father is too busy getting drunk to care in a fatherly way. Which leaves the children with a lot to be desired. In a quest for independence and to find a way through life the children separate and it shows many different paths life can lead you down..It is truly an inspirational book, that shows you don't need someone always and to never give up. I really recommend this book.

posted by devin10 on May 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Interesting family dynamics

This book made me realize that my own childhood was a lot easier than I thought it was. Interesting family dynamics and although I wanted to like the free spirited parents I found it difficult to reconcile the drastic effects their choices had on the children. It was i...
This book made me realize that my own childhood was a lot easier than I thought it was. Interesting family dynamics and although I wanted to like the free spirited parents I found it difficult to reconcile the drastic effects their choices had on the children. It was inspiring to realize that despite (or maybe because of) the difficulties of their childhood, the children became successful adults.

posted by main-page on May 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 201 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted June 29, 2010

    Captivating True Life Story!

    I wasn't sure if I would like this book going in knowing it was a memoir of some girl's childhood and upbringing. However, after getting into the book I realized the life of Jeannette Walls was anything but a typical childhood story. I myself could not relate to even one aspect of her crazy life, but that made the book so much more interesting. The stories of this American family are outrageous, sometime they left me feeling heartbroken and at other times I fell in love with every member of the Walls family, even Rex and Rosemary. Jeannette and Her siblings are amazing and heroic, overcoming all odds to come out on top. A great story with all happy endings! Glad I gave this book a chancee :)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    Interesting family dynamics

    This book made me realize that my own childhood was a lot easier than I thought it was. Interesting family dynamics and although I wanted to like the free spirited parents I found it difficult to reconcile the drastic effects their choices had on the children. It was inspiring to realize that despite (or maybe because of) the difficulties of their childhood, the children became successful adults.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Outrage was the general feeling

    As I read this book I keep bouncing between respect for the intelligence instilled into these children and outrage at the total neglect and lack of concern for the well being of these children. The author did an excellent job of making the inconceivable seem normal.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Hardships can lead to success

    The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls is a memoir of her childhood experiences and struggles her and her family overcame. Jeanette and her family are always on the run. They move from place to place, and honestly have never settled long enough to call anywhere home. Her mother is a painter, and her father, when sober, is a brilliant mind full of ideas. However the family is forced to move as he gets in trouble with the government or when working is fired and they run out of money in hopes to find a better place. As the family finally finds a place to settle down in a little shack, their once again forced to move due to her father. After, the family splits up and the kids move to New York, and later find their parents follow. Where they all begin their own lives, but still remains in touch. The Glass Castle was very inspiring because it shows how struggle can lead to success. For example, Jeanetteâ¿¿s whole life is filled with struggle, but the fact that she believes in her father and his attempts to give others what they need she is able to forgive him when things get out of hand. Instead of letting her families issues get the better of her, she finds herself and is able to lead her own life with her own standards. Therefore, her struggles lead to her success in starting her own life. This novel was interesting because it made me realize the things that people take for granted. Also, it shows how not everyone is fortunate to live in a proper household. Others should read this because it teaches you to live life to the fullest and that hardships can lead to success. Therefore I would give this book a three out of five stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Glass Castle

    I think this book was well written. I can't believe that people live like this. How could anyone raise their kids this way?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2007

    Good but not Great

    The writing of this book was adequate but lacked something.I was hesitant to pick it back up to complete it. While reading it I kept wondering how Jeannette could remember such small details such as conversations at such a young age. She even describes what someone was wearing. I do believe the overall events but not the details. Perhaps this book should have been an historical novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    School assignment which I would read for pleasure

    I am enjoying this book, it is a school assignment which I would have read for pleasure. It is an interesting book, good characters and plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2013

    The book is an amazing book I like went the Children had a brigh

    The book is an amazing book I like went the Children had a bright future even their parents are poor. Jeannette Dad is an alcoholism and Gambler. He is also very dishonest. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Enjoyable

    Not what I expected after reading Silver Star. This was depressing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    Despite the subject matter, this book is quick and easy to read.

    Despite the subject matter, this book is quick and easy to read. When I was done with it, I wanted to call up my parents and thank them for not being like Jeannette Walls’ parents. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Great read!

    Intense, thought-provoking, even funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Memorable

    An exellent memoir of an unusual childhood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Surviving dysfunction

    How do three young children survive two narcissistic
    parents? The children becomes their own parents as well as their mother and fathers parents. Their parents put their children through unreasonable hardship in their own quest to be free spirits living an alternative lifestyle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Rate

    I think that this book is not very in interesting

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    some people shouldn't be parents

    Wow, this book really woke me up to how some people treat their children. All the moving and going to school in rags is beyond life as I know it. I really enjoyed reading the book that I believe is based on Jeanette Walls true life. Amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Neat story

    Interesting insight from a woman whose parents choose to be homeless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    Questions...

    At first I really enjoyed reading this book and thought of the father more as a fun creative kinda guy. But as I got more into the book I really started questioning if this was a true story as the author claims. I then heard her speak recently and I question even more if it's an accurate portrayal or "historical fiction", which is fine with me just let the readers know....don't want another "Million Little Pieces".

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    decent read

    I liked this book for the most part. I had trouble believing that the author could recall the names and locations of places (bars, etc) at the age of three and four. Very sad upbringing that hit home as my dad was raised by very neglectful and at times abusive parents. Interesting and emotional book, fairly well-written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    This is a lovely book, although depressing at times. Wonderfully written and hard to put down. If you are looking for something "feel good", this might not be your cup of tea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    DISTURBING STAYS WITH YOU LONG AFTER FINISHING READING

    At this period of our country's history many, many people were poor. Life was difficult and challenging. This family had acess to money and to necessities for a better life. The mother was so self absorbed,self centered that she possibly suffered mental illness. As a consequence the family was the poorest of the poor.The resilience of three of the children was amazing, even reedemtive.Cathartic for the author. Disturbing for the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 201 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11