Customer Reviews for

The Glass Castle

Average Rating 4.5
( 2221 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1379)

4 Star

(498)

3 Star

(200)

2 Star

(78)

1 Star

(66)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

what a great book

The Glass Castle is a inspiring novel that really deals with problems that many face, neglection. The mother doesn't care enough to be a true mom, and the father is too busy getting drunk to care in a fatherly way. Which leaves the children with a lot to be desired. In ...
The Glass Castle is a inspiring novel that really deals with problems that many face, neglection. The mother doesn't care enough to be a true mom, and the father is too busy getting drunk to care in a fatherly way. Which leaves the children with a lot to be desired. In a quest for independence and to find a way through life the children separate and it shows many different paths life can lead you down..It is truly an inspirational book, that shows you don't need someone always and to never give up. I really recommend this book.

posted by devin10 on May 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Interesting family dynamics

This book made me realize that my own childhood was a lot easier than I thought it was. Interesting family dynamics and although I wanted to like the free spirited parents I found it difficult to reconcile the drastic effects their choices had on the children. It was i...
This book made me realize that my own childhood was a lot easier than I thought it was. Interesting family dynamics and although I wanted to like the free spirited parents I found it difficult to reconcile the drastic effects their choices had on the children. It was inspiring to realize that despite (or maybe because of) the difficulties of their childhood, the children became successful adults.

posted by main-page on May 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 200 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Read Between the Lines

    This was a wonderful book. I received it as a gift from a good friend of mine and I was scepticle at first, but I ended up really loving it. It was interesting in the fact that the true story could be read between the lines. It reminded me of "Angela's Ashes" in that the innocence of the children prevented them from seeing the abuse that they were suffering. Both of the parents are fascinating people. Characters like that couldn't be made up. Well written, entertaining, and though provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    it was...alright

    i found the book to be rather boring. It was hard for me to keep picking it up and reading it, so i found myself kicking myself to finish it. Don't get me wrong it did capture the true life of a child in a corrupt family of nomads, but i guess you could say that it needed more pep in the storyline.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    Good

    I enjoyed reading this book overall. It is interesting. The children overcame alot to succeed! Kept my interest!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    The Glass Castle: A Family's Journey Through Hard Times

    Written by Jeannette Walls, The Glass Castle tells the story of a girl and her family¿s constant struggle to overcome obstacles in the hopes of finding a better life. The Walls family lived a less than glamorous lifestyle and were always moving to different places or ¿doing the skedaddle¿. This was either because they ran out of money or because their father claimed that the ¿Gestapo¿ was trying to hunt them down. They finally settled down in Welch, West Virginia, which was where their father grew up. The family lived a hard life. They stayed in a run down shack with no plumbing. The kids were teased because they wore holey clothes and shoes. However, even through all that, they each had their own talent. Lori, the oldest, was extremely smart and was an excellent artist, like their mother. Jeanette was always a brilliant writer, who contributed to the school newspaper. Brian was adventurous and strong. Maureen was beautiful and was good at making friends. The kids had to stick together most of the time because their father was a drunk and their mother rarely worked. The kids ended up getting jobs to support themselves and eventually started a future in New York. They all left for the city in their teens and soon their parents followed. While their children started to have successful careers, the mother and father never joined in. It seemed that they found it easier to be homeless, even after their children¿s persistent urges to find jobs and settle down. There were a variety of themes throughout this bestselling novel, but the major ones were family unity and disappointment. Even though the Walls family had a hard life, they stuck together. This was shown when the kids pitched in their money so Lori could go to New York. They united for a common goal, which was to free the family from the rut they had been in from the beginning and start forming good futures. Disappointment was also seen throughout the novel. For example, all through her childhood, Jeanette trusted her father and believed he was trying hard to help his family. However, when she got older she was disappointed to see that her father was throwing away his life by drinking alcohol. He was rarely home with the family when they needed him the most. Overall, I gave this book three out of five stars because I liked the overall message of the story. It teaches that if you stay strong, you can overcome any obstacle you come across. However, I think there were unnecessary details that didn¿t really contribute to the overall point of the story. I would recommend this book because it had an uplifting message, but the reader should be aware that the book is somewhat depressing and contains a few graphic details. Along with this book, I would recommend Night by Elie Wiesel. This novel also expresses the point that if you are strong enough you can survive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2005

    It's been done, and done better

    This book while poignant in the fact that the main character finds success in her field, and is a functioning person, no one escapes unscathed from such terrible neglect. It is not love or forgiveness that I get a sense of, but denial of the damage that has been done. Unrealistic happily ever after. I would love to hear how this dysfunction has hurt other people involved with this clearly disturbed family dynamic. Angela's Ashes has already been written. Mr. McCourt did it much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 200 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10