Customer Reviews for

The Glass Castle

Average Rating 4.5
( 2198 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1365)

4 Star

(492)

3 Star

(199)

2 Star

(76)

1 Star

(66)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

what a great book

The Glass Castle is a inspiring novel that really deals with problems that many face, neglection. The mother doesn't care enough to be a true mom, and the father is too busy getting drunk to care in a fatherly way. Which leaves the children with a lot to be desired. In ...
The Glass Castle is a inspiring novel that really deals with problems that many face, neglection. The mother doesn't care enough to be a true mom, and the father is too busy getting drunk to care in a fatherly way. Which leaves the children with a lot to be desired. In a quest for independence and to find a way through life the children separate and it shows many different paths life can lead you down..It is truly an inspirational book, that shows you don't need someone always and to never give up. I really recommend this book.

posted by devin10 on May 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Captivating True Life Story!

I wasn't sure if I would like this book going in knowing it was a memoir of some girl's childhood and upbringing. However, after getting into the book I realized the life of Jeannette Walls was anything but a typical childhood story. I myself could not relate to even on...
I wasn't sure if I would like this book going in knowing it was a memoir of some girl's childhood and upbringing. However, after getting into the book I realized the life of Jeannette Walls was anything but a typical childhood story. I myself could not relate to even one aspect of her crazy life, but that made the book so much more interesting. The stories of this American family are outrageous, sometime they left me feeling heartbroken and at other times I fell in love with every member of the Walls family, even Rex and Rosemary. Jeannette and Her siblings are amazing and heroic, overcoming all odds to come out on top. A great story with all happy endings! Glad I gave this book a chancee :)

posted by Hot4Books on June 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 492 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 25
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    Fascinating.

    I kept asking myself "can this be true"? An amazing story and a tribute to the power of love against all odds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    This is a very sad story. I feel very bad for Jeannette Walls. I

    This is a very sad story. I feel very bad for Jeannette Walls. I do not think she feels bad for herself though. This makes her very honorable. I liked this book very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Sad but good

    I would highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    A forceful story. Not a bedtime story though, at least not for m

    A forceful story. Not a bedtime story though, at least not for me. I didn’t want to go to sleep with the extreme images of poverty and hunger described in The Glass Castle. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    Be prepared to be angry that anyone would raise their children i

    Be prepared to be angry that anyone would raise their children in the manner described in The Glass Castle. That aside, the memoir is brilliant and told with great honesty. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    Not an easy read emotionally, but still I couldn¿t put it down.

    Not an easy read emotionally, but still I couldn’t put it down. The prose just carried me along and I could not wait to see what her mother and father would get up to next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Great book

    I was thinking about her life story long after i put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    The Glass Castle

    I really liked this book. I don't know why ya'll haters are dissin' dis book. Jamal be readin it and he loves it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    Recommend this book

    very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Jeanette Wall¿s non-fiction memoir The Glass Castle allows an ex

    Jeanette Wall’s non-fiction memoir The Glass Castle allows an exceptional and unique insight into the life of an abusive family. The theme of the novel is particularly fascinating because Jeanette’s mother and father loved her very much. However, they were abusive in their own way. When Jeanette accidentally burns herself making hot dogs on a stove, her mother and father steal her from the hospital much too soon than the hospital recommends. They travel constantly and uproot Jeanette from home to home without much schooling. Such an interesting novel allows the audience to questions if Jeanette’s parents were fit or unfit; although they were unconventional parents, they were creative, resourceful and passionate about life. I would absolutely recommend this novel to anyone willing to have a new outlook on life. I particularly enjoyed the fact that the novel was told from a neutral side so the audience could make the judgment themselves if the parents were unfit and abusive or if they were loving and just parented in an interesting and unheard of way. I believe Jeanette’s parents to be caring and unique, however, totally unfit. My dislikes about the novel are that her father was portrayed as thoughtless and impulsive most of the time. I personally found Jeanette’s dad to be resourceful. My overall rating of the novel would be a nine out of ten. The novel was completely thought provoking and at the same time somewhat controversial. However, the book’s abrupt ending saddened me because I wanted to read more, and in more detail, about Jeanette’s life. I think that most reader of the novel will agree that Jeanette’ Walls accurately captures the essence of a child at the parts of the novel where she is young. She also illustrates herself as an embarrassed adult when she’s grown. As an adult, Jeanette acts as any other sane adult would and recognized the abnormality of her childhood which makes her a totally relatable character. Jeanette is inspiring to me because not only was she able to recognize the bizarreness of her upbringing, but she was also able to learn and grow from her experiences and come out as an enlivening, exceptional and good-hearted positive person. I believe Jeanette Walls can be an exemplary idol for anyone willing to learn something from a seemingly disappointing and useless experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Inspirational

    Great read. Slow read but worth it. Good writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Wonderful Book

    This book was recommended to me by a family member, and this story will not let you down. Jeannette Walls does a wonderful job eliciting various emotions from the reader through this heartfelt tale of a child growing up in a wacky impoverish family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    A Story About Surviving Extremely Free Spirited Parents

    Kudos to Jeannette Walls for embracing her life and parents, and daring to share the good, the bad, and the ugly with the rest of us. Her parents are not alone in their non-conformist lifestyle, nor are their children who get dragged along for the ride, but I think few are able to come through that sort of thing and then paint a sane autobiographical rendition on the other side. In The Glass Castle, we share the roller coaster feelings of magic, denial, neglect, love, and the strength of family bonds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    ....

    ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Tris

    Follow your ambition. If you dont people would be sad!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    ****

    The Glass Castle is an interesting read. This family is complex and strong. Every experience is a teaching moment. This story proves it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Fantastic read

    When I firat read this book I was not a strong reader and it took a little time. I am proud that I continued because this is a heartful story of a young women who has atruggled and came out strong in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    I really enjoyed the book, didn't know people lived like this.

    this was a different type of book. I found myself shaking my head and asking if it were true.
    Evidently it was. Held my interest to the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Very interesting and well written. Enjoyed it very much!

    Very interesting and well written. Enjoyed it very much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Surviving an alcoholic parent

    This book was a deep and rough journey of a girl in the time of her neglect by her parents. It shiwed how ard it was for the family to cope with an alcoholic parent, lack of money, clothes an most important, food. I enjoyed reading it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 492 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 25