Customer Reviews for

The Glass Castle

Average Rating 4.5
( 2239 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1392)

4 Star

(501)

3 Star

(201)

2 Star

(78)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

what a great book

The Glass Castle is a inspiring novel that really deals with problems that many face, neglection. The mother doesn't care enough to be a true mom, and the father is too busy getting drunk to care in a fatherly way. Which leaves the children with a lot to be desired. In ...
The Glass Castle is a inspiring novel that really deals with problems that many face, neglection. The mother doesn't care enough to be a true mom, and the father is too busy getting drunk to care in a fatherly way. Which leaves the children with a lot to be desired. In a quest for independence and to find a way through life the children separate and it shows many different paths life can lead you down..It is truly an inspirational book, that shows you don't need someone always and to never give up. I really recommend this book.

posted by devin10 on May 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Captivating True Life Story!

I wasn't sure if I would like this book going in knowing it was a memoir of some girl's childhood and upbringing. However, after getting into the book I realized the life of Jeannette Walls was anything but a typical childhood story. I myself could not relate to even on...
I wasn't sure if I would like this book going in knowing it was a memoir of some girl's childhood and upbringing. However, after getting into the book I realized the life of Jeannette Walls was anything but a typical childhood story. I myself could not relate to even one aspect of her crazy life, but that made the book so much more interesting. The stories of this American family are outrageous, sometime they left me feeling heartbroken and at other times I fell in love with every member of the Walls family, even Rex and Rosemary. Jeannette and Her siblings are amazing and heroic, overcoming all odds to come out on top. A great story with all happy endings! Glad I gave this book a chancee :)

posted by Hot4Books on June 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 501 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 26
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Fantastic read

    When I firat read this book I was not a strong reader and it took a little time. I am proud that I continued because this is a heartful story of a young women who has atruggled and came out strong in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    I really enjoyed the book, didn't know people lived like this.

    this was a different type of book. I found myself shaking my head and asking if it were true.
    Evidently it was. Held my interest to the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Very interesting and well written. Enjoyed it very much!

    Very interesting and well written. Enjoyed it very much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Surviving an alcoholic parent

    This book was a deep and rough journey of a girl in the time of her neglect by her parents. It shiwed how ard it was for the family to cope with an alcoholic parent, lack of money, clothes an most important, food. I enjoyed reading it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Book is the best u should read it

    I love the book. I read it in class one or the most interesting book i read. I ussually dont read book but this one was sad and made me gkad that i live at a good house

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Candid and couragous book about crazy families and love.

    Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    summer reading assignment

    It is not what i am used to reading. I am not a huge fan of reading memoirs but this was a descent book. U will enjoy if u read memoirs over fiction. Plenty drama and a bit suspenseful here and there. Better than an average memoir but i really can't give the 5 stars because it is deffinately over dramatized. But still... good fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Amazing

    Really loved the book! It was funny, light hearted, and serious all at the same time. It really helps you to realize that you can make your own future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Compelling

    Enjoyanle

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Well done

    This book is incredibly heartfelt and interesting. The story of this person's life captivates the reader's attention while expressing a message at the same time. This is most definitely a must read. I gave this novel four stars because at times it was a very easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    fascinating read!!

    Walls story is truly captivating. It leaves you amazed at the power of the spirit. Her story telling is primal & raw, yet endearing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Inspiring

    A must read for highschool graduates.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Amazing story

    Life seen through the prisim of time that makes the most unbelievable of circumstances seem like just another grand adventure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Not everyone is perfect but you can make it anyway.

    Fr me, some unfathomable things happen in this book, and I couldn't put it down. It's a really interesting memoir from which different people will get different messages from. All that is sure is that you should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    A book that I will rerea dcuz I loved it so much....

    Loved this book. WALLS reflection of her life as a child is filled with truth and details that almost put you in her shoes. A slap in the face for thos eof us who take life for granted....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Awesome-nay Fantsstic!!

    Really moving snd makes you love those fractures in your family just a little slow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Loved

    good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Great read

    Grear read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Great read!!!

    1st-this whole family needs intense therapy! 2nd-i couldnt put this book down. Its a dark & sometimes twisted story but yet beautiful when u think about the drive, desire & strength of the kids. God was definitely watching over them b/c those parents did & said some horrible things. I couldnt believe a father wld allow some strange man take his daughter 2 his apartment...that got 2 me. I hope the author & all of them really got healing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Fascinating look

    Fascinating look at a different kind of family

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 501 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 26