Customer Reviews for

The Glass Castle

Average Rating 4.5
( 2221 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1379)

4 Star

(498)

3 Star

(200)

2 Star

(78)

1 Star

(66)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

what a great book

The Glass Castle is a inspiring novel that really deals with problems that many face, neglection. The mother doesn't care enough to be a true mom, and the father is too busy getting drunk to care in a fatherly way. Which leaves the children with a lot to be desired. In ...
The Glass Castle is a inspiring novel that really deals with problems that many face, neglection. The mother doesn't care enough to be a true mom, and the father is too busy getting drunk to care in a fatherly way. Which leaves the children with a lot to be desired. In a quest for independence and to find a way through life the children separate and it shows many different paths life can lead you down..It is truly an inspirational book, that shows you don't need someone always and to never give up. I really recommend this book.

posted by devin10 on May 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Captivating True Life Story!

I wasn't sure if I would like this book going in knowing it was a memoir of some girl's childhood and upbringing. However, after getting into the book I realized the life of Jeannette Walls was anything but a typical childhood story. I myself could not relate to even on...
I wasn't sure if I would like this book going in knowing it was a memoir of some girl's childhood and upbringing. However, after getting into the book I realized the life of Jeannette Walls was anything but a typical childhood story. I myself could not relate to even one aspect of her crazy life, but that made the book so much more interesting. The stories of this American family are outrageous, sometime they left me feeling heartbroken and at other times I fell in love with every member of the Walls family, even Rex and Rosemary. Jeannette and Her siblings are amazing and heroic, overcoming all odds to come out on top. A great story with all happy endings! Glad I gave this book a chancee :)

posted by Hot4Books on June 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 1379 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 69
  • Posted June 10, 2014

    Most inspirational book I ever read! Truly Amazing! I cannot

    Most inspirational book I ever read! Truly Amazing!




    I cannot begin to say how phenomonal this book was, especially for teenagers. This novel really taught me to treat my parents with the utmost respect, after everything they have sacrificed for me to assure I would have a happy and healthy childhood to look back on when I'm an adult. in Jeanette's case once she was 10 years old she had to look after her parents because they were so out of touch with reality! Jeanette and her siblings would have to push their mother out the door in the morning to go to work when she got her first job in years. they also helped their mother grade her students papers, so she would't lose her job, and she would still bring in enough money for the family. I was really in for a shocker, and the most compelling part about reading this work was that it was unpredictable, you'd never know what irrational behavior Jeanette's parents were up to. This was the first novel I have read of Jeanette Wall's and I plan to read several more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    H

    This book is great!! I feel sympathy for jeanette and her siblings.This book deserves 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2014

    This book is worth every 5 star and more.  I'm shocked at the po

    This book is worth every 5 star and more.  I'm shocked at the poor reviews from people who don't believe this story.  Clearly, they haven't left their front door.  
    Half-Broke Horses and Silver Star are also amazing books. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    Almost ashamed to say that I enjoyed this very much

    All I can say is that if Jeanette Walls were a child today, she and her siblings (hopefully) would have been put in another home. I was amazed at how much her family went through and survived. It is a story of survival at the most basic level. A shocking lack of parental involvement and a huge amount of selfishness. I kept reading because it was like a car accident and I wanted to see what would happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Great read

    From the first page to the last, the writer had me captivated. I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Must Read

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Moving ¿The Glass Castle is about how a woman's life is shaped

    Moving

    ¿The Glass Castle is about how a woman's life is shaped as a result of a very bad childhood.
    The abuse at first goes unnoticed by Jeanette Walls because as a young child it's all she knows.
    However, as she grows she begins to recognize that there is a better life for her away from her neglectful parents
    and she and her older sister Lisa break free from them and start over in New York.
    At first I thought it was  charming in the way that the story was first being told from the little girls perspective,
    and it's moving how the tone progresses from there as Jeanette matures during the story into a more clinical mood.
     Almost everything that a parent could do wrong, it's in this story. And so it grew harder and harder to read except
     for my own growing need to see this little girl get away and do better for herself. I think it would be harder to
    see this story in the form of a movie and yet the way it's written is prime movie making material.
    Obviously it would be an adult rated movie, but I predict that if it were to go that direction it would be highly rated.
     It's compelling despite it's depressing content. I would recommend this book to those who find that sad stories are
     their preferred reading pick, or to those brave souls who have experienced neglect and abuse themselves,
     or to anyone looking for a novel they can grow to really feel an emotional connection to. It's contents are
    horrifying at times and yet they are so beautifully presented that it's really a good read for just about anyone.
    Mikaela Nunnally in Mrs. H class block 4

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2014

    This book was amazing. I love how opened she was about how her c

    This book was amazing. I love how opened she was about how her childhood was. I like how she didn't tell this story for herself or to make us feel bad for her but she wanted us to know that even how bad she grew up and what she went through, she still  achieved in life and all of it just made her so much stronger. This book has great imagery and details, i could picture the whole thing in my mind while reading it.. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    My favorite

    Really makes you take a step back and realize that some people chose to live in poverty. Interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    BALLROOM

    ~Maria

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Tragic and triumphant!

    Worthy of your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Loved it

    This book is great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Loved it!

    An amazing story of Jeannette Walls early life; a page-turner that speaks volumes for children who survive difficult home life and manage to move on to have a successful and well-adjusted life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK

    The sad part about this book is that its a true story, I saw Jeannette Walls on The Oprah Show years ago when she was promoting her book, I noted it down and finally got around to reading it, loved the story. This is a book that will keep you interested from beginning to end! I cannot wait to read this author's 2nd book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Love Walls

    This was the first Jeannette Walls publication I read before I quickly purchased her remaining titles. I so wish there was more to read from this author. Everything she writes is gold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Highly reccomended

    This story capitavres the readeras our jeanettes journey unfolds. A true rags to riches story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2013

    Absorbing Autobiography Makes a Great Read!

    Jeannette Walls' story of her earliest recollections has been praised by many--but I just read it this summer at my sister's urging. This author is a true survivor of what we now call a dysfunctional family, but she relates her memories with humor, compassion for her family members, and an up-beat spirit. Because it is well-written and of excellent literary quality, it would make a good book club selection; there's a good potential for involved discussion. For example, "what happened to good old-fashioned work ethic--how did it skip her parents' generation, but come to reside in Jeannette?" This is a book to be savored and possibly read and then re-read! I predict it will be universally enjoyed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Sad-- helps you aquire empathy

    Very sad family, but 100% realistic in its delivery. Very distrurbing how these parents treat their or lack there of, their children. Pulls at your heart strings. Loved this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Loved it

    Read years ago and still think about it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Love it!

    I actually cried! It was so raw and powerful, I can't imagaing that my family was like that. Love it all way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 1379 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 69