Customer Reviews for

The Glass Lake

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend this book!

This book is so amazing and full of life, loss, and love! I've read this book many times. Its one of my all time favorites. The characters are well written and the plot unique. I feel this is Binchy's best book. Circle of Friends comes in a close second. I truly wish th...
This book is so amazing and full of life, loss, and love! I've read this book many times. Its one of my all time favorites. The characters are well written and the plot unique. I feel this is Binchy's best book. Circle of Friends comes in a close second. I truly wish they'd have made a movie out of this book too. I would be interested to see who they would cast. =)

posted by christie_nelson on January 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice

Nice

posted by D23 on May 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend this book!

    This book is so amazing and full of life, loss, and love! I've read this book many times. Its one of my all time favorites. The characters are well written and the plot unique. I feel this is Binchy's best book. Circle of Friends comes in a close second. I truly wish they'd have made a movie out of this book too. I would be interested to see who they would cast. =)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    Lough Derg, County Clare, Ireland???

    When I was in Ireland, I was re-reading this book and I could see the setting as the beautiful Lough Derg, in County Clare. Every one of Maeve Binchy's books is just as powerful as anything written by Alice Hoffman (although not as poetic) or any other contemporary American writer. Binchy's tales are mesmerizing you cannot put her books down, her characters tell their stories in such a compelling way. They all hold up..to a second reading and you see development that you may have missed the first time around. May she live and write for another fifty years...She is my comfort food and her stories transcend their time period and adapt easily for American readers......

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2003

    AMAZING BOOK

    This was one of the best books I have ever read. Binchy out did her self. Tara Road is just as good, But this takes the PRize read this book. Great characters great story. stick with it it is a little slow in the beginning but it does pick up and you wont be able to put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2007

    The Best!!

    This book has been, and probably always will be, my all-time favorite! It is written beautifully and incorporates the best aspects of storytelling! Maeve Binchy has such incredible talent and this is her best piece. It's so hard to put down. I've read it numerous times and it just gets better and better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2004

    Best of Binchy!

    As a fan of this Mauve Binchy I must say that she truly outdoes herself in writing 'The Glass Lake'. I love the interesting, well formed characters, and the twists and turns that this story takes. It is my favorite of her books. Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2004

    Binchy's Best

    As an avid reader of Maeve Binchy's novels, this is by far my favorite...it's fast-paced and suspenseful, as well as poignant. Definitely a must-read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2003

    ENTHRALLING !!

    So very outstanding -- a must read for her fans and for new readers. Gripping and edge of your seat stuff with such 'real' characters. One of her best !!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2003

    Excellent book

    This has to be the author's finest piece of writing! The story is terric and I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2003

    Great Read

    Excellent book. Starts off a little slow but really keeps you hooked once into the book. The characters come to life and you really care about what happens to them. Definitly reccomended

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Highly recommend- you must read.

    To me it is the best Mauve Binchy I have read. I couldn't put it down.
    Her inticut knowledge of psyche and the way she developes personalities is what makes her books intriguing and exciting. I can't wait to read another of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    another great read.

    another great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Wells

    Buys 1000000 rare candy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Warrior's den

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Rockheart

    Camp is moved to creek book 1 stardream

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2002

    True winner

    This was the 2nd book by this author, and I am hooked! I SIMPLY MUST READ ALL HER OTHER BOOKS. The story revolving all the charachters is so captivating, I felt like writing my own notes on the side, but since I will lend this book to others... Transition from one person to another was seamless and it was very difficult to put the book down. I noticed myself slowing down past the 1/2 way point as I wanted to prolong the reading pleasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2002

    Marvelously captivating and well written - I'm hooked!

    This is the first time I have read anything by Maeve Binchy and I am already shopping for my next book written by her. The Glass Lake is a captivating story with strong characters who support in interesting plot. I began this on vacation and was lovingly teased by my companions about how often I had my nose in the book. I am an avid reader and can't wait to read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2001

    Powerful

    This book was my second by this author. It started out a little on the dull side, but then I was totally captivated. How Maeve manages to make every character seem so real..how she manages to develop so many personas and to make each as rounded as the last is incredible. The emotions one feels are what makes this a great novel. You feel intense sadness, rage and joy for the characters. The ending had me completely choked up. This is a definite must read!!! A fabulous piece! I will continue to buy each and every Maeve Binchy novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2001

    Maeve Out Does Herself Again!!!

    This is one book that I could not put down. Once you started reading the story felt so real that it came out and pulled you in. Maeve Binchy has really made this story truely remarkable. I guarentee that if you read this book you'll love it. What are you waiting for go out and buy the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2000

    Wonderful Book

    This book is Binchy's greatest book to date. I think that it is even better than Tara Road that is on Oprah's Booklist! Couldn't put it down. I lost a lot of hours of sleep staying up to read this book. It kept me guessing what was going to happen next. I felt like I really knew the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2