Customer Reviews for

The Glass Palace

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    A FOUR STAR

    A wonderful book. So full filling. In reading you become absorbed in rhe charactors lifes that you find yourself living them as the story unfolds.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Stunning Novel of Burman Culture & History!

    One of the best novels ever written about the Burmans. Indepth knowledge and brilliant characterization of the actual lives of the 19th century royal family and the severing of their power by the English Empire. Engrossing read that moves at a steady pace.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2006

    Good mix of history and fiction

    The interleaving of the lives of the protagonists with the political events of the time is done seamlessly. The story flows smoothly and covers the span of two world wars through the eyes of RajKumar, his family, friends etc. The emotional and moral conflicts of Dolly, Uma, Arjun etc are depicted with honesty and kindness. With his words and imagery, the author is able to transport the reader to the Glass Palace, Burma's teak forests and the Malaya plantations. A great overall reading experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    wonderful story

    Just a great read. Loved all the characters and historical background. Ghosh did a wonderful job researching and putting this novel together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2004

    Thoroughly Enjoyed

    A well researched and beautifully told saga that was hard to put down. Thank Heavens for storytellers like Ghosh with the ability to make important history lessons so entertaining. I look forward to another masterpiece from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2003

    Wow

    Few books can bring tears to my eyes and make me mad the book ended at the same time! Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2002

    History was never made so beautiful

    Writing a semi-fiction, rather, a piece of literature whose many characters and incidences are by no means fictitious, is an arduous task, but Ghosh manages to accomplish it with a rare aplomb. Technically Ghosh is superb, painting a vivid picture of the period and the different cultures (Burmese and Bengali in particular) and their evolution. He maintains a delicate balance between the evolution of the historical, 'non-fictitious', characters and events and those which are the produce of his imaginations. I can't help admiring Ghosh for his ability to create characters who seem so so real that makes me feel as if I have personal acquintance with them, and this feat he manages to achieve in all his books, The Circle of Reasons, The Shadow Lines (my eternal favourite) and also Calcutta Chromosomes. I had picked up this book with apprehension that he won't be able to live up to the promise that he has created himself through his previous works, but by the time I reached halfway I realised that my apprehensions were grossly misplaced. Each character is subtly crafted out in detail and their evolution couldn't be more natural. It's definitely a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2002

    Definitely worth a read

    Its a great book which enables todays young readers to explore India / Asia during times of war and British rule. At times the book is a bit slow but its thought provoking and I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2002

    ~~~ SEPERATION, LOVE, MIGRATION, REUNION.... ~~~

    The Glass Palace is a riveting novel set in late 1800¿s during British invasion. Amitav Ghosh most definitely proves himself to be among the most impressive Indian writers of the modern generation. The story is of a young Rajkumar who befriends a young lady, Dolly, in the court of the Burmese Queen. Dolly influences Rajkumar¿s life in the numerous ways. Ghosh¿s, The Glass Palace echoes themes of war and rebellions and empire and exile, but more so he has intricately placed shadows of the separations, loves, migrations and reunions!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2001

    It's like a first love, you'll never get over it

    This book was brilliant. From the first word to the last i was willingly swept away into another world. There was never a moment that i was tempted to skip sections (like i do with some other books.) If you only read one novel in your life, make it this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2001

    An exotic south asian saga

    I borrowed Glass Palace from a library 2 days back and after being unable to put it down, finished it last night. For 2 days, I was transported back to the burning 19th-early 20th century. The book, through its rich characters, enabled me not only to appreciate the Indian struggles better, but helped me see Burma in a whole new light. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2000

    Ordinary!

    Just an ok novel on the lines of the so-called ' Great American sagas spanning Generations, inevitably the period 1914 to the 2nd World War'. The only difference being, that in this novel the main protagonists are Indians. The novel begins fortuitously enough with description of the city of Mandalay and its beautiful palaces, but loses steam in the middle, one can skip pages with utmost immunity. The end is emotional and quite likable, but all in all a mediocre effort from a writer of Ghost's stature. Can be missed without feeling guilty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2