Customer Reviews for

The Glass Rainbow (Dave Robicheaux Series #18)

Average Rating 4
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Bard of the Bayou

My family is from New Orleans, Louisiana, and in his Dave Robicheaux mysteries--espepcially the Tin Roof Blow Down and his latest, The Glass Rainbow--James Lee Burke shows that he is second to none when it comes to empathy and reverence for Bayou country. The language h...
My family is from New Orleans, Louisiana, and in his Dave Robicheaux mysteries--espepcially the Tin Roof Blow Down and his latest, The Glass Rainbow--James Lee Burke shows that he is second to none when it comes to empathy and reverence for Bayou country. The language he uses to express what many of us take for granted as a way of life makes me homesick every time. I don't need to summarize the events of the book here because there's already a description on this site--but what I will say is, James Lee Burke has written an amazing, heartfelt, philosophical, and thrilling ode to Louisiana in The Glass Rainbow, and if you love Dave Robicheaux, or even if you've never heard of him, you will find the perfect mix of literature, suspense, emotion, intrigue, and above all, atmosphere, in this novel. I was blown away.

posted by NOLA_book_lover on July 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Get Free Coupon OFF $5 ON BN.COM

Get Free Coupon OFF $5 ON BN.COM ,Get From Website: www.baby7coupon.info

posted by aaa007 on August 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    Bard of the Bayou

    My family is from New Orleans, Louisiana, and in his Dave Robicheaux mysteries--espepcially the Tin Roof Blow Down and his latest, The Glass Rainbow--James Lee Burke shows that he is second to none when it comes to empathy and reverence for Bayou country. The language he uses to express what many of us take for granted as a way of life makes me homesick every time. I don't need to summarize the events of the book here because there's already a description on this site--but what I will say is, James Lee Burke has written an amazing, heartfelt, philosophical, and thrilling ode to Louisiana in The Glass Rainbow, and if you love Dave Robicheaux, or even if you've never heard of him, you will find the perfect mix of literature, suspense, emotion, intrigue, and above all, atmosphere, in this novel. I was blown away.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    The Glass Rainbow

    Beautifully written. There were passages of poetic prose that brought me to tears. The book is full of wisdoms and insights into human nature. The story is a page turner and compelling. James Lee Burke is such an intelligent man. I know he is getting up in years and I dread the day there will be no more books from James Lee Burke.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Jim's Best!

    The Glass Rainbow is James Lee Burke's best book to date!
    How does he do it? Jim is truly a masterful story teller, with a keen sense of setting, and an eerie foresight into human nature. The often proclaimed 'poet of the mystery novel' has done it again.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A PAGE-TURNER FOR SURE!

    This is a book that I would highly recommend to be read when not alone! This is a suspense-filled thriller, a terrifying trip into the darkest depths of depravity. The bodies of seven women who have been raped and mutilated have been found in the town of Iberia Parish, La. Dave Robicheaux, the deputy sheriff, finds that in the end that his intuition, learned from years in the field and his proven power many times over, are really the only tools he can trust in this tale of betrayal, conspiracy and violence. A Page turner!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    He's back!

    I have read ALL of Mr Burke's books, and enjoyed getting my "fix" reading his latest here. Something put me off a bit about this book, however, though I'm not sure what it was. It may be the flights from logic that are creeping up more in his books, but they still come across more like literature than pulp fiction, so I'll continue to buy. I think he'd be better served by getting a new PR firm - having the jacket (and here on B&N) read "already being hailed as perhaps the best novel in the Robicheaux series" is completely bogus. Who is hailing it thus? How could it be hailed as such before the book has even been on the market? Maybe that's what put me in a sour mood.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    BURKE'S Best so far. Please keep writing!

    Please keep writing in your style; no one came come close to the plots, characters, locations, and the thrill of reading.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wow Wow Wow

    Finished the book yesterday and while I was troubled with the ending I believe this is the best book James Lee Burke has ever written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Broken Glass

    James Lee Burke has brought me great pleasure with many of his previous books. So many of them have earned five stars from me as I have been in awe of his writing and his storytelling. The Glass Rainbow doesn't make that list, but I still thought it was a pretty good book. There are flashes of the stellar writing, but the characters and the plot didn't quite add up for me. I think Burke stretched himself in creating this story, perhaps under a time bind or simply an off day. So, when you are used to five star books, a four star seems slightly disappointing, but I have to get a grip here- four stars is still pretty good. But plausible plots and beautiful writing get you five stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Excellent

    May be this author's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    This is James Lee at his best..Loved the story and love Dave and

    This is James Lee at his best..Loved the story and love Dave and Clete, loved that Alafair played a major role in the plot..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Recommend

    Just now reading this book. But, I am far enough along to know the book is worth recommending.

    Burke has a way of setting the scene so you can form a picture in your mind. As a southerner, I find some of his characters totally believable and the plots realistic.

    This is probably my 4th book by Burke. Look foreword to his other works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    The Glass Rainbow by James Burke

    A thriller! Good mix of historic fiction, criminal intrigue, and police suspense. Burke's lyrical desciptions vividly transport the reader to the Louisiana bayous and linger in the imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    real thriller

    very good but a little creepy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Addition to This Series

    Suspenseful, absorbing, and reeking with the sultry atmosphere of southern Louisiana! Dave Robicheux embarks on a case involving the murders of two young women, a decaying family of the southern aristocracy, some of the slimiest characters to come crawling out of the bayou, and much more. This case hits close to home with Detective Robicheaux, and there's a mystical bent to this story as he sees signs and portents of impending doom - perhaps his own. Mr. Burke's descriptions of his beloved bayou area are so lyrical that I actually booked a tour to that area before I'd finished the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    Good Read!

    The Dave Robicheaux series is never dull. This is just another example of how James Lee Burke is able to hold the reader's mind in the grip of the adventure. I love Louisiana and this book is like a tour of that lovely land.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Stunning

    I finished the book this afternoon, and I was ...stunned.... shocked and shook.
    I just hope there will be another from JLB and more of Dave Robicheaux.
    This held me from beginning to end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    highly recommended

    this is one of the best books JLB has ever done. I have the whole series and I hope this isnt the end of Dave and Clete Keep them coming awesome read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    A Must read for Dave Robicheaux fans series

    Having read a majority of stories surrounding Dave Robicheaux and his "side kick" I must recommend this book to all those that have followed the "adventures and crimes" that our "hero" attracts, no matter if they are in Montana or New Iberia Parrish. This book was a bit more "reflective" as far as Dave was concerned. His thoughts and feelings concerning his battle with booze, his friendship with Clete Purcel and his standing with his daughter as a father. Not forgetting to mention all the colorful characters, name and locations that surround his main "bad guys" and himself. This all makes for wonderful reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    One of his very best books ever.

    I found this to be one of JLB's best books to date and really enjoyed it. The plot and characters are exciting and dynamic. For me, it was a real page turner. I can't wait for Mr. Burk's next book and I have my fingers crossed that it's in the works or finished by now so it can be released in 2011. I adore Dave Robicheaux and Cletus.

    Thanks Mr. Burke for a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    Great read, worth the time!

    This is a great book to enjoy, if you like the Dave Roubicheau(sp?)series! It's one of the better ones too, if not the best one. Very Burke and very human. Enjoy it!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11