Customer Reviews for

Glasshouse

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    A great book. Something I have been yearning for--a strong stor


    A great book. Something I have been yearning for--a strong story, unusual ideas, interesting people. An author worth grabbing on to. Thoughtful, thought provoking

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2015

    Very interesting premise

    Started off so strong! But lost me in the last quarter of the story, which seemed almost unrelated to what had come before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Cerebral hard scifi

    Made me think. Introduces an interesting idea of immortality and existence in general. Really, really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Thought provoking

    This book does what all good science fiction does. Makes you THINK! And to enjoy this book, you do have to think quite a bit while you're reading. It's not an easy read, but it is worth the work. If you consider how our modern lives are "in the cloud" (online backup, sync, sharing, social networking), we've already begun living our digital lives in this world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2010

    Great concept and solid delivery

    I didn't think I would enjoy this book, but it was pretty good. Not great, but pretty good. Strong statements are made regarding proprietary file formats and how this will effect the future's view of us. The author leads you down the dark discovery of the hero's past. He questions if evil actions, even during war time, make one evil. And, if you don't remember these evil actions, are you still the same person? A good look into how memory and thought shape our lives with a strong plot with few holes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    The Future Meets the Fifties

    This was a really fascinating book. Stross has managed to create a setting that looks back at 1950s to 1990s culture from the perspective of far-future humanity. That juxtaposition of world views makes for a rich set of conflicts, and the book really shines when those conflicts are the subject at hand. Intertwined with that is mixed a plot of the aftereffects of a viral-based information war actually set in that far-future humanity.

    The culture shock portions of the novel are by far the best. Characterization is wonderful, and there is lots of humor to be had in those crazy things historical humans used to do. The war stuff was not nearly as good.

    Unfortunately, that really hurts the end of the book, where the two plots twist together. You get the feeling Stross may have felt the same way, because the ending seems very rushed.

    4 of 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A real treat

    I'd never read anything by Charles Stross before rather randomly picking up this title in the bookstore and I'm really glad I did, because it was a real treat to read. It's very well-written. The universe/world in which its set is quite interesting, the plot is intrriguing and the characters are spot-on human and sometimes very funny! An overall excellent read -- I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ripping far-future yarn!

    This was a real surprise to me ... I had not been exposed to Stross's work before, and wasn't sure what to expect when this was recommended to me by a friend.

    I would highly recommend this book on all counts. The plot is consistent and logical (set in the far future, after a war that has destroyed the populace's memories, but then acted out in a faux 20th cen world created by unknown agents, this is more than a little tough to pull off!), and stross does a really masterful job of balancing foreshadowing with keeping you informed enough to know what's going on.

    This is a tough book to classify too; i think it would appeal to a very broad audience. There's hard sci-fi, psychological intrigue, romance, suspense, and pretty much everything in-between. If you haven't read Stross yet, this is a great book to start with (and I can't wait to get my hands on some of his other stuff soon!).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An incredible science fiction novel

    In the twenty-seventh century the Censorship Wars that released the destructive Curious Yellow virus destroying the wormhole gates that connected humanity throughout the universe has finally ended. However, though the cosmos wide civil war is over the impact on millions perhaps billions remain strong and will continue to affect everyone involved as t demobilizing the armed forces begins in earnest.--------------- Many like Robin wake up one day to realize that they have had their wartime activities erased from their memories. Robin assumes he had a mind wipe to forget the atrocities. However, he changes his mind when someone tries to kill him because he assumes that the enemy believes he retained certain war year memories that his unknown adversary wants permanently eradicated with his death. Needing time to clear his thoughts and remain safe, Robin enlists in the Glasshouse reenactment experiment to recreate Earth's darkest era, the mid to late twentieth and early to mid twenty-first centuries. Robin is cast as one of humanity¿s most scorned vocations, a suburban housewife. He begins to slowly grasp why someone wants him dead and that the Glasshouse converted prison that locked away mentally disturbed war criminals now hosts spies and soldiers not friendly to a suburban housewife starting to remember.---------------- This is an incredible science fiction that will receive plenty of accolades and make the short list as one of the top genre novels of the year. Robin is a fabulous protagonist struggling against a mysterious foe who seems always a step ahead of him in their cat and mouse encounters. The story line is action-packed but goes deep into the psyche of person using futuristic cultural anthropologic satire to jab at modern day concepts. Fans know Charles Stross is a superb author, but as good as ACCELERANDO and the Singularity tales are, GLASSHOUSE is his best work to date.------------ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2