Customer Reviews for

Glimpses of Heaven: True Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I recently finished reading 'Glimpses of Heaven' by Trudy Harris, RN and just felt compelled to write and tell you that from the beginning to the end I was totally moved by each heartwarming story of each persons encounter with his or her final journey. I especially en...
I recently finished reading 'Glimpses of Heaven' by Trudy Harris, RN and just felt compelled to write and tell you that from the beginning to the end I was totally moved by each heartwarming story of each persons encounter with his or her final journey. I especially enjoyed how the author truly became part of each family helping and guiding them to see and feel the joy of their loved one's passing from one life to another, helping them all to realize that they will see each other again. And that death although very sad she reminds that God is Good giving joy to the dying and peace to the living.

posted by Anonymous on April 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Decieving Description

Now I know why the free sample did not contain any stories, just a lot of hype about how great the book is. You are led to believe the book contains stories of dying people seeing visions of Heaven, describing what they see of the future, and having conversations with ...
Now I know why the free sample did not contain any stories, just a lot of hype about how great the book is. You are led to believe the book contains stories of dying people seeing visions of Heaven, describing what they see of the future, and having conversations with people who have already passed on. I am on page 75, and so far have read 2-3 page stories of no such thing. These are nothing more than short stories of people dying, but not about any "Heavenly" events taking place or conversations with deceased relatives.

posted by 10603939 on April 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    I recently finished reading 'Glimpses of Heaven' by Trudy Harris, RN and just felt compelled to write and tell you that from the beginning to the end I was totally moved by each heartwarming story of each persons encounter with his or her final journey. I especially enjoyed how the author truly became part of each family helping and guiding them to see and feel the joy of their loved one's passing from one life to another, helping them all to realize that they will see each other again. And that death although very sad she reminds that God is Good giving joy to the dying and peace to the living.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Decieving Description

    Now I know why the free sample did not contain any stories, just a lot of hype about how great the book is. You are led to believe the book contains stories of dying people seeing visions of Heaven, describing what they see of the future, and having conversations with people who have already passed on. I am on page 75, and so far have read 2-3 page stories of no such thing. These are nothing more than short stories of people dying, but not about any "Heavenly" events taking place or conversations with deceased relatives.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    eye-opening and powerful

    Glimpses of Heaven opens a window to a world that every one of us will experience one day whether through our own death or the death of someone we know. It provides a view into what those who are dying see, feel and hear in the moments before they pass. What makes it inherently readable is the fact that these stories are real as told to the nurse at their bedside. They are real in the fact that there is a measure of confirmation about what they say they are seeing and what we (I) can only consider at this stage in life. What will it be like...who knows until you are confronted by death? What is comforting is the consistent message that what truly matters in life are those things that we all know TRULY matter in life, family, love, friendship, a belief in God, etc. but often take for granted. The take-away is simple. Do not wait until the end to appreciate the present. This book should be required reading for everyone.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    Peace of Mind

    One always wonders what a dying person is feeling. Upon reading this book, it gave me a peace of mind that the person dying is at peace with the world and him/herself and enters their physical ending of life as we know it in a comforting state of mind. This book will make you become teary eyed and makes you thankful for every day that you have.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    A retired police officer

    I first heard about Ms Harris' book after reading a story about her in the April 2010 edition of Guideposts. I found a great deal of comfort and solace in the stories Ms Harris wrote describing those glimpses of heaven her hospice patients expressed in their last days. My parents and siblings have all made that journey into Heaven and I've known they were all together and waiting for my arrival. Ms Harris' book has reaffirmed that belief. Thank you Ms Harris for your devotion and I hope that if I am allowed to die gracefully that someone such as you will be there with me at the beginning of my journey. I highly recommend this book for all to read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    Astounding read! I enjoyed every page and story to the fullest!

    This read was very profound, warm and and touching, I coudln't wait to meet each new person. My heart was touched forever!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Having read quite my share of books about death and dying, this

    Having read quite my share of books about death and dying, this one was one of the biggest disappointments since 'Embraced By The Light'! I bought this book expecting to read stories of people who had legitimate glimpses of the afterlife just before dying, but what I got was a bunch of stories from the NURSES perspective--and the NURSES interpretation of those experiences--not from the patients'

    The description of this book on the back cover is very misleading and borders on decieving.
    This book basically adds up to a twisted version of "Chicken Soup for Friends of The Dying Soul".
    While some stories are heartwarming, the book basically adds up to a bunch of stories that try to make people "feel good" while providing absolutely ZERO concrete evidence for the afterlife.

    If you are looking for stories of NDE's from a Hospice perspective, do NOT buy this book. If you are looking for 'feel good' stories this might be your thing

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Nydia Rodriguez

    Awesome book Trudy has an angel which GOD has sent to her. This book took me into the last moments of my mother's life, the changes she endured, the love she gave, the love for her grandchildren and great grandchildren and for her off spring. Yes it made me cry but one thing for sure is that GOD loves all his children. Thank you Trudy I believe this book was put into my life as a revelation from GOD.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    Would not recommend

    The title is deceiving. The stories are about people's feelings and events as they face terminal illness. I was anticipating more of an NDE theme.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Highly recommend, you never know when you will be there.

    Wish had read this before my parents died, did do a few things. Told my Mom it was ok to let go and we would take care of Daddy and I would be ok. No Hospice for either one, not sure why we could not get, but that is over now.
    Highly recommend the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Thank you for a true heart warming reading experience! And a vivid view of things to come!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    Don't miss this one!

    This is an excellent sharing of experiences with those who are entering the final stages of their earthly lives. I am grateful for the way these stories affirm my experiencs as a hospice nurse,and in my pastoral ministry!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    very comforting book

    I lost my husband a year ago at the young age of 27. This book helped to put my mind at ease. I highly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2014

    If you believe this to be true, this is very comforting.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book of memories from the author. As I begin to relax from my day, I read a few stories each night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    This is a heartfelt, book that will touch your heart. It is true to hospice experience, I have shared. Wether you have lost someone or still have not been touched by loss, this book will change your outlook and be a source of hope and strength.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Fair Reading Material

    I did not care for this book. After reading several books on NDE's (Near Death Experiences) I was assuming or expecting that this book was on the same order or subject matter, not so. I found this book to be rather depressing instead of 'up-lifting" in that it was about dying terminally ill patients with no hope of recovery. The focus was on the author/nurse and how her guidance of these patients led them up to accepting death, even though many were previously 'non-religious' or faithless. Too many individual stories that were repetitive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Interesting read

    I read this book after my daughter passed away, helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    Not what I expected

    I was expecting was a book about near death experiences.
    This book is mostly about the final interactions of dying people with their family and friends.
    While the stories were nice and heartfelt, I almost felt like I was being preached to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Inspiring

    Wonderfully written accounts of faith and dignity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2