Customer Reviews for

Glitch (Glitch Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Chapter by Chapter's review of Glitch

How would I describe Glitch? I would call it a Dystopian type Sci-Fi read. Glitch describes a world somewhere in the 23rd century where people live under the surface of the earth. Humans no longer have a mind of their own. To rid humanity of feeling and emotion, the...
How would I describe Glitch? I would call it a Dystopian type Sci-Fi read. Glitch describes a world somewhere in the 23rd century where people live under the surface of the earth. Humans no longer have a mind of their own. To rid humanity of feeling and emotion, they are implanted with a computer chip. But for some of the younger citizens in the Community, their chip malfunctions causing them to glitch. It is during these glitching periods that they can actually see real colour, feel emotions, and be free. But that’s not all, for when someone starts to glitch, they tend to have an unusual power such as shape shifting, xray vision, telekinesis.

Such is the case for main protagonist Zoe (aka Zoel). Zoe has been glitching, but to be caught as glitching or showing anomalous behaviour would mean that she would need to go in for diagnostic testing or worst case scenario…deactivation.

After being called into a sublevel to be checked due to anomalous behaviour, Zoe finds herself in a pretty terrifying predicament. The individual she finds in the room who is supposed to do her diagnostic check is not your everyday servicer. He is wearing the clothes of an Official…A high ranking official no less. After putting something into her access port behind her neck, Zoe finds herself unable to defend herself against the advances of this Official.

Fear not fellow readers…enter Adrian on his white horse! Ok, no horse but still ENTER ADRIAN to save the day! And save the day he does! Adrian shows her another life that is possible for her and all other glitchers. A life of freedom. But with the Uppers, Regulators, and the new Chancellor of the Academy breathing down their necks, will Zoe and her fellow glitchers ever get a chance at being free?

Glitch was an action packed read that left the question “Who the heck do you trust?” running over and over again in your mind. The multiple plot twists and turns that author Heather Anastasiu has weaved into this book is one that will keep you turning the pages until the very end.

This world created by Ms. Anastasiu was one that was reminiscent of a mixture of the movie The Stepford Wives meets a Twilight Zone episode. It was one that you could easily find yourself immersed in. The vivid details used by Ms. Anastasiu made it all the more easier to imagine the surroundings and imagine a life within this new world and Community.

The characters created were wonderfully written and easily likeable. Although there was a bit of instant love, it was more of a one sided instant love as Adrian has slowly been falling in love with Zoe through he many visions of her. Max was a character that I had loved to hate to love! His role in Glitch was one that kept me on my toes, which made the read all that more exciting. I love it when an author pours so much personality into her characters that you hate them when characters in the novel hate them, and love them when said characters love them.

I would recommend this book to fans of a different type of Sci-Fi read with a Dystopian twist. I can’t wait to see what Heather Anastasiu has up her sleeve for the next installment.

posted by chapterxchapter on August 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Congrats on a fail of a story, but nice idea

Point a) there was kissing within the first 80 pages and everything was so cheesy I felt the need to dip a tortilla chip in it. The main charactor felt like bits and pieces of charactors smashed together. It was like she had this great ability and yet eternally felt the...
Point a) there was kissing within the first 80 pages and everything was so cheesy I felt the need to dip a tortilla chip in it. The main charactor felt like bits and pieces of charactors smashed together. It was like she had this great ability and yet eternally felt the need to bury her face in someone's chest and cry. I can imagine her more as a powerpuff girl than a dystopian novel heroine. It was like the author was trying to create someone strong but had no idea how so just winged it and failed like an ill-prepared for final.
Point b) the plot was about as bland as hospital food. Once again the author tried, and just couldn't seem to cut it. It switched it up nicely, but no new ideas were introduced and it felt forced and didn't have the realism you'd like in a clever story.
Point c) not only was the main character poor but there were two male mains who one of them, Adrien, seemed like the author's personal fantasy and the otjer one was extremely abusive in every sense of the word and didn't serve any purpose in the novel other than exhaust the reader. The author tried to write a dystopian novel and a romance and sucked like a hoover vaccum. Also it seemed like she threw in an unexpected pregnancy for one of the side charactors as an attempt to shake up the story, but by the time that happened i was already way bored.
To sum it up: DONT SPEND YOUR MONEY ON THIS NOVEL IT REALLY ISNT WORTH THE TEN BUCKS THEYRE CHARGING. If you want a good dyatopian read article five, enders game, legend and divergent. They are all way better than this.

posted by 5025166 on December 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Congrats on a fail of a story, but nice idea

    Point a) there was kissing within the first 80 pages and everything was so cheesy I felt the need to dip a tortilla chip in it. The main charactor felt like bits and pieces of charactors smashed together. It was like she had this great ability and yet eternally felt the need to bury her face in someone's chest and cry. I can imagine her more as a powerpuff girl than a dystopian novel heroine. It was like the author was trying to create someone strong but had no idea how so just winged it and failed like an ill-prepared for final.
    Point b) the plot was about as bland as hospital food. Once again the author tried, and just couldn't seem to cut it. It switched it up nicely, but no new ideas were introduced and it felt forced and didn't have the realism you'd like in a clever story.
    Point c) not only was the main character poor but there were two male mains who one of them, Adrien, seemed like the author's personal fantasy and the otjer one was extremely abusive in every sense of the word and didn't serve any purpose in the novel other than exhaust the reader. The author tried to write a dystopian novel and a romance and sucked like a hoover vaccum. Also it seemed like she threw in an unexpected pregnancy for one of the side charactors as an attempt to shake up the story, but by the time that happened i was already way bored.
    To sum it up: DONT SPEND YOUR MONEY ON THIS NOVEL IT REALLY ISNT WORTH THE TEN BUCKS THEYRE CHARGING. If you want a good dyatopian read article five, enders game, legend and divergent. They are all way better than this.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of Glitch

    How would I describe Glitch? I would call it a Dystopian type Sci-Fi read. Glitch describes a world somewhere in the 23rd century where people live under the surface of the earth. Humans no longer have a mind of their own. To rid humanity of feeling and emotion, they are implanted with a computer chip. But for some of the younger citizens in the Community, their chip malfunctions causing them to glitch. It is during these glitching periods that they can actually see real colour, feel emotions, and be free. But that’s not all, for when someone starts to glitch, they tend to have an unusual power such as shape shifting, xray vision, telekinesis.

    Such is the case for main protagonist Zoe (aka Zoel). Zoe has been glitching, but to be caught as glitching or showing anomalous behaviour would mean that she would need to go in for diagnostic testing or worst case scenario…deactivation.

    After being called into a sublevel to be checked due to anomalous behaviour, Zoe finds herself in a pretty terrifying predicament. The individual she finds in the room who is supposed to do her diagnostic check is not your everyday servicer. He is wearing the clothes of an Official…A high ranking official no less. After putting something into her access port behind her neck, Zoe finds herself unable to defend herself against the advances of this Official.

    Fear not fellow readers…enter Adrian on his white horse! Ok, no horse but still ENTER ADRIAN to save the day! And save the day he does! Adrian shows her another life that is possible for her and all other glitchers. A life of freedom. But with the Uppers, Regulators, and the new Chancellor of the Academy breathing down their necks, will Zoe and her fellow glitchers ever get a chance at being free?

    Glitch was an action packed read that left the question “Who the heck do you trust?” running over and over again in your mind. The multiple plot twists and turns that author Heather Anastasiu has weaved into this book is one that will keep you turning the pages until the very end.

    This world created by Ms. Anastasiu was one that was reminiscent of a mixture of the movie The Stepford Wives meets a Twilight Zone episode. It was one that you could easily find yourself immersed in. The vivid details used by Ms. Anastasiu made it all the more easier to imagine the surroundings and imagine a life within this new world and Community.

    The characters created were wonderfully written and easily likeable. Although there was a bit of instant love, it was more of a one sided instant love as Adrian has slowly been falling in love with Zoe through he many visions of her. Max was a character that I had loved to hate to love! His role in Glitch was one that kept me on my toes, which made the read all that more exciting. I love it when an author pours so much personality into her characters that you hate them when characters in the novel hate them, and love them when said characters love them.

    I would recommend this book to fans of a different type of Sci-Fi read with a Dystopian twist. I can’t wait to see what Heather Anastasiu has up her sleeve for the next installment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2013

    Glitch was a very Highly Anticipated book for me! I've had it si

    Glitch was a very Highly Anticipated book for me! I've had it sitting on my bookshelf for months, just waiting to be read! But with so many great books releasing it just got put on the back burner! But finally I picked it up, and to be honest, in the beginning I was a little disappointed. It seemed to drag for a while, but after I got to about the halfway mark I was hooked! I was lost in this Amazing Science Fiction, Dystopian, world that was sickening, yet captivating! I was horrified at they way these humans were being treated like drone slaves. And the saddest part was that they thought they were being saved! That this was the only way for them to live as one without society turning on each other! I couldn't imagine a world like Glitch!

    In the beginning their wasn't that much happening and it seemed kinda slow and I was tempted to give up on it. Then I decided to read on, and that's when I became lost in this sickening world that these Drones lived in, and I just had to have more! It turned out to be everything I could of hoped for! And I am so happy I didn't give up on Glitch, because I would of missed out on an amazing series!


    THE PLOT:

    The world has been destroyed and taken over by the Uppers, the ones that turned there once beautiful world into a underground robotic slave ground with Computerized Drones, where humans are inserted with internal hardrives that control them, Completely wipe away any trace of human emotion or feeling. You only live to be a robotic slave and do as your internal link in your head tells you too!

    When your born you are inserted with and internal hardrive that is hooked to the brains main function that will control your every move, your every thought, you have no desires, no needs, besides the ones you NEED to keep you alive. The sad part about it is that they think its what's keeping them safe and alive!

    These people are brainwashed and controlled by the Chancellor and the Uppers. There the only ones not controlled by an internal link. They feel and have control of themselves, they are the ones that turned this once thriving world into a walking nightmare! And they are determined to keep it that way!

    Zoel or Zoe as she's called for short is one of the robotic humans living in the underground environment that the Uppers created after D-Day. The day when the world went into chaos! The day that nuclear bombs when off and destroyed the world above ground. That's when the Uppers took control and got all the survivors under ground safely. Then the took advantage of the remaining survivors by telling them that the only way to survive was with the internal hardrives inserted in them. And that's the day everything changed!

    Now Zoe, a new generation is living like everyone else, completely zoned out and controlled by the link! But Zoe's different, she glitches! She is able to have little spurts where she is able to break free of the link and control herself completely! And its these glitches that have also gave Zoe a special ability. She is able to move things with her mind! She has telekinesis abilities and she doesn't know what to do with them or these glitches she's having, and she's starting to lose her mind! That is until the boy with the Aqua green eyes swoops in and saves her from being deactivated. Then Zoe finds a whole new world she knew nothing about! And whatever Zoe once believed before is changed forever!

    There's a Resistance that's been fighting back for years! Secretly obtaining information and getting to Glithers before they get caught and become deactivated (Killed). They are slowly building their Resistance numbers to eventually fight back and take back what once was theirs, their lives! Some Glitchers have been blessed with different abilities and the Resistance hopes they will come in use when its time to fight back!

    Zoe slowly gets recruited into the Rez (Resistance) and is preparing to make her escape with other Glitchers! But as events unfolded and there world comes crashing down on them, they slowly realize there is more to this whole thing then they once thought! Secretes come to light, People are revealed, and Zoe realizes that this fight is bigger then she ever imagined!

    Time is running out and the Chancellor is getting close! If they don't make a move soon, then they might not make it out ALIVE....

    I enjoyed this book more then I thought I would! The ending blow me away and had me so engrossed in the twist and turns and surprises that were around every corner!

    I will definitely be finishing this series, and would highly recommend this book. It was so good that I'm even thinking about picking up the next book in the series Override now, But I have so many books to R2R, I just need more of the world that Heather created in the Glitch series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    What can I say about this book? I had fairly high hopes for it,

    What can I say about this book? I had fairly high hopes for it, and I guess that's on me, but it really didn't live up to my expectations. The characters were weird and one-dimensional, the world building was poor, all in all it really wasn't what I wanted it to be.

    There were some positive things, though, that I can locate:
    - It was a creative idea. Compared to the other distopian books I've read it seemed promising. It wasn't going to be about how dating wasn't allowed, which was a big plus, because that idea is over used.
    - It did deliver the twists that it promised. A lot of books get blurbs talking about the great twists, but then you read them and everything is totally predictable, this book really did have a bunch of twists.

    But the negatives really outweigh them:
    - Characters:
    - Zoe: Can you say "Special Snowflake Syndrome?" Because that's what she had. And I'm not just talking about the glitching, either, a lot of kids had that. There was even a time when she was resistant to the mind control that everybody else fell victim to. Bella much?
    - Max: I wanted to punch him in the face. He wouldn't leave Zoe alone with his ideas about his "passions" and he kept trying to kiss her and sleep with her, even after she repeatedly said no. He kept threatening to kill Adrien, because Zoe loved Adrien and not him. What a jerk. Plus he needed to get his anger in check. I know emotions are new to him, and all, but he needs anger management.
    - Adrien: Please stop saying "crackin'" and "shunt" and "godlam'd" If you can't use real swear words, don't say any swear words at all, or at least real fake words like "bloody hell" or "crap". I'm begging you. The worst part was that there was hardly a time when he could get out two sentences without one of those stupid words.
    - Molla. Why is she even here? I feel like her only purpose was to make Max seem like a horrible person. But that doesn't make sense, he's supposed to be part of the love triangle, isn't he?

    - World building:
    I really never got a sense as the the way their society worked. I couldn't tell if people weren't supposed to show any emotion, or if a little was okay? There were times when I was sure that their behavior would surely get them reported, because surely somebody would notice this group of kids who had facial expressions, right? I guess that was sort of explained later, but it was still odd. Even more than that, I felt like I only got a surface understanding of their society, which was not enough to make me attached to the book.

    - The memory loss thing:
    This was maybe the thing that bothered me the most about the plot. When Adrian took Zoe up to the surface, with the thing still plugged into her, and then she didn't remember because it stored the memories externally. That was, I don't know how to describe it, but it didn't work. You can make Zoe forget, but you can't make the readers forget, and then we have to spend the rest of the book knowing what she forgot, but she's just confused.

    - Insta-love:
    It happened three times. And there are two love interests. Although the stuff with Max was a bit less "love" but it was still so fast and awkward. And with Adrian? "I had a vision of you, so its like I already know you" you can save it. Its still insta-love, and its still ridiculous.

    However, as much as it pains me to say this, despite all of my complaints about the book, it wasn't bad enough to discourage me from reading the rest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    As a fan of Paranormal and Dystopia books I found Glitch to be a

    As a fan of Paranormal and Dystopia books I found Glitch to be a perfect
    combination of both. This enjoyable book was one I did not want to put
    down after the first chapter. I love the way Ms. Anastasiu created this
    unique dystopian world. The building up of the plot and the depth of the
    characters were just right. Zoel is basically like a drone, just like
    the humans in her Community. Everyone is implanted with certain kind of
    hardware that keeps them calm and at peace. If you start glitching
    (thinking or feeling for yourself) you are supposed to report it so you
    can either be reprogrammed or deactivated. Zoe starts glitching but
    chooses to try and hide it. She soon learns she also has a strange gift
    as well. She then discovers that she is not alone, that there are others
    out there glitching as well. This dystopian adventure does have a bit
    of romance in it. Zoe meets two boys who have feelings for her. First
    there is Adrian works with the Resistance and can see the future. Then
    there is Max a new glitcher who is also a shapeshifter. This love
    triangle only adds to the emotional journey Zoe goes through in order to
    survive with her new understanding and awareness. I think Glitch is a
    wonderful and entertaining book and I am looking forward to reading the
    next installment of this new series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Syren

    A girl about 14 steps out of the mist. Her light briwn hair falls to her waist d her merald eyes dart around. Her bones stand out too much

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Jade

    She waks in her hands in her pockets " hello"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Xelinia

    Yay! Ok. Thank you!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Summer

    Kk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Colin

    Imma back.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2013

    I enjoyed the Young Adult Dystopian future story. It is a fast

    I enjoyed the Young Adult Dystopian future story. It is a fast and interesting read with several twists along our protagonist's journey. I have the next book in my queue.
    The protagonist feels like a real girl with real feelings in her situation. Give it a try

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Blade

    Fine I give in

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    I think it¿s hard to come up with a unique dystopia novel becaus

    I think it’s hard to come up with a unique dystopia novel because the concept is that in some way the world has crumbled and more common than not there is an oppressive government. I found this novel to particularly interesting by the way the author has taken that managed to twist it such different ways. Our main character Zoel is part of the Community. The Community implants chips into all its members to prevent them from being able to feel any emotions, saying this is the only way that peace can be preserved. Our bodies are strange things and with or without emotions they can recognize something unnatural inside of them. With this it finds a way to evolve and adapt to get around the foreign hardware. Which is where Glitchers come in, the Glitchers are those who experience anomalies, which is basically moments when their emotions override the hardware and break through.
    Zoel or Zoe as she really likes to be called is an interesting character. This is someone who was void of emotion and now is experiencing everything for the first time. She could simply report herself and get “fixed” but instead she chooses to hide and ride out her glitches. The novel is about seeing her grow and mature in a short amount of time because her emotions are flooding in.
    I think the romance in this book was interesting. I understood the dreaded love triangle and why it happened. Even though we do experience some insta-love there is also kind of a bump in that road. What if all that could be wiped away, would you find out it was really just lust or would it still be love.
    I liked Adrien, he’s strong and not afraid to fight for a cause. Typically good for one of the male love interesting and even though I like him over Max, I found Max fascinating. Max kind of has his moments of bad guy/ good guy and I think he fits well what it might feel like for 17 year old boy to suddenly hit puberty because for him that’s what it was. Before he didn’t have any emotions and now he has all these raging hormones and the choices he makes reflect that.
    I enjoyed the fact that rather than escape from the controlling society they end up having to go back in. Not only that but they have a desire to fight it. Just to do it. I feel like a lot of dystopia novels the characters have to have something they want in order to. I liked the character development and the confusion of who is a villain and who is not.
    I of course loved the cover. It actually fits the story. I really enjoyed this dystopia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    This was way better than I expected! I can't wait for the next

    This was way better than I expected! I can't wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    The premise of this book was so clever and amazing. I read it in

    The premise of this book was so clever and amazing. I read it in a very short time and am very very excited to find out what is going to happen in the next book. Also the cover art is so gorgeous!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I wanted to love this. It has everything going for it really.

    I wanted to love this. It has everything going for it really. But, in all reality it fell a little short of it's mark for me and just ended up being another book in the dystopian genre.

    I liked the characters for the most part. Zoe is interesting to watch as she observes the world around her through new eyes. She's experiences everything according to how the Community feels she should see it. She's been deprived of any emotional response. It's one things I enjoyed because it made me realize how the simple things can be taken for granted. I liked Adrien because he doesn't rush Zoe. He acknowledges that this is all new to her and extremely overwhelming. It's got to be hard to ground himself considering all he thinks she could be. I disliked Max, but he's so typically teenage male that I almost felt sorry for him as well. Teenage male is not what I would want to all of a sudden start experiencing with no warning (and no guidance).

    I really had the most difficulty with the storyline. We know Zoe is glitching, but occasionally she's still plugged into the feed. Since the story is told for her point of view, I had a hell of a time telling the difference. I understood more of how it was like to be plugged in by her description of those around her. I'm way to much of a scientific person, and this really made no sense to me. It bothered me a lot.

    I liked the idea of the resistance (is there always a resistance?). I was surprised that we meet some of them so soon. It was like a teaser of things to come. In the end that storyline didn't pan out anything like I had thought. There were some interesting twists to what was really going on. I liked that aspect of the story.

    In the end, I was really not convinced that the mind control could work in the manner presented. I'm not sure I'll continue the series. Will see when the next one pops up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What a whirlwind this read was for me! I'm not sure I knew what

    What a whirlwind this read was for me! I'm not sure I knew what to expect going into it, but I came out really glad that I was given the chance to read this one. I've probably said this before, but I'll say it again...it's official....I'm a dystopian fan for sure! There's no doubt in my mind now when I get wind of a dystopian title that will be hitting the shelves, I immediately have to look into it. I'm not saying they're all the same and would all be to my liking, but I don't think I've come across one yet that I didn't fall in love with, this title included!

    Zoe's struggle to lay low and under the radar of the Uppers and those appointed to keep an eye out for individuals who display anomalous tendencies (i.e. showing any emotions whatsoever!) is not an easy task. And for a very long time she's doing this all alone with no one to talk to. But when more "glitchers" are thrown into the mix, readers, right along with Zoe will have a very hard time trying to figure out who is really on her side and who could possibly lead her astray. It's all packed full of adventure, anxiety and stressful situations that had me flipping through the pages at a pace I had trouble keeping up with on more than one occasion. But I couldn't slow down...I had to know what would happen next!

    So if you're looking for action, adventure and a little romance thrown in as well, I think this dystopian title will be right up your alley!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Glitch totally surprised me. I was a bit wary at the beginning b

    Glitch totally surprised me. I was a bit wary at the beginning because
    many of my friends didn't enjoy it as much, but I am so glad that I did!
    Glitch was so fast paced! The book never had a dull moment, granted, the
    beginning needed a tiny push for the plot to flow, but after that, I
    could barely catch my breath! Now there is something I must admit, this
    book had insta-love. YES! Me, the crusader of insta-love actually liking
    a book WITH IT? Well let me just point out that the insta-love was so
    well plotted, the close proximity angle was used that you really forget
    the label of the romance and just enjoy it. HOWEVER there was a twist a
    third way into the book that I would have never imagined! Which is why I
    liked Glitch a lot, insta-love or not, this book was awesome. The
    protagonist, Zoe lives in a community where every single person is
    stripped from their emotion. Seeing life in color? Family loyalty?
    pshhh, feelings of joy, happiness, sadness, anger? we don't need those!
    We can just become robots and live a life of routine and voluntary
    slavery because that is the ideal world! However Zoe started to glitch.
    Meaning the chip that was inserted in her from birth started going
    haywire and she started to see colors instead of the usual shades of
    grey. She started thinking for herself and started freaking out, because
    any glitcher will be reported immediately, even by their own family. The
    saying is: "An anomaly observed is an anomaly reported"
    However that is when she meets Adrien, the mysterious guy that just
    might be on to her anomaly or maybe an ally? There is also a very weak
    love triangle (thank god) with Max. I just didn't like him at all
    because of uhh, his obsession with something that made me seriously
    weirded out by him. However the book doesn't leave much room for
    wondering since you dive right into action. I really loved Adrien, he
    was such a likable character! I also really enjoyed reading from Zoe's
    POV since she didn't shy away from having to find out the truth, even if
    it has hurt her more than once. Heather Anastasiu pulled out trick after
    trick and twist after twist that just made this novel so worth the time
    I read it and I really can't wait for the second installment in this
    series, Override.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I received this book from St.Martin's Griffin for my honest revi

    I received this book from St.Martin's Griffin for my honest review. I
    haven't seen a lot of good reviews for this book. So, I was really
    hesitant to start reading this book. Most people said it was an OK book.
    It was more than OK for me but it was real confusing at first but then
    the story seemed to flow more smoothly. Zoel lives in a world where
    there no emotion. So it comes as a shock to her when she starts feeling
    emotions and seeing bright colors. She is amazed at first but then
    starts to panic b/c this means she is glitching. To make matters what is
    has an ability that she should not have. She then starts to wonder if
    there is anyone else out there like her. Zoel finds all her answers when
    she meets Adrien and her one friend Max. Will Zoel be able to save
    everyone from the Link or will she choose to save herself? This was a
    pretty good book nothing fancy. There was a little bit if action but I
    think there is going to be a lot more action in the second one. This
    book was just the beginning and what is yet to come. I very excited to
    see where this series will go. This book confused me as well. Not that I
    didn’t understand anything it was like what is going on and what is
    real. I was feeling the same way Zoe was. Is this real or not? Who can
    I trust? I could not figure out anything that was going to happen.
    That’s what I like the most. The not knowing what’s going to happen. Who
    wants to read a book and already figure out early on what’s going to
    happen? Zoel was a pretty good character. I liked her sometimes and the
    other times I didn’t. She was just so clueless and I get that b/c she
    never had feeling before but come on. She takes crap from everyone and
    goes into things without thinking these through. Adrien: I’m not in
    love with him like some guy character, but I did like him and there is
    something there. ;) I don’t really feel like I know him after this book.
    Hopefully we’ll learn more things from him in the next one. Max: I
    liked him before I got to know him. I thought he was going to be a real
    nice guy, but my first impression was WRONG. He is a complete jerk!!! He
    is abusive in every single meaning of the word. He is also obsessed with
    Zoel. Sure some people think it’s hot for someone to do just about
    anything to be with them, but he takes it too far. I was hoping he would
    learn from his mistakes and change, maybe in the next one he will.
    Overall, this was a pretty good book and I am highly anticipating the
    next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    It's been a while since I've read a dystopian as I had gotten bu

    It's been a while since I've read a dystopian as I had gotten burned out on them earlier this year... my own fault, not their fault. I just read way too many of them in a short period of time. So with that being said, I wasn't sure how well I was going to be able to get into this one. I was pleasantly surprised.

    I had a little bit of trouble getting into it at the beginning, but again, I think most of that was my mindset on dystopians, but after a small period, it warmed me up and I sank right into the story. I was really intrigued by the idea of a mechanical device that removes emotions. Watching Zoe try to maintain some semblance of still being under their control while she "glitches" was really intriguing. I liked this heroine because although she's been brought up in a world that is colorless and emotionless, when she begins to glitch and actually experience the world, she's smart about it, working really hard to hide what's happening, and she's very brave as she tries to figure out where to go from here.

    I also really liked Aiden. He's got a completely different mindset, of course, having lived a different kind of life than her. I thought it was so sweet how Zoe reacts to him as she starts to experience feelings for the first time. This was really fun to read. Like watching someone who is totally innocent learn about the opposite sex and attraction. Made for some interesting scenes and the author handles these well.

    I have to admit, the author surprised me a little bit with where this story goes. While I had some hints about a couple things and had started to put together a little bit, there was a lot more to it than that. So great job on the mystery and intrigue.

    The writing was very engaging and other than my little false start at the beginning, I really read through it very quickly and was sucked into the story very well. I am really looking forward to the sequel for this one. A great debut!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2