BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Glitch (Glitch Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Chapter by Chapter's review of Glitch

How would I describe Glitch? I would call it a Dystopian type Sci-Fi read. Glitch describes a world somewhere in the 23rd century where people live under the surface of the earth. Humans no longer have a mind of their own. To rid humanity of feeling and emotion, the...
How would I describe Glitch? I would call it a Dystopian type Sci-Fi read. Glitch describes a world somewhere in the 23rd century where people live under the surface of the earth. Humans no longer have a mind of their own. To rid humanity of feeling and emotion, they are implanted with a computer chip. But for some of the younger citizens in the Community, their chip malfunctions causing them to glitch. It is during these glitching periods that they can actually see real colour, feel emotions, and be free. But that’s not all, for when someone starts to glitch, they tend to have an unusual power such as shape shifting, xray vision, telekinesis.

Such is the case for main protagonist Zoe (aka Zoel). Zoe has been glitching, but to be caught as glitching or showing anomalous behaviour would mean that she would need to go in for diagnostic testing or worst case scenario…deactivation.

After being called into a sublevel to be checked due to anomalous behaviour, Zoe finds herself in a pretty terrifying predicament. The individual she finds in the room who is supposed to do her diagnostic check is not your everyday servicer. He is wearing the clothes of an Official…A high ranking official no less. After putting something into her access port behind her neck, Zoe finds herself unable to defend herself against the advances of this Official.

Fear not fellow readers…enter Adrian on his white horse! Ok, no horse but still ENTER ADRIAN to save the day! And save the day he does! Adrian shows her another life that is possible for her and all other glitchers. A life of freedom. But with the Uppers, Regulators, and the new Chancellor of the Academy breathing down their necks, will Zoe and her fellow glitchers ever get a chance at being free?

Glitch was an action packed read that left the question “Who the heck do you trust?” running over and over again in your mind. The multiple plot twists and turns that author Heather Anastasiu has weaved into this book is one that will keep you turning the pages until the very end.

This world created by Ms. Anastasiu was one that was reminiscent of a mixture of the movie The Stepford Wives meets a Twilight Zone episode. It was one that you could easily find yourself immersed in. The vivid details used by Ms. Anastasiu made it all the more easier to imagine the surroundings and imagine a life within this new world and Community.

The characters created were wonderfully written and easily likeable. Although there was a bit of instant love, it was more of a one sided instant love as Adrian has slowly been falling in love with Zoe through he many visions of her. Max was a character that I had loved to hate to love! His role in Glitch was one that kept me on my toes, which made the read all that more exciting. I love it when an author pours so much personality into her characters that you hate them when characters in the novel hate them, and love them when said characters love them.

I would recommend this book to fans of a different type of Sci-Fi read with a Dystopian twist. I can’t wait to see what Heather Anastasiu has up her sleeve for the next installment.

posted by chapterxchapter on August 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Congrats on a fail of a story, but nice idea

Point a) there was kissing within the first 80 pages and everything was so cheesy I felt the need to dip a tortilla chip in it. The main charactor felt like bits and pieces of charactors smashed together. It was like she had this great ability and yet eternally felt the...
Point a) there was kissing within the first 80 pages and everything was so cheesy I felt the need to dip a tortilla chip in it. The main charactor felt like bits and pieces of charactors smashed together. It was like she had this great ability and yet eternally felt the need to bury her face in someone's chest and cry. I can imagine her more as a powerpuff girl than a dystopian novel heroine. It was like the author was trying to create someone strong but had no idea how so just winged it and failed like an ill-prepared for final.
Point b) the plot was about as bland as hospital food. Once again the author tried, and just couldn't seem to cut it. It switched it up nicely, but no new ideas were introduced and it felt forced and didn't have the realism you'd like in a clever story.
Point c) not only was the main character poor but there were two male mains who one of them, Adrien, seemed like the author's personal fantasy and the otjer one was extremely abusive in every sense of the word and didn't serve any purpose in the novel other than exhaust the reader. The author tried to write a dystopian novel and a romance and sucked like a hoover vaccum. Also it seemed like she threw in an unexpected pregnancy for one of the side charactors as an attempt to shake up the story, but by the time that happened i was already way bored.
To sum it up: DONT SPEND YOUR MONEY ON THIS NOVEL IT REALLY ISNT WORTH THE TEN BUCKS THEYRE CHARGING. If you want a good dyatopian read article five, enders game, legend and divergent. They are all way better than this.

posted by 5025166 on December 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 33 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    It's been a while since I've read a dystopian as I had gotten bu

    It's been a while since I've read a dystopian as I had gotten burned out on them earlier this year... my own fault, not their fault. I just read way too many of them in a short period of time. So with that being said, I wasn't sure how well I was going to be able to get into this one. I was pleasantly surprised.

    I had a little bit of trouble getting into it at the beginning, but again, I think most of that was my mindset on dystopians, but after a small period, it warmed me up and I sank right into the story. I was really intrigued by the idea of a mechanical device that removes emotions. Watching Zoe try to maintain some semblance of still being under their control while she "glitches" was really intriguing. I liked this heroine because although she's been brought up in a world that is colorless and emotionless, when she begins to glitch and actually experience the world, she's smart about it, working really hard to hide what's happening, and she's very brave as she tries to figure out where to go from here.

    I also really liked Aiden. He's got a completely different mindset, of course, having lived a different kind of life than her. I thought it was so sweet how Zoe reacts to him as she starts to experience feelings for the first time. This was really fun to read. Like watching someone who is totally innocent learn about the opposite sex and attraction. Made for some interesting scenes and the author handles these well.

    I have to admit, the author surprised me a little bit with where this story goes. While I had some hints about a couple things and had started to put together a little bit, there was a lot more to it than that. So great job on the mystery and intrigue.

    The writing was very engaging and other than my little false start at the beginning, I really read through it very quickly and was sucked into the story very well. I am really looking forward to the sequel for this one. A great debut!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    loved it activation 181

    The first thing that drew me in for Glitch was the gorgeous cover. I love the purple and pink, the way it lights up the whole cover and yet there is still darkness in the background. And, that fits the story so well. This book literally puts color into a black and gray world. Glitch was a story where I instantly found myself falling in love with the world as Zoe discovered it.

    In the Community humans are controlled by computer chips. There is no pain, no color, no personal thoughts, and no differences. Everyone is a like. Zoe is different though... she's glitching. She's starting to see colors, to feel her own emotions and thoughts, she can finally see the world around her and with these glitches she discovers telekinetic powers. But Zoe is scared, she's considered an Anomaly and anomalies are to be reported and possibly deactivated. Quickly Zoe discovers she's not the only anomaly and that there is a whole world outside of hers that she is not supposed to know about. Will Zoe and her band of anomalies be able escape before they're deactivated?

    It's concepts like these that almost scare you. With all the technology in the world that keeps developing, isn't it crazy to imagine that something like this could actually happen? I could not imagine living in black and gray. I could not imagine not having my own thoughts and most of all I could not imagine being complete devoid of emotions. That's not the only concepts of Heather's book I loved though. I also loved the twists and turns she developed. Towards the end there was one point where it was twist after twist after bang-blow-up-in-your-face what-the-heck-just-happened moments. And, it blew my mind in the best way.

    Then there's the amazing protagonists, Zoe and all the lovely boys that I loved for their own reasons. Zoe is constantly nervous, but who wouldn't at the risk of being deactivated (aka killed). But, watching her fall in love with her new world, I just adored it and I loved how she never once stop fighting for not only herself but everyone else as well. On the boy side, there's Adrien, and oh my gods I love this kid. First there are his beautiful aquamarine green eyes, his dark hair, his loving personality, and his rebelness... he's just too perfect. I completely fell for him and I want so much more of him in the future! Then the other boy who plays a big part is Maximin. At first, I really liked Max but as I got to know him... his pushiness and possessiveness turned me off. Then towards the end, I found my heart caving slightly for him because I understood why he was the way he was. But, regardless... Adrien all the way!

    Overall, this book was so well written and such a thrilling adventure. I loved all the elements... the discovering a world, the dystopia, the romance, and the betrayals. I cannot wait for the next book, Override!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    3.5 Stars ! Glitch was a good and enjoyable read. I look forwar


    3.5 Stars ! Glitch was a good and enjoyable read. I look forward to see how Zoe grows.

    It’s been a long time since I’ve read another dystopian novel, although I did have a lot of books in that genre in my to-read list. Glitch is one of those dystopian novels that I’ve been anticipating to read and now that I’ve read it, here’s what I think.

    There exists a futuristic world where everything is run by machines. People are controlled by chips that deprived them of emotions – except for pain which is vital for their survival. Everything is always in order. Order first, order always. That’s how things run in the world of Glitch.

    The story starts with our heroine, Zoel already Glitching, which is a plus for me because if she still haven’t, then this book will probably bore me as soon as I start reading. Everytime she glitches, she experiences things and emotions she has never felt before. It’s as if her monochrome world was suddenly painted with colors. She craved to discover more, but doing so will only put her in bigger trouble that may be the cause of her deactivation. When she was on the verge of deactivation, a boy with aquamarine eyes saved her, and from there on she discovers that everything she has ever known was all a lie.

    The world building was good and I can really imagine everything as if I was there myself. Zoe was a great heroine. I can totally understand how she reacts with all the new things she’s experiencing. The love triangle between Zoe, Adrien and Max for me was meh. I’ve already mentioned in most of my reviews that I’m growing tired of the insta-love aspects of romance. But in the end, Adrien and Zoe were still able to truly understand each other as their relationship progress, so I guess it’s fine with me.

    Overall, Glitch was a good and enjoyable read. I look forward to see how Zoe grows in the next book and the adventure that she and her friends will go through. I recommend this to dystopian fans :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Love Sci-fi Dystopia, and Glitch is going on my list as one of

    I Love Sci-fi Dystopia, and Glitch is going on my list as one of my favorites. Heather Anastasiu’s world-building is awesome. I love the Old World, and the underground city of the Community it's totally fantastic. I also love the characters. Anastasiu did excellent with Zoe’s character. She made me believe that this is how someone would be if they could suddenly feel emotions after never having felt them before, and by the end of this story, Zoe was becoming a strong leader. I think she will be a kick-behind heroine in the sequel Override or as Adrien would say a "cracking kick ***". Yes, I also liked the way the author used new slang words in this future world to replace some of our naughty four letter words. I will definitely be waiting on the sequel.

    Zoe is a Glitcher, which means she’s an anomaly, and for Zoe this could be a one way trip to deactivation. Zoe world has always been: Order is everything, the Community Creed is Order first, order always. But now that she’s starting to feel emotions, she doesn’t understand how to explain what she’s feeling. She just knows she doesn't want to go back to being a human drone after she’s able to feel emotions—to finally understand what it feels to be alive. But with these emotions, Zoe is also getting the power to move objects. Zoe is trying to keep her emotions and her power hidden from the Regulators who are watching for glitchers, but there’s someone else who's watching Zoe, it’s the guy with the beautiful blue-green eyes.

    Adrien is with the Resistance, who lives above ground in the Old World. He also has the power to see the future and he has seen Zoe’s future, and it includes the Resistance and him. There’s another person that wants to be in Zoe’s future: Max, who's also a glitcher, and he had his eye on Zoe. And the emotions he's feeling for her is one all teenage guys have. Except with Max, his new emotions are consuming him with lust to feed his pleasures.

    Glitch is an emotional story about the right to be free and a girl who has the power and the love to fight for the a people who doesn't even know they have lost their freedom. Zoe's fight has just begun in Glitch, her war is coming in Override. I recommend Glitch as a fantastic Sci-fi read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow, was really good. Great new sci-fi spin on Dystopian story. A Must Read!

    I really enjoyed this story, It took me a short time to get into it, once I was able to actually read it, as its an ARC (advanced readers copy from NetGalley) and it was in a format for computer only, and I have a hard time reading on the computer. I finally got it on my Kindle, but took some work to get it there, so I was able to really read it at that time.

    This story is a very interesting one, much different than most out there, it’s a whole new take on a dystopian theme that has become a base for a lot of young adult books lately. I like the sci-fi high tec take on it. It’s refreshing.

    The story is set in a time where humans are implanted with a computer chip, that takes away emotion and everything that makes us who we are, they are told its to keep them safe. Anyone who “Glitches” starts feeling everything that the computer chip is blocking. Color, emotions, etc. Zoe is the main character that is “glitching”. She soon realizes there are others that do as well, that have been hiding it, just like she has. She had thought she was alone in the glitches, until she meets others like her. In the community, when someone is turned in for being an anomaly (someone that is glitching) they are either reprogrammed or terminated. Zoe and her friends, the other glitchers, are attempting to find a way out of the community.

    Zoe and her friends find that they have powers, hers being telekinesis. The story revolves around Zoe becoming a resistance fighter and taking on the government who rules with an iron fist when she learns about how corrupt their system is.


    I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes some sci-fi or paranormal books, with a dystopian spin on it. It’s really good, and look forward to the sequel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 33 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2