Customer Reviews for

Glitter Baby

Average Rating 4
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

One of the best

This is one of Susan Elizabeth Phillips best books. Much better than Fancy Pants or Hot Shot. A bit long but worth the time!

posted by Anonymous on June 12, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed!

The humor in her books that I love so much was missing from "Glitter Baby" I had a hard time connecting with the characters. Definitely not one of her best story lines.

posted by APlus on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    Susan Elizabeth Phillips first published The Glitter Baby in 19

    Susan Elizabeth Phillips first published The Glitter Baby in 1987.  The current version, rewritten and published in 2009, is a rework of the original.  Overall, I found this a highly entertaining read even if it is a bit dated.  Fleur Savagar, the Glitter Baby, is the illegitimate child of Errol Flynn and Belinda, a failed Hollywood starlet.  (Yes, I know.  Modern readers have to do a Google search to identify Mr. Flynn.)  




    Scorned by Flynn and pregnant, Belinda lands on her feet by marrying millionaire Alexi Savagar, who hates Flynn and takes on the scorned mistress as revenge.  Alexi, however, is not fooled by Belinda’s attempts to persuade him the baby is his.  At birth, he packs Fleur off to a convenient French convent.  Belinda, now enjoying her position in Parisian society as Alexi’s wife, simply has a replacement child: Michel.




    However, Belinda’s indifference changes as Fleur grows into a beautiful woman.  Belinda sees the chance to realize her Hollywood dreams by transforming her daughter into The Glitter Baby.  Fleur is allowed to come home where Belinda begins to groom her for stardom.  Alexi, on the other hand, disappointed that his only son and heir Michel is gay, has a darker future in mind for his step-daughter who still believes he is her father.  




    Enter drop dead gorgeous movie star Jake Korada, who having served in Vietnam (another possible Google search for some readers), has his own emotional scars.  Jake reluctantly agrees to hire Fleur for a movie that is loosely based upon his own return from war.  Jake is screen writer, producer and star of the production.  Of course Fleur and Jake fall for each other during filming, but the apple cart is more than upset when Fleur finds her snake-like mother in a compromising position with Jake.




    Fleur flees to Paris to the man she believes is her father, only to be imprisoned in Alexi’s mansion where he reveals the name of her real father, now long dead.   Alexi, as snake-like as Belinda, also informs Fleur that he has selected  her to bear him a child to replace the disappointing Michel.  




    Horrified, Fleur escapes, but not before she destroys Alexi’s most prized possession, his vintage Bugatti.  The scene where Fleur takes a crowbar to the machine the revolting Alexi loves more than any human is one of the best in the book.




    Fleur disguises herself by chopping off her legendary blond locks, gaining twenty pounds, and by becoming the Girl Friday for a rock band.  Eventually she puts her anger at her truly awful parents behind her and makes her way to New York, where she decides to open her own talent agency.  One of her goals is promote the career of her aspiring actress friend, Kissy, and her brother Michel’s career as a fashion designer.  




    Reenter Jake, who asks Fleur to represent him, not as an actor, but as a screen writer.  Fleur’s struggles to avoid being destroyed by Alexi, who is bent on revenge for the Bugatti, to aid her friend and her brother, and to deal with her true feelings for Jake lead to a powerful conclusion.  Fleur emerges not as The Glitter Baby, but as a strong and powerful woman who has achieved well earned success and the love of her man.  Although a little dated, this is an entertaining read.  

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2004

    One of the best

    This is one of Susan Elizabeth Phillips best books. Much better than Fancy Pants or Hot Shot. A bit long but worth the time!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Her absolute best book.

    I have read all of SEP's books and this one is a excellent explain of writing skill. Each character has their own story, their own trial to overcome. I was so wrapped up in the storyline the entire time. I agree this is not her typical light and breezy carefree writing but that honestly what I love about it - Fleur and Jake did not come together easily and yet their love proved to be most important.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    Definitely don't judge this book by its cover . . .

    Glitter Baby was not what I expected at all. The cover is flashy, and the title is fun. I expected a light and breezy, carefree summer read. No such luck, though. The plot and some specific scenes were unexpectedly dark. I felt pity for every character at some point in the book. It was a slow read for me, and reading it really brought me down, once again a contrast to the sparkly, upbeat cover. The eighties setting was hard to take, too, when the cover misleads you into thinking it's more current. Re-releases should be clearly marked.
    It kind of reminded me of Fancy Pants, spanning a large number of years where the main character is mostly unhappy.
    Other than the above two mentioned titles, I love Susan Elizabeth Phillips' writing style. Most of her books are fast-paced, hilarious, and heart-warming. This Heart of Mine and Nobody's Baby But Mine are my favorites. I definitely haven't given up on her, since it turns out she wrote this a long time ago.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not stereotypical S.E.P.

    This book is different from others by Phillips. There is a lot more character development and back story than in her other books, which usually just jump into the love story. Overall, an enjoyable read, but not one of my favorites by this author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Disappointed!

    The humor in her books that I love so much was missing from "Glitter Baby"
    I had a hard time connecting with the characters. Definitely not one of her best story lines.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Good read

    Good story but dated

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    Cumbersome, Morose, Blah!

    I cannot stand not finishing books - and for that reason, I finished this book. I found the end of the book somewhat interesting with Jake and Fleur. There were parts that I found so unbelievable that I was skipping paragraphs just to get through it. The novel also covers a very long time frame (30 years) and there are a lot of breaks in time (jumping months) and switches in character point of view which affected the novel's flow (basically it didn't have any). It is also a very sad book; there is not much uplifting or heart warming (until the end) and I found myself being drug down by the mood set throughout the novel. Despite all of this I loved Jake and Fleur's characters and would have much preferred a simpler novel that focused more squarely on the two of them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    good

    COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Excellent!

    The story is captivating and the characters, Fleur and Jake are lovable. I couldn't put it down. The story was excellent. Susan Elizabeth Phillips is a great author; she pulls you into the story and makes you feel connected to the characters. I definitely recommend this book. It is a heartwarming romantic adventure!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    SEP never fails to deliver

    The re-release of Glitter Baby was well worth the wait. Great characters and an inciteful story about finding the true you and being brave enough to live that life. Anything by Susan Elizabeth Phillips is a wonderful reading experience.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    !

    Would be nice to go to the review section and not not see plot spoilers revealing every detail of the book. How about letting us read the book and finding out for ourselves what happens? I know, novel idea,huh? You ppl are so rude and inconsiderate of others.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    F-----

    THis book deserves zero stars...it is going absolutely nowhere and I hate everything about it...I had to give up on this turd of a book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    Be careful of this reprint

    As a huge fan of Susan Elizabeth Phillips, I looked forward to this early book. However, it is very clear that this is an early effort. Ms. Phillips' style and talent have come a long way from this book. My suggestion is to pass this one by and wait eagerly for a new publication.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    Sidney Sheldon lives and breaths in this Susan Elizabeth Phillips novel

    Dated and not as humorous or well developed as her other novels.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    To abbi

    Where are u u better anwer me be twen midnight and know

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Massie

    Hey Guys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Allison is looked put meet at

    Hunger games rez one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Great

    Great book! I enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    Fun read

    A little cliche - no real surprises, but fun characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8