Customer Reviews for

Glitter Baby

Average Rating 4
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

One of the best

This is one of Susan Elizabeth Phillips best books. Much better than Fancy Pants or Hot Shot. A bit long but worth the time!

posted by Anonymous on June 12, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed!

The humor in her books that I love so much was missing from "Glitter Baby" I had a hard time connecting with the characters. Definitely not one of her best story lines.

posted by APlus on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    Fun read

    A little cliche - no real surprises, but fun characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Good summer read

    It was a little slow moving in the beginning but ended up being a good read. I ended up really enjoying it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Fireheart

    Is sleeping

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    CassiDee

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Warrior Den

    Glitterfur(lol)

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Defently not what you expect from the cover

    This books summary and cover are verey misleading i dident like it so much honestly it was dark and sad it made me feel sad i hope her other books arent this bad

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Good

    jac2848- i enjoyed this book but not as much as the others ive read. This book seemed to be missing the humor in her other books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Not one of my favorite SEP books. I was bored though parts of it

    Not one of my favorite SEP books. I was bored though parts of it, found myself scanning certain paragraphs to get to the stuff I did care about. Story line was alright, felt really bad for Belinda instead of Fluer. Fluer was alright but I didn't really connect to her that much. This book is just so-so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    a quick read.

    i'm reading all the books in the series and they are all great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Terrible!

    This book was awful!! It was melancholy at best and each time I thought it was starting to get a happy point it would just get more depressing. I read the entire book, only because once I start a book I always finish it, and I didn't really enjoy it until the epilogue. I have read books by Susan Elizabeth Phillips in the past and really enjoyed them, this one was quite a disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not one of my favorites.

    I love Susan Elizabeth Phillip books except for this one. I just could not get into it and enjoy it. I do not recommend this book at all. The story line was just weird. The mother was a fruit cake.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    Mrs. Phillips has done it again

    This book is great!!! It makes you see that even beautifle people can have a low self esteem about themselves. Even if the rest of the world see them as the most beautifle person on the planet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Book to Get Lost In

    I am a fast reader, so a longer book that I can really get into without being overwhelmed is a good find. This book fits that description. It was an intriguing read, with lots of twists and turns to the plot. Once you get into it, you don't want to put it down - I couldn't wait to see what happened next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Light, breezy read

    This book was a fun read. Nothing too heavy. It compares with the authors previous books. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a fun book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    This is a revised re-issue of one of Susan Elizabeth Phillips' earlier bestsellers. She gets better and better. I almost hate to get one of her new books, because I know I can't put it down until I'm finished.

    I also love the continuing characters she uses in her novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    Alright

    I thought it was a decent book. I liked it but I am not IN-LOVE with it. It was hard to get to like some of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Fun Fun

    Susan Elizabeth Phillips can take the kind of story that we've all read before (Jacqueline Susanne) and still make it new and fun. The repartee of her romantic characters is the best. This story is very similar to "What I Did For Love" so would not want to read them back to back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Love the glitter

    I read Match Me if You Can and loved it which prompted me tp try out another one of SEP's books. Glitter Baby blew me away. You instantly get pulled into the fast-paced world of glamour and gorgeous people. The characters are unforgetable. This is definitely a must read. You will fall in love with all of the quirky characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    Couldn't put it down

    Thoroughly enjoyed! My favorite book by this author is Ain't She Sweet- this one ranks up there, too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    FROTHY, LIGHT, AND FUN

    This story reminds me a bit of meringue - looks yummy, tastes sweet for a moment, then pouf it's all gone. "Glitter Baby" is frothy, light, and fun, a trip to the world of beautiful people - gorgeous gals and drop dead handsome guys. Now, we know our two lead characters are going to end up together (think Jackie Collins, Judith Krantz) but it's an entertaining, sometimes erotic trip getting there with such moments as this: <BR/>"Jake stumbled backwards as Fleur threw herself at him, and they both crashed to the ground. There was an explosion of laughter from the film crew. Fleur lay sprawled on top of him, pinning him down with her half-naked body. She wanted to crawl away into a corner and die." <BR/><BR/>So, forget office work, household chores, balancing the budget (ugh!) and escape for 14 hours to terra fantastic. Fleur Savagar is the most beautiful of the pretties. She does not seem to have any idea about her looks, just wonders what everyone is in such twits about (another clue that this is fantasy). <BR/><BR/>Of course, there have to be twists and turns before Fleur and Jake's final close-up - how about secrets from the past that haunt both of them? Fleur leaves fame and Jake behind to visit a convent in France where she hopes to discover her true self, which gives listeners the opportunity to visit posh places on the continent. The settings couldn't be more tempting - Hollywood, New York, Europe. And Fleur's mother, Belinda, is something else - she left home in search of James Dean (enter Errol Flynn). <BR/><BR/>Julia Gibson delivers an award winning narration of this story reminding us that the path to true love doesn't always run smooth (but it doesn't hurt if she's the most beautiful woman in the world, and he's a talented, handsome playwright/actor). <BR/><BR/>Enjoy! <BR/><BR/>- Gail Cooke

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8