Customer Reviews for

Glorious

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Glorious

I simply adore the raw intensity of this novel. This only continues to increase my love for Bernice McFadden's writing.

posted by Anonymous on December 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed!

I am a serious fan of Berniece McFadden. This was not her best work by far. It is however an good start. I feel like the book lacked depth and there was a rush to complete the story. The premise is good but the sub stories could have been deleted to give better focus to...
I am a serious fan of Berniece McFadden. This was not her best work by far. It is however an good start. I feel like the book lacked depth and there was a rush to complete the story. The premise is good but the sub stories could have been deleted to give better focus to the main character and her story. The story does jump around and will leave some confused especially since a lot is left to the reader's imagination. As for the period in which the story is set, it is a fascinating time and the history is rich and complex. That seems to be missing from the plot. Also lacking is McFadden's usual ability to develp her characters and make you love(or hate) them. I felt very little connection to most of the character including the main one and felt some of the characters weren't even necessary. In all, I was not impressed.

posted by PamT2u on September 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great Read

    Really injoyed it......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Still enjoying her work...

    This is actually a read for my book club

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Terrific

    Good read. I love the author writing style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Homelessness of the Brave

    Easter Venetta Bartlett is a literary talent unrequited by her experiences and unable to fathom the envy and deceit of lesser talents of her gift. Knowing little of the publishing world, her work is stolen by someone close to her. She becomes victim of her talent and is branded a plagiarist.

    Bernice McFadden's "Glorious" chronicles the life of affable Easter, from adolescence through her senior years. It is a story of betrayal, loss, talent and struggle in a hostile environment where choices are limited by the need to survive and hopes are mitigated by circumstances. Whether the Jim Crow South, the Renaissance of Harlem or the Civil Rights Era, the ability to participate in change(s) is limited by social position, and to a large extent, by physical characteristics. Through Easter, McFadden delves into bravery to survive multiple frustrations, delusions, disappointments and defeats, which reflect the triumph of the spirit over destiny. She weaves a tale that must be told when hope is lost and starting over may be a matter of being without roots and alone.

    "Glorious" is well researched and at times heart-wrenching. I was so involved in Easter's story, however, that I felt a void when portions of her life were skipped over. I'd recommend "Glorious," especially for its historical perspective of the integration of gender norms and social philosophies through turbulent times. Some well know characters are presented from the perspective of a poor black woman awash. Interesting.

    Reviewed by: Gail

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    glorious hope beautifully told

    Back in 1910 a black man defeated a white man in a fair fight and the black people who'd laid bets on the result were understandably elated. Soon afterwards, a girl called Easter, who already had plenty of reasons for hatred in her life, wrote that one word HATE on a piece of paper, crumpled it up, and buried it.

    Easter wrote many other words too as she grew older in a world of radical unfairness and unthinking cruelty. Glorious, by Bernice McFadden, is her tale. Reading how a pregnant black cook is murdered because a total stranger, unfortunately also black, has committed a crime, then watching the slaughter of her unborn child, leaves the reader sickened and saddened for all those others whose stories have not been, and surely should be told. But Easter buries her hate and herself and moves on.

    The novel introduces a fascinating cast of characters, some larger than life, some smaller, some real and some imagined. But all the lives are gloriously genuine and so powerfully told. I even found myself searching for author E.V. Gibbs on the internet, to see if she really existed. But I've read Their Eyes were watching God, so I know Zora Neale Hurston was real.

    The story progresses from Georgia to railroad tracks to Harlem and high-class apartments in New York. Through waves of powerful emotions, innocent errors and devastating betrayals, it all ends back where it began, in the small town of Waycross, Georgia. Years have passed and it's now 1961. The world is changing, but hasn't changed enough. And the reader learns where Easter's wonderful mind and words have led her. It could be tragic, but instead it's powerfully hopeful, beautiful and moving. And the quote from Zora Neale Hurston on the final page-"God balances the sheet in time"-rings gloriously true in the reader's mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1