Customer Reviews for

Glorious

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Glorious

I simply adore the raw intensity of this novel. This only continues to increase my love for Bernice McFadden's writing.

posted by Anonymous on December 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed!

I am a serious fan of Berniece McFadden. This was not her best work by far. It is however an good start. I feel like the book lacked depth and there was a rush to complete the story. The premise is good but the sub stories could have been deleted to give better focus to...
I am a serious fan of Berniece McFadden. This was not her best work by far. It is however an good start. I feel like the book lacked depth and there was a rush to complete the story. The premise is good but the sub stories could have been deleted to give better focus to the main character and her story. The story does jump around and will leave some confused especially since a lot is left to the reader's imagination. As for the period in which the story is set, it is a fascinating time and the history is rich and complex. That seems to be missing from the plot. Also lacking is McFadden's usual ability to develp her characters and make you love(or hate) them. I felt very little connection to most of the character including the main one and felt some of the characters weren't even necessary. In all, I was not impressed.

posted by PamT2u on September 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Glorious

    I simply adore the raw intensity of this novel. This only continues to increase my love for Bernice McFadden's writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Excellent

    One of the best books I have read in a long time. The main character is ourstanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Highly Recommended-Check It Out

    Glorious is an engaging page turner. It is a wonderful choice for Book Clubs and a must read for avid book lovers. McFadden does a wonderful job of keeping the reader in suspense and intrigue simultaneously with the many facets and evolving traits of the novel's characters and their distinct characteristics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Loved it!

    This is a great story! Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    I would by this book again

    I use the book for leisure reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Too good!

    Ms. McFadden does it again! A great read. It flowed from beginning to end. I love reading about this period - Harlem Renaissance. Also, I love th mix of history and fiction. I have read most of Ms. McFadden's novels and each one has been excellent. I look forwarrd to her next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    Great Book!!

    Didn't want the book to end. Look forward to reading more by McFadden.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    An Amazing Read!

    Easter Bartlett flees the South and its hate and makes her way to Harlem. Easter's life is a story of "what ifs". Easter has some very colorful characters in her life; Rain and Meredith Tomas. Easter comes into her own as a writer during the Harlem Renaissance. By leaving "hate" in the South, Easter believed that people should be treated the same. Easter is betrayed in a bad way by Meredith Tomas, her benefactor. Easter flees Harlem and returns to her humble beginnings in the South. Bernice McFadden does an excellent job of combining fact and fiction to create this amazing story that takes us from the horrors of the South to Harlem. You can feel the hurt that Easter and other Blacks felt during those turbulent times in America. This book is a must read! --EbonyReader4Life (Circle of Color Book Club)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    Glorious was Awesome!

    I really enjoyed this book because it educates as well as entertains. The characters were really well developed and the storyline really took you on an unexpectant journey. I would have loved 100 more pages!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    Glorious

    A touching historical fiction that forces the reader to sympathize not only to the main character but what the black Americans' struggles were throughout the early 1900's until the mid 1960's. The author brings joy, anger and sadness within the scope of the novel to bring full circle a deep seeded empathy for the people involved. This is a breathtaking novel that brings to life the trials and tribulations of the black American during this time period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Nice Book

    I got this book for my mom for Mother's Day and she really enjoyed it. She is going to let me borrow it (one of the advantages of getting your mom presents you like!) and I can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Glorious is glorious!

    From the dirt roads of Waycross, Georgia to the busy streets of Harlem, Bernice McFadden once again delivers perfection in her latest novel, Glorious. With actual historical events playing in the background, we are introduced to Easter Bartlett and her family.

    The historic "Fight of the Century" between Jack Johnson and James Jeffries sets in motion a series of events that eventually push Easter out of Georgia and eventually land her in Harlem. Much mention is made of Marcus Garvey and his Universal Negro Improvement Association. A story set in Harlem at such a time would be incomplete with referencing the Harlem Renaissance and Ms. McFadden deftly weaves in noted members of the Renaissance, including A'lelia Walker, daughter of Madame CJ Walker and a patron of the arts, and Langston Hughes. Others such as Claude McKay and Carl Van Vechten are also mentioned.

    With writing as rich and vivid as only she can do it, Ms. McFadden draws you into the life of Easter Bartlett and doesn't release you easily. Though their stories are not the same, I couldn't help but to compare Easter Barlett to Wallace Thurman's Emma Lou Brown from The Blacker the Berry, with both women seeking refuge in Harlem. I found myself yearning to read this while at the same time putting it down in order to savor it and prolong the inevitable end. While I usually give away books that I've already read, this is one that will have to stay in my library.

    What did you like about this book?
    The author does a wonderful job of developing the characters, even minor ones. Through her words I was able to imagine exactly how everyone and everything looked.

    What did you dislike about this book?
    I wouldn't say it was a dislike, but there was a period of time of the main character's life that was kind of glossed over. While going into detail about it was not necessary to tell the story, I could have stood more than a few sentences about the timespan. That is only because I didn't want the book to end

    How can the author improve this book?
    No improvements needed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1