Customer Reviews for

Glory Be

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    This was one of my favorite books this summer. A great story of

    This was one of my favorite books this summer. A great story of relationships, with a social background of changes occuring in the south in the mid 1960s. Keep a tissue in your pocket!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review title: Changes. A lesson from America's history as seen t

    Review title: Changes.
    A lesson from America's history as seen through the eyes of an eleven year old, is in the pages of Glory Be" by Augusta Scattergood. "Outside agitators" is a term used in this chapter book, "What are they coming into Hanging Moss to agitate?" Who is Laura Lampert? And why has she come to Hanging Moss? Find out how it felt to be living in Hanging Moss during 1964. Where is Hanging Moss located? You'll learn the answer to these and other questions as you see Hanging Moss during the summer of 1964 through the five senses of the protagonist. A variety of emotions are expressed by the protagonist as changes come to Hanging Moss, a town of 8, 003. Join the Hemphill Family and learn about what was happening across America in 1964. *Enlightening. *Informative. *Educational.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Good book

    Its a realy good book

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Southerner charmer

    An important story of sisterly love, friendships, racial tension, all wrapped up in a pitch-perfect Southern setting. Scattergood is a debut author to watch. Add this one to your list.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    TRACY

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Awsome#1

    This is a good book about a young girl named glory just twelve days before her 12th birthday she finds out that the comunity pool may be closing espesialy on the hotest day of the summer . Why as she trys to figure this out she starts to get to know a girl who is a daughter of a segrigation protester Glorys life changes and she starts to hatch a plan about helping the pool
    An amazing story recomended for ages 9 to12
    " ... a vivid glimpse of the 1960's south ... " Kirkus Reviews
    Author Agusta Scatergood



    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    This book is truly exceptional. It's a beautiful story of love,

    This book is truly exceptional. It's a beautiful story of love, friendship, standing up for what you believe in, and growing up in the 1960s South. The author really brought me into the Southern setting and made me care about the characters. Brilliantly written! I really enjoyed reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Glory Be

    At my new school,we do this thing called battle of the books.Baisically,you're supposed to read 2 books over the summer from a list of 25 books.One of the books was Glory Be.It was an excellent choice to add that book to the list!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    Sooo

    Its about a girl trying to keep a pool from closing... seriously...thatbsounds sooo stupid!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    Great book

    Very excited to use this book in the new year for my children's book club. Some great lessons with a story you will have trouble putting away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Hello

    Boo

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Really good

    I was reading this and read half the book one day half the other enjoyed every bit glad i read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    U

    Who wants to hav sex

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    I cant beleive im the eighth review

    This book is amazing super infact every one should buy it.....but maybe for less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I loves this book personally, it was a wonder though the past. W

    I loves this book personally, it was a wonder though the past. With this being said I would recommend this book to anyone. If you like to read about the 1960s and your interested in segregated times, then this is the book for you. This book is about a girl named Glory who is fighting for what she believes in. Her pool is closing (to be exact its the towns pool not just hers) her best friend and herself are fighting. Can she stand up for what she believes in or will she be in the hot summer sun?? This book has suspense, love, and hope for a change.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I just finished this book and I loved it!!! It was an eye-openin

    I just finished this book and I loved it!!! It was an eye-opening book and I loved the storyline. All of the characters seemed so real. I loved some of them and some, not so much. I liked how it ended. I think that sometimes you need to have something different, where everyone doesn't turn all good and happy in the end, because it doesn't always happen that way. I would highly recommend this book. I think that people of any age would love this book and all that it has to offer.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Terrific read

    It's 1964 in Hanging Moss, Mississippi, coming on the Fourth of July. 11 year old Gloriana Hemphill is up to her red, white & blue in secrets~~hers and everybody else's. Augusta Scattergood plunks young readers smack into Glory's unforgettable summer as the Civil Rights Movement unfolds. Glory Be is jam packed with characters we care about & adventures to keep the pages turning, set in an era of change we need to remember.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2