Customer Reviews for

Glory Road

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    The Best of Robert A. Heinlein's Fantasy Books

    My favorite Heinlein book. When I read this book for the first time as a teen I was motivated to accomplish many things (not the least of which being learning to fence with Epee and Saber). This is the men's (or teenage boy's) answer to the romance books for women. To the young man I say: read the book and "Dum Vivimus Vivamus"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    A rare journey into fantasy from the Dean of Science Fiction

    This is a book that I love to come back to time after time. Chivalry, courage, perseverance in face of overwhelming adversity - Heinlein is a master story teller and this is one of his best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    To be a Hero

    I think this is one of my favorite Heinlein books. To follow the glory road and be a hero, it is quite a quest. While I thought it was slow to get started, once the quest was started it is an engrossing read. Rufo is my favorite character, but I can so feel for Oscar, especially after the he has returned home. Is this a statement on our lives, loosing our identity unless we are are needed and following that quest in our lives? You will not be disappointed. To bad I'm now reading the personals to see if I am being called.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    One of my favorite reads ever (this coming from a guy with 116 b

    One of my favorite reads ever (this coming from a guy with 116 books just in my Nook library).
    That being said, why is it $15.99??? and $9.99 for the Nook file??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    reprint of an engaging fantasy

    After spending time being shot at in Viet Nam, former soldier E. C. 'Scar' Gordon rests and recuperates on the French Riviera. After being shook up by seeing the most beautiful woman he ever seen, Scar answers a strange ad for employment in which some of the perquisite skills are courage, in your early to mid twenties, perfect health, and willingness to travel, etc. Intrigued and needing work, Scar answers the weird ad.--- The employer turns out to be the woman from the beach. After struggling with her name Scar calls her Star while she calls him O-scar. The job is to protect her as she searches universes for the Egg of the Phoenix. Oscar accepts the assignment as he has no family that will miss him; the pay is great and a chance to see exotic locations while accompanying a gorgeous woman who claims she is the empress of twenty universes. Of course he figures nothing can be as dangerous as Nam where you do not know friend from foe. Oscar will learn otherwise rather quickly as he travels at unheard of speeds (at least on earth) across dangerous space battling dragons, ogres, and villains oh my.--- This is a reprint of an engaging fantasy with some science fiction elements that readers will enjoy. The story line moves faster than Star can traverse the universes. Scar is a wonderful protagonist whose war weary bones perk up for cash and a beautiful princess. Though having a somewhat early 1960s feel to the plot that seems strangely like ¿ancient ism', fans will enjoy Robert Heinlein¿s homage to the masters who influenced his style.--- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2004

    First-Rate Fantasy, Heinlein-Style!

    When one thinks of Robert Heinlein, Science Fiction inevitably comes to mind, although he wrote in nearly every genre, under a variety of pseudonyms during his long career. An unabashed fan of many great fantasy writers, from Edgar Rice Burroughs to J.R.R. Tolkien, 'Glory Road' is Heinlein's tongue-in-cheek homage to both classic mythology (particularly 'Beowolf') and the works of contemporary fantasy authors (watch for his puns on hobbits and Robert Howard and Fritz Lieber's fantasy stories), with a healthy dose of sexuality tossed in. If you ever felt the great fantasies were a bit too 'highbrow', 'Glory Road' may change your mind!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2001

    ONE GREAT BOOK FROM THE MASTER !

    One of the best books I have ever read. A good book paints a mental picture just like seeing a movie.This book did just that. This is one of the few books I can read again and again.If you haven't read Glory Road buy it now! You won't be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2001

    SPECIAL MAGIC MIXED WITH SCIENCE ADVENTURE and (Sex)

    General Heinlein: Tom Clancy, David Webber, and Stephen King all credit Heinlein as thier mentor. More need not be said about the three decade all time Sci-Fi Grand Master, but this. If you haven't read Heinlein, you haven't yet lived. First Sci-Fi to Movie, The recent topical hit movie Star Ship Troopers (a novel's always better, and RAH's SST is no exception), a perennial collective Best Seller (30 Million in print ten years ago!) Never off the shelves in even the poorestly sci-fi stocked book store, you can't go wrong! This was my first Heinlien -- 4th Grd, and I'll never forget it. Heinlein was the master at tight plots that leave you thirsting to turn the next page, and this was the book that turned me into a reader. A daunting length for a fourth grader to be, it was only one of two titles on my Bro's bookshelf that I felt capable of taking on. Like a weasel, it grabbed me and didn't let go. Along with a dozen others, most by RAH, this is not a book I'd care to skip re-reading every 4-5 years. Go for it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2000

    Great Entertainment

    I give it 4 stars, I've read it several times, but I wouldn't put it on the same level as Stranger in a Strange Land-which definitely would rate 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2000

    One of the best books I have ever read...

    This was one of the most extrodinary tales I have ever ventured to explore. The emotions of the characters parallel those of the reader's as the plot of the novel carries 'Scar' Gordan deep into lands of unchallenged wonder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 1999

    A ROUGH AND ROCKY ROAD

    Join Oscar, Star, and Rufo on a journey filled with plenty of sword play, a lot of adventure, and lessons in physics, quantum mechanics, relgion, philosphy, and government, as they embark on the quest for the Egg of the Pheonix. Hienlien begs, borrows and steals(appropriately filing off the serial numbers) from the best fantasy and adventure authors and puts it together only the way a true master can. Hienlien did it better than anyone.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2