Customer Reviews for

Go Ask Alice

Average Rating 4.5
( 1727 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1247)

4 Star

(291)

3 Star

(111)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

A Story to Remember.

I think that many people will appreciate this book and will find it helpful in understanding the life of a drug addict. This book makes people see the other side of an addict, they can really get to know alice in the book. And not just as a drug addit but as a person wh...
I think that many people will appreciate this book and will find it helpful in understanding the life of a drug addict. This book makes people see the other side of an addict, they can really get to know alice in the book. And not just as a drug addit but as a person who is struggling to be a better person for herself and for her family.

I think everyone should read this fantastic book.

posted by SamanthaRenae91 on April 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

I love your book!!!!!!!!

I think 'Go Ask Alice' is a great book. I hope that when teenagers read this book they'll know that drugs are bad and all the horrable things that it does to to. Thank you Beatrice Sparks for writting a great book.

posted by Anonymous on November 28, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    If you want to read how drugs and dangerous choices can ruin a p

    If you want to read how drugs and dangerous choices can ruin a person's life, read the CRANK series by Ellen Hopkins (or anything by her, really).  It is written in poetry form, but that just makes it more stunning and haunting read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Lacking Motivation...

    I'm reading this on my Nook right now, and aside from the logic of the story (which is illogical), I cannot stand all the typos. Perhaps these errors are only apparent in the e-book version...I don't know.
    But even the concept behind this story itself is just so blatantly false I can't believe that this was once considered truth based on a real diary...the last thing a non-sober person does is look for her diary to write in. Yes, the description of the experiences of each drug may be valid, but a lot of it is impossible (or at least very unlikely) to record and put into words so specifically. Like when you're on LSD, you lose your sense of chronological order; you'd never be able to tell what happened before what.
    This book gives me the impression that it's trying to intimidate drug users and perhaps it may for those completely foreign to any kind of experience. But I'm sure that those who had even the slightest bit of experience can comment on how unrealistic this character's actions were. In other words, there are just too many exaggerations that I think nullify the sincerity that could've been so much more effective. It almost makes me laugh more than empathetic.
    I bought the combo pack though (the one that includes Jay's Journal), and it looks like I'll have to finish what I began...
    It's not a TERRIBLE read...I just don't think it was worth all the hype...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Blah

    Simply too depressing for me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Welp

    I thought it was going to be a lot more eventful, but it was okay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Honestly, I didn't love this book. It is a good read, but a lot

    Honestly, I didn't love this book. It is a good read, but a lot different from many other teen book out there. If you are looking to read something that is well written, then I wouldn't recommend this book to you. It is very hard to relate to this girl because she acts as if she just watches her life happen, and isn't a part of it. That may be because she did drugs, but still, this book is not super relatable.

    I think people who read this book benefit from knowing a little but more about what the world of drugs can do to you, but it is definently not a book I would recommend to anyone younger than like 15 or 16.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    I was let down by this book because I was expecting more of the

    I was let down by this book because I was expecting more of the drug abuse than the ashamed feelings she had about it afterwards. I found her thoughts to be cheesy and very annoying. The characters were not described well at all, and Alice wasn't that likeable in my opinion. The good thing about this book is the insight it allows you, even if it was for a very short while. I do have an appreciation for this book and how popular it has become over 30 years, but it was not my cup of tea, I suppose.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Fake

    This book is a scare tactic relic from the 60's, meant to scare kids away from drugs. Later revealed as a fake, it's written from the perspective of a young girl who falls in with a bad crowd. A bit over the top, but if you read with some background information (i.e. it's fake), it's not so bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    Truthful lies

    Im not gonna lie, its a really good book and all, and I hate to say it....but this book is a lie. It isnt true. but you should read it anyway. You could learn a thing or two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    it's ok

    i think that this book has a very good message that kids should not use drugs because they ruin your life and your brain but i also think that this book is kinda confusing becuase it seems like the story is about a real person and that the dsiry enteries were actually in dairy at one point but is i werid because at first you think that the author is the girl that has the dairy and is writing in it but then at the end it says that the girl died three days after she stoped writing in her dairy whitch means the author is not the girl but then that makes me wonder were she got the dairy enteries from then?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    the head line reminds me of the common novel speak

    alice has the the emotion pf a emo kid that is underpresser about who she is and how she feels. alice has had trouble in sckool and in her home that cause her to skip sckool and use drugs but deep down in side she knows it wrong but its taking over her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not worth your time

    I read this book after being urged by my brother, who highly recommended it and claimed what a sad, touching story it was. Despite his high recommendations, I found this story pathetic, unmoving, and completely unbelievable. I understand that this story is supposed to be the plight of a young, confused adolescent girl, but not once through her drug mess did I find myself sympathizing for nor empathizing with her. Though this story is presented as a "true diary of a young girl," it is in fact part real diary, part ficiton, and part compiled psychologist learnings from who knows how many patients. I found the turn of events completely unbelievable (both the peanuts and the ending) and would not recommend this book to anyone. If you would like to read a good book about intentional and unintentional drug users, try "Requiem for a Dream." It is, in my opinion, a much more believable and moving account of the life that drugs can lead you to.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2008

    A Few Short of the Full Dose

    I was looking for something inspirational or something to simply make me think a bit. 'Go Ask Alice' was recommended to me, so I decided to give it a chance. I'll be honest, it was difficult for me to get through to the end. The main character seemed so infantile and gullible. (Many times I wish I could have bonked her in the nose and said: 'No! Don't you see what you're doing?' All in all, I think it would sit better in a younger teen's hands than my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2008

    Blah

    I found that this book seemed to be unrealistic in some parts. It was recommended to me through a friend and she said it was really good, so I decided to check it out. It was a total disappointment. The part were she runs away from home and her parents don't contact the police or search for her, is very unrealistic to me. I understand that the book took place during the 70's but seriously, I think parents would at least try to find their missing child. And it was an all over disappointment. It was very fake in some parts and it didn't provide a good insight to drug addiction at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2007

    A reviewer

    this novel was unrealistic and over the top. drugs can destroy a person, but the process of destruction is vague, often we watch the main character go from perfectly fine and sober to high run away living on the streets in less than one entry. first she never wants to do drugs again and then the next entry she is berating herself and angry and once again high. where is the inner struggle to stay clean? it doesn't work like this. there are far far far better books about the dangers of drugs than this. it feels preachy without any of the grit that should be used to dissuade teenagers from trying and abusing drugs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2007

    I couldn't believe it at first....

    I read from numorous sites that Beatrice made up parts of this book, or well based it off other people. I have read all but one and am not sure which ones are really and which are made up anymore. For this book she said she based the book off many patients of hers, but personally I think that ruins it. Her books are still really good but for those who think it is based upon one person, think again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2007

    If only it were real...

    Well, even though the book claims to be real, it's not. And you can tell. 17-year-olds don't says 'I'm happy, happy, happy.' And there's a lot of detail and metaphors, which no one would write like that in a journal. The book contradicts itself a few times, but then again, it was written by some parents trying to keep kids off drugs. They wanted it to be read by kids, and probably assumed that a 14-year-old would be too stupid to notice the paradoxes. It's not all that exciting. Basically, girl accidently does drugs, girl tries to quit, girl runs away, quits, gets hooked, goes home, gets hooked, runs away, gets clean, goes home, stays clean for a while, overdoses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2007

    Not the best

    I had to read this book for school and I thought it would be more interesting than it really was. I read it in about two days, but that was only beacuse when I first started reading it, I didn't like it so i put off reading it until two days before I had to take the test so I had to. It wasn't very good compared to the books I normally read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    What a bore...

    I really expected something fantastic from all the positive reviews this book was given, but I have to say that I was very disappointed. The beginning of the book is, for lack of a better word, campy. She's a young, well adjusted teenager with just one little thing missing! The language is so ridiculous it made me roll my eyes at several points. Come on, do kids really express themselves like that? Once she discovers drugs, her diary entries take a drastic turn. She becomes this improper creature using slang like she's known it her whole life. Two diary entries before she was saying things like 'Oh diary, I DO hope I will be able to fit in at school. It would please mother and father so very much!' Well this transformation is supposed to represent the drastic toll drugs can have on your life. Okay, we get it. Did it need to be represented in such an annoying way? So, the moral of the story: Drugs are BAD! Even when you get clean and sober you might mysteriously die in the middle of the day, even after you've resolved all your issues. Drugs will come back to haunt you in ridiculous ways, blah blah blah.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2