Customer Reviews for

Go Ask Alice

Average Rating 4.5
( 1727 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1247)

4 Star

(291)

3 Star

(111)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

A Story to Remember.

I think that many people will appreciate this book and will find it helpful in understanding the life of a drug addict. This book makes people see the other side of an addict, they can really get to know alice in the book. And not just as a drug addit but as a person wh...
I think that many people will appreciate this book and will find it helpful in understanding the life of a drug addict. This book makes people see the other side of an addict, they can really get to know alice in the book. And not just as a drug addit but as a person who is struggling to be a better person for herself and for her family.

I think everyone should read this fantastic book.

posted by SamanthaRenae91 on April 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

I love your book!!!!!!!!

I think 'Go Ask Alice' is a great book. I hope that when teenagers read this book they'll know that drugs are bad and all the horrable things that it does to to. Thank you Beatrice Sparks for writting a great book.

posted by Anonymous on November 28, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting

    Heard about this a lot. Especially after reading Crank. So got this from the library and found it while interesting was a little slow. Later on though its a sad but you can't stop reading, sort of kind of read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Well i have not read this book, but to say the least, im very sc

    Well i have not read this book, but to say the least, im very scared to! it seems intrestting, and i do want to read it, but im kind of afraid. My older sister is 16, and she does drugs, shes being taken to rehab, because shes addicted. im affraid to find out the life of a drug user, because im sure this book would be very similer to my sisters real life. i do not know if this book would help me understand my sister more, make me hate her more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Ok

    This book was pretty slow. It had a couple good parts, and then the rest were just ehh. Normally i ca read books pretty fast, but i couldnt get through this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    the meaning is well, great.

    the meaning is well, great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Googish

    Don't get me wrong it was pretty good book and I love reading it. But when my dad told me about it and how great it was I thought it was going to be a fantastic book but I don't know it was just not what I thought it was going to be. It was a little disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Not as good as I hoped

    I bought this book because it was cheap on the Nook and because I remember from high school how everyone loved it. Although it did have a cool storyline, I think it could have been written better. Whenever she was on a drug, it didn't describe anything that happened and instead would pick up days later when she was sober again. And they put too much emphasis on this being a real diary, because it is NOT real! I was very disapointed to find that out. This is just one of those books that if you want to read it, get it from the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    I rate this as a "Good" because while the book is expr

    I rate this as a "Good" because while the book is expressed sympathetically, it is emotionally jolting. It is sad outlook of a poor girl who should deserve more love in her. I think people should read this to be aware that sometimes when you are upset with someone, you may have no idea what is really happening with them. It is like they are wearing a completely different mask when they are around. This shows the roller coaster that life takes us on, and it really does show who can handle the peril that smacks us in the face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    It didn't flow..

    But overall tells an interesting story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Very Interesting

    I've always wanted to read this because I heard it was just different and dark and you just feel for the girl. Well i definitely felt bad for the girl and her struggles and it just makes you think about all the other people in this world that face this very same problem even today. I thought it was very interesting and I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    A book Everyone should read

    "Go Ask Alice" is a story of a girl, Alice, who felt like a social outcast and because of this, Alice became more prone to peer pressure and unknowingly took drugs. Throughout the story Alice vows never again to take drugs but, as the story showed, hers was not the iron will. Alice tried time and time again but there was always something to lead her astray, whether it is her friends, fellow students, parties, or just Alice's own self wanting to appease her withdrawal or unhappiness. After a while, Alice all together succumbs to drugs and starts to sell herself for drugs, and she altogether abandons her old life for a life on drugs. Personally I relate to this story because I have encountered drugs and other illegal activities as were in the book, and it just showed me that when hanging around the wrong kind of people a person really has to be on their guard and that peer pressure is a terrible thing. I think everyone should read this book because it is a good story that I think will open the eyes of the reader and show everyone that drugs are really all around us, they are just hidden from view slightly under the surface. Anyone can be doing drugs and a person might not notice until something terrible happens. I recommend this book to anyone and everyone as this is a good read and a lot can be learned from Alice's mistakes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Good

    Read this when i was in highschool, sad its nine dollars here but i can get it free on my phone. This is a very honest story but great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Emotion-filled and surely a page-turner- worth a read

    I honestly thought this book was going to a dreary tale that ultimately ends with a comforting ending. I will not give away how the ending really was, but I will say that the whole book was a roller coaster ride from start to finish. This poor girl's encounter with boys, dieting and eventually drugs was a real heartbreaker. I also thought that the story was true and she was a real girl. However, after doing some research I discovered that this story was made up, which comforted me in a way. Regardless of whether it is true or not, this story of a fifteen year old drug addict is superbly written and truly appeals to the reader' emotions. One feels as if he or she is at a party with the diarist, meeting the people she meets, and feeling the way she feels. The diary format is perfect for conveying the thoughts of the main character and makes the book seem more personal. Much knowledge can be gained by reading the portions of the novel in which the main character is using drugs. The author uses many slang terms for the drugs the main character uses (i.e. "uppers," "downers," "dope," "acid"). Many of the characters are very relatable, and the situations are as well. Well, some of them. Many of us could imagine becoming distant from a close friend while she is away at summer camp, but few of us could imagine being drugged with heroin then raped. Ultimately the book feels unrealistic, as the main character makes the same mistakes over, and over, and over, and over, and over, and OVER again. When you think that it is a real story, it makes you angry and upset that a girl had to go through all of it, but you must remember that things like this have happened before to real people. In my opinion, no one is immune to peer pressure, so you really have to be careful. Overall an excellently executed work, but be wary if you are easily offended or very sympathetic, as you WILL cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    My counselor gave this to me. I enjoyed it immensly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    it was ok

    I was recomended to read this book but it was very to the point nothing special in my opinion but overall the reality of the story is good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    boring and slow, i dont understand.

    it was weird, but maybe just cause it was written in the sixties. i found it hard to appreciate the authors journal entries when it was sooooo slow and boring and just, i dont know. worth buying but i wouldnt reread it. im just, it had me confused and angry it was such a weird book. i dont even know if i reccoment it. it was boring, and slow. and UGH!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    Entertaining but reads like it's not believable.

    I've read this book a couple times. It's an easy read when you don't have anything new available and you're killing time - kinda like if you got stuck watching GMA or some boring show on t.v.
    Entertaining - very easy read and entertaining
    Not Believable - the story is so far fetched it reads like the old 'this is your brain like fried eggs' drug commercial. CHEESY!
    Tabloid - Kinda like reading the tabloid headlines from all those magazines at the grocery store check-out aisle.
    Recommend to read if you're bored and have nothing better to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    Schools should allow students to read this.

    The book was very true to life, and very realistic. It made me think twice about what the drug world really presents. The book is a good book for girls who are drug users to read so that they can see what could happen to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    good book if ur into that stuff

    this book is not meant to up lift or make u smile. i mean it has its moments when u wanna b proud of alice but she eventually makes u sad 4 her and or event mad at her. but all in all it is a good read and u will want 2 be like alice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    Go ask Alice

    It was an average book. I thought it was kind of boring but ok. Some of the events that happened in the book were pretty weird. This book would probably be a good thing to teach to teenagers, (freshman) because it really gives a good description and sort of paints a picture in your mind of what it would be like to be on drugs and what could happen to your mental and physical health from being on them, also how bad the cosiquenses can be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing

    this book tells alot about LSD nad ACID. all kids and teens should read this book. if most kids read it i think alot would not use drugs. so read this book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6