Customer Reviews for

Go Ask Alice

Average Rating 4.5
( 1728 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1247)

4 Star

(292)

3 Star

(111)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

A Story to Remember.

I think that many people will appreciate this book and will find it helpful in understanding the life of a drug addict. This book makes people see the other side of an addict, they can really get to know alice in the book. And not just as a drug addit but as a person wh...
I think that many people will appreciate this book and will find it helpful in understanding the life of a drug addict. This book makes people see the other side of an addict, they can really get to know alice in the book. And not just as a drug addit but as a person who is struggling to be a better person for herself and for her family.

I think everyone should read this fantastic book.

posted by SamanthaRenae91 on April 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

I love your book!!!!!!!!

I think 'Go Ask Alice' is a great book. I hope that when teenagers read this book they'll know that drugs are bad and all the horrable things that it does to to. Thank you Beatrice Sparks for writting a great book.

posted by Anonymous on November 28, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 292 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    Was this a real diary, or fiction?

    About halfway through this book I began to suspect this book was just fiction, intended to scare young people away from drugs. My suspicions arose because this wasn't written like a real diary and didn't sound like a real chronicle of events. Some examples: '1' Music is extremely important to most teens, so I would expect a lot of song titles, group names, and talk about going to concerts, but there was only one song reference--The Beatles' bland 'She's Leaving Home'--as if music never had much meaning for her. '2' The author was beaten up and raped while on drugs one night, but never mentions her recovery or lingering pains or bruises, as if it were just an 'Oh well' event to be forgotten. '3' There is a surprising lack of philosophy, as if she were just a spectator of events happening to her, as if she couldn't correlate or generalize her hard-earned lessons. '4' It is unrealistically focused. Real diaries have loads of irrelevant thoughts and incidents--trips to the dentist, TV shows, movies, new hobbies, cute guys who come and go quickly--but this story seems a little too simple and streamlined to be a sampling of real life. '5' Erroneous information about homosexuality. Twice the author gives examples of friends who 'went homo' after getting involved in drugs, which I don't believe happens. A person's sexual preferences are remarkably stable throughout life, so it looks to me that the writer got caught making a technical mistake regarding this old homosexuality myth of the '70s while trying to scare people away from drugs. '6' Her delight with marijuana seems backwards. After starting with LSD, which is one of the most extreme drug experiences, she enthusiastically talks about how marijuana was all that it was said to be. It seems to me that the effects of marijuana, which are often so slight that many people can't even tell they're high, would be a major disappointment for someone who liked LSD so much. And if she liked her LSD trip so much, wouldn't she be writing about it frequently afterwards, instead of moving on and immediately forgetting about it? There are similar descriptions that seem inconsistent and unrealistic to me. The end with the psych ward is more realistic, though, as was the on-again off-again battle against addiction. The end was very unexpected, but even that is suspicious: did nobody follow up to see what happened? Overall I think the book was realistic enough and important enough to be a good read, and I feel better believing this was a real diary, but I have suspicions to the contrary.

    20 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I liked it!

    I didn't expect it to be as well written as it was. It was also very interesting and poignant.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Teenage Must Read! - Go Ask Alice By Anonymous

    Go Ask Alice by Anonymous was a diary of a fifteen-year-old girl, named Melanie. She was like any other teenager that had a school crush, wanted to be popular, and was always conscious about the way she looked. When she was only fifteen she was slipped LSD in her drink at a party and she loved it. Throughout the entire book, she is caught in a vicious cycle of good and bad. She constantly battled the inability to handle drugs verses her yearning to be drug free. It got to the point where she would trade sex for drugs and eventually had to get help, even though the medical intervention was not the final answer. She finds that when she tries to give up drugs, everyone befriends her and her life is miserable with out them and resorts back to drugs. This situation basically makes it impossible to ignore the urge to use drugs.
    This book was fairly easy to read because it always kept me wanting to read the next page. This book is real and the character doesn't hold anything back. It's full of unexpected turns and I always want the main character to get through the situation. I loved this book because, sadly enough, I love reading about how other peoples lives are worst than mine. It made me realize how one drink at one party when you were fifteen can affect the rest of your life. It also made me realize that Melanie was just like me and my friends in how we worry about what others think about us, what our social status is, and how we look. I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in a story that will change your perspective on things that matter to you the most.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    You Should Read This!!!!

    This Book Go Ask Alice is a private journal from a patient who has went through it all. This little girl grows up alone in the world thinking everyone is against her. Drugs, sex, parties and much more is found in this book like you would find in the ¿real world¿. It is really interesting how she went through life with different obstacles, also that she was a victim to the party. I loved this book, I would recommend this book to any teenager wondering what the dark side of the real world is.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A definite mind opener.

    Go Ask Alice has recently become one of the most interesting and captivating books I have ever read. I found it very hard to put down the book once I began reading. Though the book is an easy read, I would not think any less of the story itself. This book really opened my eyes to the effects of drugs. And by the effects, I don't mean how you feel while you are on them, but the ridiculous addiction you can fall into just after one time. It really makes you think of those you know and love who have fallen into the pressure of doing drugs. Even if they say they can stop any time they want, this book makes it obvious that once you have done them there is no turning back. The book itself is a roller coaster. Just when you feel secure with "Alice" she throws you off with another crazy trip. Alice is constantly jumping back and forth between social groups trying to figure out where she belongs in it all. Go Ask Alice shows the struggle for a young girl just trying to find her identity in a harsh drug-filled world. The book can be quite graphic at times when it comes to certain descriptions of her "trips." This book is most definitely unforgettable and I would recommend it to anyone interested in books with such harsh content and could relate to the search for identity. I would not recommend this book to any young readers, for the content might be a little too mature for them to really take in. The book will have you thinking about your own life and your own identity for weeks.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Pretty good book

    I am a drug addict and felt this was well written along with being a true glimpse into an addicts head in some ways. However the reality is far more ugly and scary. It was a quick read too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2014

    its great!!!!!!!!!!!!

    its great!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

       Go Ask Alice - by Anonymous Having a book be so helpful and

       Go Ask Alice - by Anonymous

    Having a book be so helpful and understanding of different events i
    s one thing, but also being so eye opening is another. The story/ journal of a teen right around my age being so addicted to drugs is crazy. The stories and different events she went through just because of an addiction is so scary. It helps me become more aware and knowledgeable on the topic what to stay away from. My characters life spiraled completely out of control and tragically ruined her whole life. Sadly, I can take one persons tragic story and use it in my life as a great learning lesson for what I want for myself. I felt very attached to the characters story because I was also hoping for the best and wanted her to push through and try to get her life back on track. Even when she did it was a good feeling because feeling so connected I wanted the best for her. I found myself entering her life and understanding her story and lifestyle everyday. All the depth of it and secrets shared in the journal really put me in the story and feeling apart of it. Anybody who wants to learn a life lesson and likes those kind of books, even if they don’t I would still recommend it because of the crazy life lesson of drugs being so hurtful. It truly shows how it can mess up anyone’s life complete with just one time. I feel I will always take caution everywhere I go now because I am now informed and I cant relate and remember what bad can seriously happen.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Personally, I really enjoyed this book. The fact that I didn't k

    Personally, I really enjoyed this book. The fact that I didn't know the name of half the drugs she did, was crazy.
     Is it just me, or is this real? Her life was insane. This book really showed me the true side of drugs,
     and how it dose separate you from others, especially your family. It also amazes me that she left home.
     And and added bonus, she didn't even know where to go.
     I'm glad she went home after all of it. Personally, I could never be away from home as long as she was
     or even not see my parents for that long comparing what she did to what I would of done if I was addicted to drugs,
    would of been totally different from what she did. Maybe they will find another part
    of her diary, and it will be released, or someone will just add on. The story really left you hanging.
    I really liked this book, and would rate it  8 out of 10 stars. I only would take 2 stars away due to the fact that
     I didn't understand why she did the things she did. But that's just a personal view. I'm very glad I read the
     book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Go Ask Alice is about a young girl who turns her life to be cent

    Go Ask Alice is about a young girl who turns her life to be centered around drugs. The author is “anonymous” but there is a big controversy over whether it truly is or not. Beatrice Sparks is the supposed editor of this novel and it is presumed that the book is made up of different stories from different people from their drug experiences. Go Ask Alice is very unique in the way that “Alice” or the main character is presented. She has so many personality traits and it is easy for any teenager to connect with and bond with her. Although there are many things that are hard to understand about the book, such as how emotionally it changes from one emotion to the next and the diary entries are not consistent to one teenager’s feelings and attitude, but I feel that it gets the point across. The point is to target teenagers into understanding how getting affiliated with drugs will eventually tear your life apart and ruin you as a person.
    As you already know Go Ask Alice is about a 15 year old girl whose life ends up revolving around drugs which results with her dead from an overdose a little bit after her seventeenth birthday. The main character is a normal teenage girl at first who has trouble communicating with others and fitting in at school. Then, her family end up moving and a little after that she is slipped LSD into her coke at a gathering at someone’s house. She then becomes more curious as to what the drug world has to offer so she begins experimenting with other drugs such as marijuana, heroin, and speed. She ends up running away a few times but always finds herself back home. She decides to stop using drugs and is slipped LSD into a chocolate while she was babysitting and was sent to a hospital and eventually into a mental institution. After she is out of the mental institution she ends up going home and overdosing a few weeks after her seventeenth birthday.
    Throughout the book “Alice”, the main character, has trouble fitting in and communicating with others. Many students and teens are struggling with most of the same concepts she is dealing with, besides the drug problems. Alice is an easy character to get attached to even though you do not want to. You have a sudden glimpse of hope when she says she is going to stop using drugs but you get very disappointed when she goes back to using again. Everyone has that one thing that they say they are going to stop but they keep going back to it. Whether it be boyfriends/girlfriends, bad friends, or a bad habit, Alice is much like anyone else when it come to addiction. Alice can be looked at through many teens a model of what not to do and what can happen if you make choices that you know are not going to benefit you. That is what I think the point of this book is. To teach teens, not adults, what can happen in the chance you do something you know you should not be doing. This is a way for the reader to experience things without actually experiencing them. You start to understand everything that Alice is going through and you connect, in other words, you live Alice’s life, which I don’t know who would actually want to live her life. But that is not the point. The point is to help the reader learn something and to understand what can happen if you make the wrong choice.
    If it scares teens away from doing drugs then the book did its job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    Go Ask Alice was originally written as a non-fiction book by ano

    Go Ask Alice was originally written as a non-fiction book by anonymous.  It is said to be the actual diary of a fifteen year old girl and how her life turns for the worst.  This was set in the late 1960’s when doing drugs was the cool thing to do.  The diary belongs to Alice, a girl who yearns to be popular and fall in love like any typical high school girl.  It wasn’t until Alice was invited to a party where she drank a coke that was laced with LSD.  Once she found out she had been on drugs that night she began trying all sorts of drugs.  Her life turned for the worst, she was on her own personal rollercoaster with all the ups and downs that occurred in her life because of drugs.  A rollercoaster Alice would never want to ride again if she could turn back time.
    This book does an incredible job at describing the different effects of drugs both good and bad.  The bad definitely outweighs the good.  Not only does this book give the reader a good understanding of what a drug user’s life is like, but it also makes them aware and alert that it could happen to anyone.  This book is a warning to not use drugs.  Like they say it’s only fun in games until someone gets hurt.
    Go Ask Alice is mainly for a kids in both middle school and high school.  The book targets kids of that age group to make them aware of life and what could happen.  Those are the ages where there is a lot of peer pressure and people experimenting with unfamiliar things.  The reason this book was made was to make everyone aware of the cause and effects of drugs.  Just because someone is an adult doing drugs does not mean that the things Alice went through could not happen to them.  This was supposed to be a real diary of a fifteen year old girl who had fallen down a rocky path in her life.  Turns out the author, Beatrice Sparks, made it all up.  That does not mean that it does not happen to people every single day.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Worth Reading

    I love the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Great!

    Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Love this book

    This book deffinatly scared me out of
    Ever doing drugs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I honesrly loved this book.

    First off its temptation* not temtation lol. But ive found this book really interesting and a really good read, i would reccomend it to teens my age (17-18) maybe a little younger , overall its a great book about a young girls journey in thr drug world (drug abuse ).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    eye opening

    eye opening

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Really good

    Its not all its hyped up to be but its still pretty good and i reccomend it alot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Er Melanie

    What i liked about the sample is that when rojer and alis didnt talk to each other one day at school rojer said hi to her but she just kept on walking and she didnt anwser rojer and that she tried to forget him but she couldnt because she liked him a lot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Sounds good .

    Ummm well I read the sample but I didn't read the book. But so far it sounds good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    ? Just wondering (my star rating has nothing to do with the book

    Ive seen this book so many times and my friend is reading it. Is it any good??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 292 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15