Customer Reviews for

Go-Go Girls of the Apocalypse

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    excellent

    loved it really enjoyed it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Fun, fun, fun! Non-stop thrill ride through a post-apocalyptic

    Fun, fun, fun! Non-stop thrill ride through a post-apocalyptic landscape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    News..

    "Mort divorced?" Not.
    He never signed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Mort is NOT divorced.':-)

    Mort is NOT divorced.':-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Apocalyptic Fun!

    I absolutely loved this book! I've read a couple books about post-apocalyptic life (Dies the Fire, The Road) and this one was by far my favorite title of that genre. It doesn't compare to the absolute raw nature of the Road, but that's not what this author was going for. Think about it: A society based on strip clubs/whorehouses and alcohol. It's similar to the old west, but different, because those were just a part of the landscape, not the one shining aspect of life after the distruction of the government, decency and most of humanity.

    The main character, Mortimer Tate, is flawed and ridiculously unprepared for the hard life of world on the outside of his mountain hideaway where he's stayed for the past nine years in relative peace and quiet.

    I'm not going into the plot like others have done in their reviews, but the "ultimate quest" that he goes on is also a personal journey, not some far-fetched crusade as others have painted it. Oh, by the way, it's a book. If something extraordinary didn't happen in it, it wouldn't be worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful read!

    Very on the edge! A great book full of memorable characters. It has many twists & is just a very easy & good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Highly recommended!

    This book is a great new perspective on post apocalypse living! I really loved the quirky nature of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Go-Go Girls... who could ask for more

    Gischler did an awesome job. The whole book flowed really well. It was entertaining all the way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't Put it Down

    Here is another classic after civilization falls novel as good as Alas Babylon, Lucifer's Hammer or The Stand. Don't be fooled by the cover or the references to Quentin Tarrentino. It is actually a very entertaining and exciting read. Mortimer Tate went into hiding on a mountain as civilization was falling apart. When invaders come near his hiding place, he is curious to see what has happened to civilization and leaves to explore. He finds a new form of order where armed men with red stripe bands seem to attack everybody (reference to Russia and China?) and the only remaining vestige of civilization resides in clubs called Joey's Apocalypse.

    Mortimer meets a lot of interesting characters along the way. There is his new best friend Bill who wants to be a real life cowboy. There is Sheila the young girl who was imprisioned by a bad man that also captured Mortimer. Then there are bikers and pumpers (you need to read the book to understand) and there is the strong willed locomotive captain that nothing seems to faze.

    I do not want to give away any more of the plot but I will say that I finished the book in a couple of sittings because I really enjoyed it a great deal. Don't let the cover picture and title fool you that the book is something else like a title from a B movie from the late 50's because the book is not like that at all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    it's the end of the world...

    This book I picked up because the title caught my eye, and after starting it was a little slow at first but picked up with lots of action. It reminded me of a Tarentenio movie but as a novel. Lots of guns, liquor, girls, cannibals, and did I mention girls?
    If you liked Escape from New York, and L.A. and just want something different go for it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1