Customer Reviews for

Go Green, Live Rich: 50 Simple Ways to Save the Earth and Get Rich Trying

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Good if you know nothing about going green

    Was not worth my money. I didn't learn much that I didn't know before except about green travel. I was disappointed since David's other books are so great. I guess I didn't mind him getting my money since he has helped me so much with mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Good Premise but Just Common Sense

    I really like the idea behind this book, but I found it lacking. Most of the ideas were basic (change your lightbulbs to CFLs), or cost money to "get rich", so-to-speak (like going on a "green" vacation). I'm not really sure what I was looking for when I read this book, but I sure didn't get it. I guess I was hoping for ingenius ways to save money while being "green", but it seems like no one can tell you more than you already know. Reduce, reuse, recycle is the basic idea. I guess it's in the same vein as those diet books, really all the "new" advice just boils down to a basic principle of eating fewer calories than you expend. Probably a better idea is just to find a book on tips for living frugally and hope that being kinder to the environment is a byproduct.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    Nothing New for a Long Time Treehugger

    I was disappointed by how this book really didn't present any new ideas for me to live more green than I currently do - it just added dollar signs (which are already out of date - gas is now almost $3.50/gal where I live but Bach's computations are based on $3/gal). I was also unimpressed with the fact that the book is really just a long list of websites where you can learn more information - why not just publish a website and charge people to access it and save all that paper? If you don't currently recyle, bring reusable shopping bags and combine errands to save gas and you need an incentive besides saving the planet to implement these changes, you may find some new motivation here. If you are already a committed environmentalist, don't waste your money. Better yet, just check this book out from the library (as I did) to save resources...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    Go Green , Live Rich

    David Bach book contains many great ideas to not only save the environment but to also save money. Today in the US we spend over $30 million dollars a year buying bottled water. Many of these bottles contain tops that can not be recycled. He suggest that instead of buying water install a filter on your kitchen faucet. Another way to go green is to have companies stop sending us catalogues . You can go to optout on a google search to have them stopped. He also suggest to invest in Green Companies / Clean technology. He provides sites in his book for this. An easy way to save money is to buy in bulk. You can save up to 30%. These and many other good ideas are in this book. If you care about our earth and want to save money buy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    Win Win Solution for People and Planet

    David Bach gets it: we want to be rich, but many of us need incentive to live a green lifestyle. In Go Green, Live Rich, Bach shows us how acting in an environmentally responsible way can actually make us a lot of money and make us healthier. Bach writes: 'Going green is the most important issue that will shape our future.' By using less resources, buying less stuff, making our homes and transportation more energy efficient, we absolutely save money. The brilliance is taking that money and investing it. He writes: It's not what you earn that makes you rich or poor it is what you spend.' I wholeheartedly agree with this assessment and it sums up what I like so much about this book. Stop buying all that stuff and invest or contribute to green causes, instead. Bach provides dollar amounts for each of the 50 ways to go green: Improve fuel efficiency: $884 Seal leaks in home: $129 Lower thermostat: $85 Brownbag lunch: $ 1560 Total savings: $3758 Invest that savings (preferably in green businesses) for 30 years: $678,146 How cool is that? Bach shares how he began living a green lifestyle in the introduction: 'My own personal transformation to becoming more environmentally conscious began to happen when I moved into one of the leading green apartment buildings in the country. Funny enough, I decided to move there not so much because it was a green building but because it was located right next to my son's favorite park, where we spend lots of time together. But then something happened when I moved in and it stopped me in my tracks--my lifelong allergies began to improve along with Jack's asthma. I then began making more changes. I switched to green cleaning products, started using a green drycleaner, and even gave up my gas guzzling SUV. I soon noticed that I wasn't spending more money to make these changes--I was actually saving money.' There are 50 tips for greening your life, including: build green, bring your bags, clean green and take a volunteer vacation. One tip that happily surprised me was 'green your pet'. Bach suggests adopting from a rescue shelter to spare one of the 3-4 million dogs and cats that are killed yearly. In addition to that being the humanitarian thing to do, you will save money buying from a shelter instead of buying from another source. He goes on to suggest that you spend more money on quality food for your pet,(you can buy organic or make your own), something I think is crucial for their well-being. The extra money spent on food can be saved by not buying the mass-produced and potentially harmful toys. He suggests eco-friendly toys like tennis balls, instead. Bach writes:'I believe green investing will be to the 21st century what technology was the the 20th century,' and encourages readers to invest in green opportunities, businesses and services that will help the environment. Bach also encourages to contribute to green causes. I highly recommended this book. Improve the health of the environment, your family, yourself. Oh yeah--and grown rich! By the author of the award winning book,Harmonious Environment: Beautify, Detoxify and Energize Your Life, Your Home and Your Planet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1