Customer Reviews for

Go Long!: My Journey Beyond the Game and the Fame

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    Go Long is a Touchdown!

    Go Long by Jerry Rice is an autobiography about his life and sports career. Go Long is an excellent book and I give it five stars. The book is an overall view into his sports career as well as his personal life. The events are all in chronological order starting with his childhood. It is a perfect blend of football action and real life lessons. Though it is a great book I think it needs to be a bit longer to get more interesting information in. That is my only major dislike. It is one of my favorite books and I loved it. I wish more athletes would write more books like this. Though sports fans will probably enjoy it the most I recommend it to anybody who likes biographies or autobiographies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

         Go Long! the beginning of this book Jerry rice tell about h

         Go Long! the beginning of this book Jerry rice tell about his child hood life, he broke everything down in to great detail he was very open about his life in the book.  I felt as a reader that knew him personally after reading the first 20 pages. The first couple of paragraph’s I felt like jerry rice had a lot of random things he talked about  that didn’t have anything to do with he was accreting to the sentences before. The conclusion of the book didn’t really surprise me like I thought it would that’s something that I really dislike, because I always like a shocking ending. 
         Jerry rice was a very kind person in the book, and he always gives reader new level of success at really sky rocket pace. I wish he could show a lot more emotion when he was talking about his accomplishment. To me as the reader he never really took pride in what he accomplished as pro athletic.
        I really learned a big learn after reading this book, because I also play football even those Jerry Rice was a great player. He still suffered some of the some stuff all football players around county suffered   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Garret

    This book is a gret book amd it is pretty good for kids to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Huh?

    I look up rice ball for a food project and this comes up? Wow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Sabar

    Sigh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Tohru

    Tohru walked out. She saw a dog. She walked to it smileing "hello puppy."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Yuki

    Scowls back. And winces in pain. He holds his head.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Em

    Gtgtb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Kyo

    Waves to emily and scowls at yuki.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    Jerry Rice is the man!!

    I read this book and I was blown away. Jerry Rice was born in Mississippi to Joe and Eddie B. Rice, two native Mississippians. He liked to run in the late afternoons, when the temperatures were still over one-hundred degrees. One day, he decided to play hooky with a couple of friends during school. The principal saw him and Jerry took off running, eventually getting caught by the principal. The principal realized how fast Jerry was and told him he should play football, and thats when young Jerry Rice got started with football. He got recruited by schools like UCLA, USC, and LSU, but decided to go to Mississippi Valley State. What impressed Jerry about that school was the throw- happy offense and the scout that came to watch him play. His senior year, he caught 112 catches for 1,845 yards and 28 touchdowns, setting 18 I-AA records along the way. That enabled him to get drafted in the first round by the San-Francisco 49'ers. There Jerry Rice would end up being one of the best to ever play the game. He ended up catching 1,549 passes for 22,985 yards, and set an NFL record with 195 touchdown catches. In 19 seasons playing in the NFL, he lost only 10 fumbles. If you want to find a book that really inspires you, read this one. It takes you through his whole life, from laying bricks with his dad in the hot Mississippi sun to laying down NFL records. He also teaches you about playing with courage and respect. During his first couple years as a 49'er, everybody doubted him because he was too small and he came from a division 2 school with no competition. He didn't give up though, and he proved the media all wrong. Also he worked profusely at training for Dancing with the Stars, as much as 8 hours a day! Everybody said he couldn't dance at first, but he proved them wrong too by finishing in third place. I would recommend this book to all sports fans, and people wanting to be inspired by a role model.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2007

    Helps to be a Rice fan

    As a life-long 49ers fan I was ecstatic to see that Jerry Rice had finally penned an autobiography. However, although I enjoyed reliving Rice's golden moments of 49er lore and was touched by the descriptions of his wife's near-death experience while giving birth to one of his children, I was not that impressed with his writing style. I know it's a biography, and I know it's about him, but there are moments when I grew tired of his grid iron ego trips as in how some of his teammates from the dynasty era didn't give their all just like he did or didn't have the drive to be the best like he did. Oh, yes, and we all know he's still fuming from coming in second in 'Dancing with the Stars' because he's such the competitor. Is Rice the greatest receiver to play the game? In my book, the answer is an undeniable, yes. But sadly those talents didn't necessarily translate to a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2007

    Yes Sir

    This book is fun and enjoyable. If you like the number 80 as a player and as a person this is your book. It's always great to hear a GREAT players biography.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    I found the book to be enjoyable reading, especially his stories outside of football 'since I was familiar with the on-field events'. I would recommend it to any true fan of #80!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2007

    Athlete + Book = More Boring Sport Cliches

    Remember the boring biography of that popular athlete you read before? Here it is again. In the latest incarnation of the superstar athlete biographies, here is the one about Jerry Rice. This book is more propaganda than anything else. After halfway through it, I decided my time was better left for watching paint dry than finish this collection of sports book cliches. I'm glad I had my receipt to return it. This paints him as Mr. Funloving, which is true when the camera is on. You see the real Jerry if you ask him for an autograph with nobody else around. I guess he is still upset that fans did not choose him to win Dancing With the Stars. What a jerk he turned out to be. For a lifelong fan, I'm glad I saw his true colors. No more #80 stuff in my house. For a guy who makes a living on fans, it was remarkable to see a guy who obviously forgot that. It's too bad I'll never get back the time I spent reading the first half of this book. I hope it does not happen to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1