Customer Reviews for

Go Put Your Strengths to Work: 6 Powerful Steps to Achieve Outstanding Performance

Average Rating 3
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Your Strengths In Action

    From the author of "Now, Discover Your Strengths," comes this follow-up, "Go Put Your Strengths to Work," a medium-sized volume which aims to answer the question, "How can you apply your strengths for maximum success at work?" Well, its a six-step process as the book explains. <BR/><BR/>Step one looks at what's stopping you and makes sure you understand that capitalizing on your strengths is a whole lot better than worrying about your weaknesses. Step two helps you identify your strengths and weaknesses. Step three looks at how you can make the most of what strengthens you and discusses different strategies for volunteering your strengths to the team. Step four is cutting out what weakens you and is essentially a mirror image of step three. Step five is about creating a strong team and discusses talking about your strengths without bragging and talking about your weaknesses without whining. The last step, step six, hones in on building strong habits for long term carry over. <BR/><BR/>All in all it's a very readable book and those who liked his last two books will most likely find it useful as well. Other business titles readers may like include The Sixty-Second Motivator.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2007

    Insightful and practical

    I think I've read all of the Marcus Buckingham books so far, both when he was at Gallup and now that he's on his own. I've always enjoyed his insights, and I find the strengths-based approach to development extremely helpful in both personal improvement and in managing individuals and teams. Honestly, I picked up this title expecting a rehash of his previous work, so I was delighted to see him take a new turn with 'Go,...' - moving from theoretical insights to practical application. This is one useful book, taking the reader through six steps over six weeks to get a handle on where your strengths and weaknesses lie, and how you can spend more of your working life in areas where you can excel. If you haven't read 'Now, Discover Your Strengths,' I'd skip that title and just pick this up - you won't miss an insight, but you will learn how to apply it all. If you've already read the earlier title, this one still holds the key to using what you've learned, and it didn't feel redundant to me. Marcus Buckingham is maturing in both the breadth and depth of his work on strengths-based development, and this title pulls together his thinking in a way that is the most practical I've seen to date. Now that I'm working through the steps myself, I'll be buying copies for each of the folks I manage.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No Code in Nook version

    The book contains good information but I can not participate fully since I do not have an access code located on the inner cover. I have searched the document but can not seem to find where this might be located. I would recommend this book but not on the nook.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    Where's the nook book ID code?

    One of the first things is to get the book ID code from the back paper cover flap...well... you can't on the nook book. And it doesn't address this issue on the website. From there, you take the online quiz to assess your strengths.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Strengths Based Leadership

    This book is a must for anyone remotely considering a Leadership position, whether in a small medium or large company, shop, department,etc. This is not a query into Personality Traits, but delves deeply into what combinations of qualities exist in individuals and how to maximize these traits.... More than excellent... I just Wish Everyone's Boss could Read this Before it is Too late.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2007

    How to take charge of your work

    Marcus Buckingham is passionate about helping you identify your unique strengths and unleash their power. As you read and work your way through the program in this book, you will become convinced that growing through your strengths is the ticket to your future happiness, effectiveness and success. He refutes the approach of improvement by fixing mistakes as a dead end that cannot help you discover how you can be exceptional. The book constantly refers you to its associated Web site for materials that will help you work through the exercises. Buckingham wants you to act rather than just read a theoretical tract. Nothing presented in this book will help you without action and implementation. However, if you take up the challenge, you will become empowered as you take charge of your work through your strengths. We recommend this book because it contains just a few simple ideas that could change your life.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2007

    Missing Link

    This is the 'Lucy' of all the books that went before concerning strengths. Marcus provides some simple tools with the book that will take you a long way in using your strengths and he also helps you look for ways to get around your weaknesses. Gallup's books do a good job of helping you to come to terms with what your strengths are but they are not so good with helping you to use them. This book shows you how to use your strengths. I also highly recommend that you purchase the DVD - Trombone Player Wanted. It is a highly original story that make Marcus's point crystal clear. I have watched the DVD at least three times in a two week period. It is excellent!!!! BUY THIS BOOK!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2007

    Your Strengths In Action

    From the author of 'Now, Discover Your Strengths,' comes this follow-up, 'Go Put Your Strengths to Work,' a medium-sized volume which aims to answer the question, 'How can you apply your strengths for maximum success at work?' Well, its a six-step process as the book explains. Step one looks at what's stopping you and makes sure you understand that capitalizing on your strengths is a whole lot better than worrying about your weaknesses. Step two helps you identify your strengths and weaknesses. Step three looks at how you can make the most of what strengthens you and discusses different strategies for volunteering your strengths to the team. Step four is cutting out what weakens you and is essentially a mirror image of step three. Step five is about creating a strong team and discusses talking about your strengths without bragging and talking about your weaknesses without whining. The last step, step six, hones in on building strong habits for long term carry over. All in all it's a very readable book and those who liked his last two books will most likely find it useful as well.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Disappointing - but good title!

    This book covers nothing new and it bogs you down with meaningless percentages. It is similar to going to a poor movie sequel. I will probably fall into the high 'percentage' of readers that will find the book to be of little help. A waste of money and time - originality is obviously not a prerequisite for writing new books.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2