Customer Reviews for

Go Small or Go Home

Average Rating 4.5
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING!

    I first read Love, Life and a Polar Bear Tattoo by this author and feel in love with that book. I decided to read this because I enjoyed her other book so much. You just really fall in love with the characters. I could not put it down. I read it in about 4 hours. If you love a good romance story with its up and downs then you will really love this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    Loved it!

    I loved this book so much! I feel like I know the characters... I WISH I knew the characters. I became so involved with their stories...and am kind of sad that I wont ever see them again. Ms. Wardell is such a wonderful artist. This is the second of her books that I' ve read and she has yet to disappoint. i have her other 3 books waiting and i cant wait to start the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    Wonderful Read

    I absolutely love Heather Wardell's books! Go Small or Go Home was a wonderful read! Her characters are deep while being realistic and easy to relate to. I stayed up all night just to finish reading this book in one sitting!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book

    I have read all of Heather Wardell's book and this is my favorite. I love the characters and the story. If you are a fan of Heather Wardell's I don't think you will be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book has been on my tbr list for so long I guess I was a li

    This book has been on my tbr list for so long I guess I was a little afraid to read it in case it didn't live up to my hopes. I was a little hesitant because I had read another book, but wasn't very impressed. But this book was awesome! I can't believe I waited months to read this!




    Tess is a massage therapist and is trying to get her career as an artist going. Forrest is a hockey player who is recuperating from a devastating accident. Both have scars and are fighting inner demons. Forrest's career is on the line and Tess wants to help heal him physically and emotionally.




    This book captured my attention early and held it. All of the characters were well developed. I loved how there was this mystery of who was trying to hurt Forrest and how even though there were the obvious suspects it wasn't an open and shut case.. All in all, it was great overall, and I will not hesitate to read any of Heather Wardell's titles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    Loved this book! Read the first book in this series and thought

    Loved this book! Read the first book in this series and thought it was really good, I didn't want it to end so I picked up the next book. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Great!

    Though not necessarily a sequel, it sure is a fantastic follow-up to Life, Love and a polar bear tattoo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    My favorite Wardell book!

    Heather Wardell is my favorite new author. She takes the emotion of Anita Shreve, the relationship development of Jodi Piccoult, and the romance of Nicholas Sparks, and puts them all together to create books that are impossible to put down. I really enjoyed Wardell's Planning to Live so I was looking forward to Go Small or Go Home.

    I liked Go Small or Go Home even better than Planning to Live! I made the mistake of starting this book in the middle of the week and I dropped everything to finish it. Wardell drew me in right from the start and I simply could not put this book down. I don't think I talked to my husband hardly at all for the two days I spent reading this book. I did manage to go to work, but all I could think about was, "When can I sit down and read more?"

    Wardell writes about women trying to balance a career, their personal dreams, and finding love. Her female leads are strong women who are in the process of self-discovery. Go Small or Go Home features a driven woman who has a hidden passion and who finds love unexpectedly. Tess is a massage therapist who takes a job working for a hockey team. She knows nothing about hockey and is unimpressed by the celebrity of the team's injured star player. Tess dreams of having an art career and starts having trouble balancing her responsibilities to the team with her art.

    What made this book for me was the emotion. It was a powerful read without being schmaltzy or preachy. I felt for Tess and rooted for her the entire book. I would recommend this book to anyone. It is adult fiction, but it is not full of bedroom scenes like so many other adult books. This book was outstanding, and I will definitely be reading more from Heather Wardell.

    Just One Gripe:
    I would have liked more physical descriptions. I found myself wanting to go back and remind myself of what the characters looked like.

    The Best Thing About This Book:
    The emotion and the way Wardell develops her relationships. Not only is the relationship between the two main characters well-developed, the minor relationships are important too, and Wardell weaves them all together seamlessly as part of the bigger story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Good Read!

    I really enjoyed this book! It is a very heart warming story. I have enjoyed several of Wardell's stories and I'm looking forward to reading more. Like the others I just couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Warm and Fuzzy.

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Amazed Again

    Heather Wardell you are my new favorite author! I couldnt put this book down but now i'm sad its over. I felt like i knew the characters personally which i love. Vivid details brought the story to life. I found myself falling in love with forrest. LOL cant wait to read the next one. Just enough passion and romance without being over the top. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    Actually About a Hockey Player, and an Artist...

    Again, more background characters from Wardell's other books...
    I like re-visiting them...in an easy, quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    I loved it!

    This was such a good book! I can't wait to read the other three. Great job Heather! Write more books! I am such a fan now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    VERY disappointed :(

    I did not enjoy this book at all- I was so excited to read it b/c it had such good reviews! It was boring and not what I was expecting at all. I think it needed a little more romance and I would have liked to see/read things from the main male characters view. I NEVER comment on the things that I read, but I felt that I had to with this one. :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    Another fun read

    Got hooked on Heather Wardell's books after reading Life, Love and a Polar Bear Tattoo. This is another good book - the characters have real-life flaws and are somewhat quirky, not too goody-two-shoes or downright bad; just enough romance without being a Harlequin romance; satisfied all the requirements for a great destressor (is that a word?)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Lovely Romance

    Tess is a massage therapist who dreams of becoming a successful artist. When she gets the assignment of treating a professional hockey star, suffering from stress, she never expects her artistic career to take off as well. However, Forrest's mother happens to own an art gallery and he's more than happy to recommend Tess, especially since she's been so helpful to him. Tess' art begins to suffer under the extreme restrictions and deadlines she's given. At the same time, Forrest seems to be the victim of someone out to sabotage his career. As Tess and Forrest's careers seem to be spiraling downward, their relationship moves closer into something neither one expected. This is the story of two people fighting outside forces, and sometimes themselves, as they try to grasp the dreams they seek. I absolutely loved Heather Wardell's writing style. Her words flow so beautifully and her story has so many layers to it. It's filled with emotion, romance and even a little mystery sprinkled throughout the story. It's a fast-paced read that has you hooked from page 1.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    Highly recommend this book!

    I loved this book! I fell in love with the characters. It's nice to see flawed people and relationships. I read this book in about 2 days, I couldn't stop reading once I started!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    Great book!

    The author really pulls you into the story. I've read three of her books and have loved them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    I had read "Life, Love and a Polar Bear Tattoo" and loved that one so I was thrilled to find this one by the same author. I had trouble putting this down and found the ending is unexpected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5