Customer Reviews for

Go for the Goal: A Champion's Guide to Winning in Soccer and Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2007

    Amazing!!!

    You should defintly read this book!!! It teaches not only soccer but more about her and life lessons she learned. This book was more than outstanding!!! I was never bored while reading this book!!! You need to read this book! It was sensational!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    If you want to know more about Soccer this is the book for you!

    Go for the Goal is a motivating book written by Mia Hamm; a huge role model for young girls who want pursue they're soccer dreams. She is well known for her amazing talent as a soccer player and teaches young athletes lessons and ways to help them succeed on and off the field. Throughout the book she talks about the mental and physical parts of the game, the consistency on and off the field and of course the love of the game. She made me realize that even the best athletes have struggles of their own and still manage to find ways to overcome them. Major messages or themes I got out of this book was the soccer aspect of the book. She talks about how the fun of the game kept her going as was always there to cheer her up or get her mind off things. She has also said that it is a team effort from start to finish and that really stuck with me. Soccer is a game of teamwork and without that it's not a team and I think she really got that point across to the readers. I've also learned a lot from her regarding the mental part of the game. She says that, "To focus mentally after my brother's death was one of the biggest challenges I've faced." Soccer was the one thing that kept her going and for someone so talented like her to keep going shows that you need support and love going with you the whole way to keep you mentally focused. Overall, I think this was a really good book and I think that many people can get different qualities and lessons out of it. One thing I think she could've explained more was her childhood and her life outside of soccer. She was very dedicated to soccer but it would be interesting read what other hobbies or activities she enjoyed doing. If you want to read about an remarkable player and her views this is a great book for you! It's a good book for young teens and would help them learn more about the game. I enjoyed reading this book and would definitely recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2006

    Inspirational

    The book is about Mia Hamm who helps people want to be champions. The book also talks about her life and how to be a better soccer player too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2001

    Awesome!

    This Book is Great. It not only gives a great description of Mia and Her Life, but it also instructs you on the game of soccer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2000

    this is the best book

    i would tell everyone to go buy the book and read it. i know pretty much everything about her since im her cousin. i have been doing research on her everysince i found out that we were cousins. but if you dont have the book go buy it i recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    AWESOME

    This was a great book about mia hamm and her life. I would highly recomend this book for girls from age 10 to 14. Keep playing soocer. Go Mia Hamm

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Light, Inspiring, and Perfect for Young Soccer Players Becoming

    Light, Inspiring, and Perfect for Young Soccer Players

    Becoming the coach for my daughter's soccer team has been incredible fun. I was shocked to realize that several of the girls were not familiar with Mia Hamm and when looking for a way to share with them her inspirational story, I found this book. It is perfect for their age group, being 11-12 year olds. In a voice that is easy to read, she teaches how to be a champion on/off field by playing the game of life with heart and dedication.




    So far, I have heard from several happy parents who say that their daughters are more confidence in making their dreams reality. I couldn't be happier! When I was younger, Mia was such a role model.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    You gotta read this book if you love soccer and want to excel in soccer and everyday life!!!

    Go for the Goal is an inspiring book written by the "greatest women's soccer player on the planet" (Mia Hamm), that teaches young women and children that anything is possible, and provides them with a guide to winning in soccer and life. This is a story about Mia and her experiences in soccer over the years, and some tips she gives to her readers along the way to become successful in all aspects of life. Mia starts off with her early years of soccer and when she really developed her love for the game. She goes through all the technical and tactical aspects of the game, giving young girls tips on how to excel on the field. She does a fantastic job of explaining how soccer is both a mental and physical game and how to become a winner on and off the field. There are many important themes and messages displayed throughout this book, but the ones that really stuck in my mind were the ones specific to soccer because that's what was most important in my mind. Mia continuously states how important teammates and family are. When Mia was going through her brother's death her teammates were so supportive, she says,"There's no way I could have some back without their support and love, and I will always be grateful." On the soccer side of things, reoccurring themes in the book are: teamwork, practice makes perfect, love for the game, hard work, 70% mental, studying the game, and confidence. I love this book so I really didn't dislike a whole lot but I think that Mia was a little modest and in being modest it almost made her seem cocky because it wasn't believable. She talks a lot about Technical skills towards the end of the book and bunches it all together and it gets very repetitive. Less technical talk or spreading it out more would have made the book more enjoyable. Likes, on the other hand, I had quite a few of; I like how she ties everyday life lessons in with soccer lessons. I like how after explaining how to improve on skills she gives examples of drills that she has done over the years. I really enjoy how she uses her teammates and specific things they have done in actual games as examples and gets quotes from them to back up her points. Lastly it's very surprising but refreshing to hear from Mia Hamm, "The greatest women's soccer player" that there needs to be a balance between soccer and other hobbies and that everyone needs a break from soccer sometimes. Anyone who likes soccer and wants to know secrets on how to make goals come true, or anyone that just wants to learn more about soccer should read this book. Anyone that is not interested in sports and doesn't want to read about soccer should not read this book. There aren't any other works I would recommend but I highly recommend reading Go for the Goal!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    Perfect gift for the soccer buff!

    I gave this to my niece for her birthday. She is very picky when it comes to her reading. She plays on a travel soccer league. She loved it. She read it back and forth between her games. She said it gave her lots of good tips and was just fun to read. She finished it within a week which she has never done with any book. Mia needs to write more books for young girls. It was a great purchase.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2006

    Mia's book is the best book ever!!!!!!!!!

    i love soccer so this is a perfect book!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2006

    Totally Inspirational!

    This book taught me how to be and play my best on the field and taught so many great things about soccer.One of the best books I've ever read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2006

    Just about the best soccer book ever

    This book really shows you how the game works. It showed me just how dedicated one has to be to emerge as a champion-not just in sports, but also in life. The book is so dynamic and inspirational that it's as if Mia's right there teaching you the basics-and sharing a bit about her story as well. A must read for anyone serious about soccer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2004

    A book that shows you how hard you need to work to achieve your dreams and that if you work hard, anything you want to achieve is possible!

    Mia Hamm teaches you the different technical skills of soccer such as trapping, shooting, passing, and dribbling. She talks about how important her brother was to her life ~ what an inspiration he was to her, even though he died. She is such an inspiration to young girls...she wants young girls to achieve the same things that she has a acheived...such as World Cup and Olympic gold medals. She teaches you that the team not the individual is imporantant. This book is extra special, the first quote before the book begins, sets the tone for the story. This quote is from Anson Dorrance when he saw Mia Hamm doing sprints on her own, 'The vision of a champion is someone who is bent over, drenched in sweat, at the point of exhaustion, when no one else is watching.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2003

    Wishing I still was with my ex, so I could give this book to her.

    I loved this book. It does have many valuable facts about life. Mia Hamm is a great role-model for many ppl. My ex plays soccer and she would love to read this book, but I'm afraid she won't accept it. I really don't know what she'd do, to be honest with ya. But, I liked it and I'll consider giving it to her or buying her another one. It was a very good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2002

    my input on Mia's story

    This is all my own input on Mia's book, Many people may not like this if you aren't a very big soccer fan... but it still has alot of inspirational quotes and stuff from her heart that can help any athlete.Some things I really liked about this book was that Mia highly enforced the fact that anyone can be a champion they just have to "want" it!Mia inspired me so much in this book that i read it more then 1 time...When i was having personal problems with my soccer team i read the part in the book over and over about respect and how much respect she has for her coaches and teamates.Mia Hamm is my idol, and this book acaully made me understand what Mia Hamm was all about

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2001

    THIS BOOK ROCKS!!!

    This book really helped me on a term paper. I was doing it on Mia Hamm. It gives great facts on her. Mia shows you some of her moves and what it was like for her to get where she is at now. I totally recommened this book to anyone interested in Mia Hamm or soccer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2000

    A gReAt SoCcEr BoOk

    it's awsome for anyone who really wants to learn more at soccer,or who wants to get better.It includes tips from other players of the U.S. Womens Team,and tips from Mia Hamm.REMEMBER:SOCCER RULZ!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2000

    this was a very inspiring book

    this book really does help you mentally and it brings your confidence way up on the field and off the field. I relly do recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2000

    Outstanding and really touching

    I think that this book is really great. It gives you the impact on the life of a real soccer star, written by no other than Mia Hamm. One reason I really liked this book is because I love Mia Hamm, and she is the best! Anyway, soccer rules, and the book is just wonderful. It really brought me to be a better soccer player today.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2000

    It's Perfect........

    'It is a great book,' personally Mia Hamm is my idol.I would pay big money to talk to Mia Hamm.If any of you know anything that I don't about Mia Hamm I will pay you. E-mail me and tell me.They should write another!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2