Customer Reviews for

Go the F**k to Sleep

Average Rating 3.5
( 804 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(378)

4 Star

(143)

3 Star

(90)

2 Star

(58)

1 Star

(135)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

175 out of 187 people found this review helpful.

Sounds Hysterical!

I am writing this largely to balance out the first reviewer's harsh, humorless remarks. The first reviewer (anonymous) posted that the book will only be read by ignorant people and that the publisher should re-think publication. I would like to point out that if one wer...
I am writing this largely to balance out the first reviewer's harsh, humorless remarks. The first reviewer (anonymous) posted that the book will only be read by ignorant people and that the publisher should re-think publication. I would like to point out that if one were to actually read the review from the publisher, they actually recommend this book not be read to children. The sample verses are funny and remind me of other joke children's books such as "Daddy Drinks because you Cry." I hope the author and publisher continue this into a series that grows up with the kids including titles "Go the F*** to school already" and "Pre-Teen Girls, Stop dressing like Wh**es"

posted by ptalarczyk on April 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

148 out of 150 people found this review helpful.

Download Go the F**k to Sleep For Free

Download Go the F**k to Sleep For Free From Here goo.gl/xOF2W

posted by 9798672 on October 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    Only works on NOOK color

    Now that there are several versions of NOOK, you need to click the link
    "Read exclusively on these devices & apps" so the web page expands that section. You won't get a refund so it's best to check.

    8 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    Don't waste your money

    Don't waste you time or your money. I read the reviews and against my better judgement i bought it and now im so mad that i wasted my time and money on this. Its not funny. I'm not saying that parents do not get frustrated but come on. This is way out of line and there is no humor at all in the book. I do not recomend this book at all or ever. If you feel this way about your kids then perhaps you shouldn't have had them in the first place!

    8 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    Waste of money

    All you have to do is read the title and you've read the book. I'd save that money for a latte.

    7 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    KEEP AWAY FROM YOUR CHILDREN AT ALL COSTS!

    I stumbled across this book on Amazon and thought it looked cute, so I bought it to read for my four-year-old at bedtime. I was looking forward to receiving it, but when I opened up the package, I was horrified to see a sleeping child surrounded by tigers. Children should not sleep in the presence of tigers. Tigers are dangerous! Had I noticed the tigers on the cover from the start, I never would have purchased the book. I thought they were just really big cats from some magical land like Oz or The Magical Land of the Really Big Cats.

    I should have thrown the book straight in the trash after seeing the cover, but I'm not exactly made of money so I taped a page from a newspaper to hide the cover from Max and read it to him later that night. I started reading it and it was really great, but then I got to the last sentence on the first page and was horrified! I've never read such filthy language in a children's book. I wanted to stop reading. I NEEDED to stop reading. But Max is the pushiest four year old I've ever met so he wouldn't let me stop reading.

    I read more and more of the book and felt intense nausea, but I had to continued because Max would have would have squirmed away and told me that he hated me if I stopped reading before the end. The publisher of this book should be ashamed of themselves for publishing such filth. Not a page went by without one usage of the f-word. And there was even one page with the word for excrement!

    Page after page. A few of them even had children playing with tigers like on the cover! I'm mortified that Max will leave the house and spend the night sleeping in the zoo surrounded by deadly predators rather than sleep in his room surrounded by his 27 teddy bears. And then there's that page with the child falling through the air attached to a parachute. Oh my Lord! I don't know what's more dangerous: a child spending time with tigers or jumping out of a plane to go skydiving.

    This horrible book is only 18 pages, but it felt like an eternity while I was reading it. I'm surprised I didn't have a heart attack before I finished reading its last obscene sentence.

    And then I saw the final page with the biographical data of the evil evil men who wrote and illustrated the book. I didn't read it aloud to Max because it always angers him whenever I accidentally read a page like this. But I was shocked...absolutely shocked to learn that not only did the author have a filthy mouth and advocate putting small children in dangerous situations, but he is also an anti-Semite. Even worse than an anti-Semite. He is a proponent for the extinction of all Jews. I will never, ever read his book, The End of the Jews, especially to Max. At that moment, I felt like I had just read a children's book written by Adolf Hitler.

    Shame on you, Amazon! Shame on you for your false advertising. You are to blame for not listing the book's actual title. How was I supposed to know what the book was actually called when you censored the title's filthy word? I never thought anyone would use THAT word in a children's book title. I thought it was a Sumerian word or something. I thought the book would be educational. Teach Max a few words from an ancient language before he went to sleep. But no--instead he's been talking like a hummus and salsa factory worker ever since I made possibly the biggest mistake of my life.

    5 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    DO NOT BUY FOR NOOK SIMPLE TOUCH!

    I just bought my new Nook Simple touch and was sooo excited. I purchased a handful of books online and was wondering why THIS book did not update on my nook. After many searches and attempts to problem solve, I looked up the author on the Nook (searching for this title with it's sensored letters is difficult). My nook says, "Sorry, this content is currently not supported on this Nook(TM)." SO WHY IS IT LISTED AS A NOOK BOOK? Save yourself a headache...I'm sure getting a refund will NOT be easy.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Awful!

    This is absolutely the biggest waste of money I have ever encountered. This is the only negative I have had on Nook. I think just offering this puts B&N in a bad light. I thought this was probably humor about a child that doesn't sleep. This is just 10 very stupid short poems. It showed 20 pages. Every other page is blank and it only goes to 19. DON'T waste your money on this.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Waste

    Not too thrilled about the horrible title. Glad i did not waste my money. Thank goodness for reviews!

    3 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    I want my money back

    Funny, yeah. But not worth the $5 spent. I could have bought a real book for less or even have down loaded a bunch for free.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Only pay .99

    Not worth much more than that, didn't laugh out loud once

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Most expensive book per page I ever bought

    Ridiculous, a refund is in order. If I hadn't already wasted enough time reading it, I would count the words to get a per word price. 20 pages, each one one at least a third taken by a picture.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    Wake up

    This is an incredibly offensive and dehumanizing book. Since when is the verbal abuse and neglect of children funny? If this book targeted Muslims or even the pet dog instead of children, I doubt it would be published. Wake up society! This book clearly promotes an atmosphere of hate and hurt instead of love and peace. Stop the cycle of abuse.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Funny adult read. But not worth buying

    Not for eInk readers and certainly not to be read to children

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!

    What a waste of 5 bucks! 14 pages of dumb rhymes - after the first 2 they were all the same. 99 cents would have been stretching it for this piece of doo! Sophomoric wit is OK once - but not a dozen variations of the same theme...DUMB!! One star is generous - they don't let you give ZERO!

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    I'm not amused.

    I am a parent. My daughter had a great deal of difficulty going to sleep and staying asleep when she was very young. Back then I worked the late night shift and oftentimes when I got home around midnight, she would wake up shortly thereafter and remain awake for hours. I averaged about 3-4 hours of sleep a night. But those quiet hours laying in bed with her looking out of the window at the moon and the stars are priceless and I would give anything to be able to go back and relive just one of those nights. I can assure you this, at no time did I ever think such harsh thoughts towards her. Children are precious and they don't stay little for very long. We should not degrade them as this book does for laughs... or for profit.

    2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Offensive

    The struggle for sleep is a trial all parents can relate to, but this is vulger, offensive, and evidence of a bitter and miserable parent. I feel bad for his kids.

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    WHAT???

    Am I missing something?? Fifteen or so bedtime rhymes with the word
    f**k for $4.95?
    That's pretty much what I said when I realized what I paid for!!!!!

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Free wouldn't be cheap enough.

    This book was offensive. I'm disgusted I paid money for it and I'm more disgusted that this "author" (and I use the term VERY lightly) will receive money for such utter crap.
    Save your money, and the five minutes it will take to read this. It's not worth the paper it's printed on and free isn't cheap enough for this essay.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Tasteless

    And, YES, I am a parent. Nice artwork, though.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Evidence that overwhelmingly today's parents are selfish and impatient

    I've raised five kids and never, in all the years of putting them to bed ever thought "go the f**k to sleep." Because if I can't handle kids being kids, I should raise parakeets not children. You wanted time to yourself? What the f**k did you think would happen when you had children?

    2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Image disappointment

    I was so excited to find that this was available for download and decided to preorder. However, I was extremely disappointed when I actually received the download. The book is great, very funny but the actual download is not so good. I assumed that the download would be like a children's book and the pages would be full color, like the actual book but for some reason the pages are a very small image at the top of the page and the wording is displayed in black and white as a novel is. VERY unhappy.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7