Customer Reviews for

Go the F**k to Sleep

Average Rating 3.5
( 803 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(377)

4 Star

(143)

3 Star

(90)

2 Star

(58)

1 Star

(135)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

173 out of 185 people found this review helpful.

Sounds Hysterical!

I am writing this largely to balance out the first reviewer's harsh, humorless remarks. The first reviewer (anonymous) posted that the book will only be read by ignorant people and that the publisher should re-think publication. I would like to point out that if one wer...
I am writing this largely to balance out the first reviewer's harsh, humorless remarks. The first reviewer (anonymous) posted that the book will only be read by ignorant people and that the publisher should re-think publication. I would like to point out that if one were to actually read the review from the publisher, they actually recommend this book not be read to children. The sample verses are funny and remind me of other joke children's books such as "Daddy Drinks because you Cry." I hope the author and publisher continue this into a series that grows up with the kids including titles "Go the F*** to school already" and "Pre-Teen Girls, Stop dressing like Wh**es"

posted by ptalarczyk on April 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

148 out of 150 people found this review helpful.

Download Go the F**k to Sleep For Free

Download Go the F**k to Sleep For Free From Here goo.gl/xOF2W

posted by 9798672 on October 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    I can't stop laughing!

    As a grandmother of 7, I can't stop laughing! So true; so funny! Wish I'd had this over 40 years ago when my kids were small - it would have provided some comic relief to a desperate Mother. Yesterday one grandson pulled the sleepless nap routine for 1.5 hrs until I finally gave up all hope! I'm reserving books for the whole family! Enjoy the read; if you don't enjoy it, maybe somebody needs a nap! You.

    26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Inner thoughts of parents....absolutely!

    Yep - been there, done that....used a little different language, but the thoughts were pretty much the same. I really wish publish date was a little earlier...my 35 year old's birthday is the 12th! Maybe a belated gift for this father of a 5 year old?

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    A word of warning...

    I bought the Nook Book only to find it would not work on an iPad or a PC - it only works on the Nook Color. I guess I had fallen into the trap of thinking Nook Books could be read on any client. Not having a Nook Color, I'll have to hope they update the book. Not nice B&N!

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Funny & short

    A nice bedtime story for the adults!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Funny...

    While I agree this book is quite amusing, I should have bought it in paper format. It's high priced for 19 pages.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Cute For Adults

    While the book was cute for adults only and was extremely relatable, I somehow wanted something a bit more.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    Too damn funny!!

    Took it to a baby shower for second-time parents. It was a big hit. Lighten up people. We have all had these thoughts when kids wouldn't sleep. Be honest.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Go the f*** to sleep

    Admittingly funny, but I was so disappointed that there was only 19 pages or poems. I thought this was a novel of some sorts and definitely wasn't worth the price paid. It should be noted that these are a collection of bedtime poems not recommended to read to your children but just for your amusement. Granted I LMAO on a couple of the prose but was so disappointed when it ended so abruptly.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    It is funny!

    It is hilarious, but I wish I had come across the info ( before I paid for it ) that it was only 20 pages. Boo! Waaaay to short! Live & Learn

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No I don't have children......

    .....but I have grandchildren(step) and I can relate to what the author is saying. Believe me, I have felt that way more that once trying to get them to sleep. The hilarity of the book deserves at least 4 stars, but in good conscience, I gave it 3. Mainly because I don't think the title should be displayed in it's entirety on the website for just anyone (and I'm talking children) to see. At the least, it should be "f**k". At least Amazon had the taste/class to display it that way on their site.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Recommended for all parents of young children.

    Loved reading thoughts I had when my child was young. Who hasn't felt the same way?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    For anyone who has spent an evening getting a toddler to bed. Too funny!

    This book is for adults who have spent many a night trying to get a small child to bed. Oh the frustration of it all! This book will at least make you feel you are not alone! Now that my children are teenagers I feel there should be another book written entitled Get the **** up already! Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Funny, but not what I expected

    I didn't realize this was a poem. It's only 20 pages long, and every other page was not visible on my older nook. I thought this was going to be an account of funny and frustrating parenting moments that the author experienced. It was hilarious as written, just not what I expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Me

    If you want to read it just get the full book and not the sample. You only get like five words of the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Alright

    It was some what funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Hilarious

    Can't stop laughing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    Recommended- BUT BUY THE HARD COPY- DO NOT GET THE e-BOOK VERSION

    I found this book very funny, but I was very disappointed because 1) it was too short. That is problem I have with ebooks. They do not have a page number. Showing how much memory the book takes up does not necessarily show the length of the read. 2) There should be a disclaimer for those who might buy it for the Simple Nook. It's an illustrated book and cannot be appreciated on that device. But I do agree- anyone who is a sleep-deprived parent can relate. The book is not recommending that you actually curse your child. It's meant to entertain tired parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun book; only a fair ebook

    The author pokes fun at what parents, aunts/uncles, grandparents, babysitters, etc., face when it's bedtime for the little ones. It brought several chuckles as zi read it the first time, and I know I'll read it again. It didn't convert well to an ebook, though. The art looks good on my nookCOLOR, but it's apparent in several places that it was scanned from a physical book rather than being pure digital content (especially the page where the tape is visible). As for an "enhanced title," I'm not sure what the additional digital content is supposed to be, but I couldn't find any.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    Loved it in that naughty parent stuck inside you kinda way!

    Read this in private so as not to alarm anyone when you laugh from deep within and very loud! Its the scary kind of laugh! This is something that every middle of the road parent has dared to secretly think on those really long nights! Worth the price!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    read if you currently have young children

    disappointed since the editorial review made it sound like it would be funny for all mothers, regardless of the age of the children. Mine are full grown but I am a techer and thought it would make me laugh. didn't happen yet amusing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5