Customer Reviews for

Goat: A Memoir

Average Rating 3.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Goat

Land has really written a piece of art. The stream of consciousness form of writing flows well and makes the work hold the reader's attention. While many reviewers see this as just sour grapes and retaliation stemming from a bad experience with a fraternity, one must ...
Land has really written a piece of art. The stream of consciousness form of writing flows well and makes the work hold the reader's attention. While many reviewers see this as just sour grapes and retaliation stemming from a bad experience with a fraternity, one must read deeper. It's about a troubled young man that had a serious incident as a teenager and now must deal with his psychological issues in a forum where humiliation is key. I was a member of a southern fraternity, also, but I read this as a recount of a young man trying to escape his demons - not create them in others.

posted by Anonymous on March 1, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Author missed an opportunity

The story started out prety good, but the author missed an opportunity to expand on the event that scarred the protagonist for life. Once he gets off to college, everything starts to drag and I didn't really care about him any longer.

posted by mrgopherguts on March 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    JAIL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2004

    Wrong

    The book is entirely fictional, the author never pledged to Kappa Sigma fraternity. He is just going on what rumors he has heard from others.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2004

    Not worth the time

    I agree with the reviewer who stated that this is not well-written at all- possibly due to the author's writing inexperience. Joining a fraternity by no means eliminates his freedom or right to do what he wants. I don't have much respect for him as an author for not having the self respect, self-confidence and 'guts' to walk away from a situation he wasn't happy with. I also don't respect him for trying to bring shame to a long-stading respected fraternity by associating himself with it as a one-time pledge. One supposed instance an author tries to depict does not dictate the sentiment and actions of the fraternity as a whole- or any part of it for that matter.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2004

    Please feel sorry for me...

    That is the theme that seems to run through this book. I do feel that Mr. Land's portrayal of the Greek system is accurate although his portrayal of Clemson is not. It doesn't speak well of the writer when he can't even get the landmark names correct. It is hard to praise someone's writing when it is a product of not being able to value ones self.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2004

    A poorly written book, at best.

    If this is an example of new, upcoming writers of our age, then we need a return to the classics. Land's staccato-style of writing is tedious to read, and I found it a struggle to finish the story. His plot seemed to be overly dramatized, as were his descriptions of characters and events. Although I have no connection to Clemson, or Kappa Sig fraternity, this book appears to be written only to sensationalize hazing, and to discredit the university.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2004

    Very inaccurate portrayal of clemson

    As a recent grad of Clemson, and a member of the greek system I felt this book was very poorly written. His accounts are not all true, and are sensationalized for the purpose of this book. The events should not be looked upon as pure fact. Remember this is one persons problems faced in the greek system, they were not caused by the greek system. There are in fact thousands of greek members, a vast majority, who did not suffer from these problems. The problem is with the auther, not the system

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2004

    Terrible experiences of a young man- Not CU's fault

    Land shows a great skill and ability to capture his brutal experiences in his book. His writing style is indicative of those two years in which he lost his trust in his brother and in his fellow man. As a graduate of Clemson University and even as a former 'goat' of the same fraternity that Land so matter-of-factly writes about, I can understand his misunderstanding of traditions that are not all about alcohol abuse, 'hooking up,' and of brutality. For each of the few who may have had an experience they consider to be contrary to the promotion of brotherhood, there are hundreds, even thousands of others who have gained life-long, solid, absolutely eternal friendships with boys, now men, that they will look back on fondly and hold fast forever. Again, I respect Brad's perspective, driven by his first assault and reinforced by an experience that seemed to bring it all back to haunt him. I don't however, support his portrayal of Clemson, of the Kappa Sigma chapter at Clemson, or of the brotherhood shared by the members of the Kappa Sigma International fraternity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1