Customer Reviews for

The Goblin King (Shadowlands Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Interesting Read

Eliza had wished the Goblin King into her life during her teenage years and she knew she could summon him again. But did she want to?

Ms. Husk has created a fantasy tale of goblins and evil in this world and in the shadow world that feels real. She describes the gobl...
Eliza had wished the Goblin King into her life during her teenage years and she knew she could summon him again. But did she want to?

Ms. Husk has created a fantasy tale of goblins and evil in this world and in the shadow world that feels real. She describes the goblin's dwellings and explains the curse the Goblin King faces in descriptive, colorful text. Her characters are strong, but fighting a curse is a tough job.

Eliza finds herself in a real unfortunate situation. The man she's engaged to is abusive and has been stealing her blind. The worst part is that her signature is on all of it. She trusted him once but not anymore.

Roan is the Goblin King who lusts for Eliza and wants her as his queen. But he can't ask a contemporary woman to leave her world behind and join him in his world. He has hope it will remove the curse on him and he can once more be a Celtic man instead of a goblin.

It was fun to watch the author make her character, Eliza, take back her life. She cuts her hair and changes the color, orders a black wedding dress, and locks Steve out of the house. That increases the danger to her, but she's determined to get Steve out of her life. Eventually she asks the Goblin King for help. Roan shows her how he really looks as a goblin and asks her to be his queen. Could you sleep with a monster?

Ms. Husk doesn't make this a formula fairy tale. These two main characters have some real challenges and nothing works out exactly like they hoped. I got to rooting for the Goblin King and his last surviving brother to be saved.

Why not get a copy of this book for yourself and see exactly how the battle was fought and how the story ends. It's a very good read for those who enjoy fantasy novels with romance and love involved. It's also a good story for anyone who likes reading an action packed fight to the death between two enemies. Try it, you'll like it.
Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

posted by LASR_Reviews on September 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A page turner

A page turner but not in a good way. The story had me turning pages out of sheer boredom desperately trying to find the ending. The prequel was better than the full length book.

Simply not enough detail to hold my interest...a lot of filler and too little action to m...
A page turner but not in a good way. The story had me turning pages out of sheer boredom desperately trying to find the ending. The prequel was better than the full length book.

Simply not enough detail to hold my interest...a lot of filler and too little action to move the story along. Unfortunately I purchased the second book along with the first based on reviews...what a gip.

posted by ScribeDiva on May 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Interesting Read

    Eliza had wished the Goblin King into her life during her teenage years and she knew she could summon him again. But did she want to?

    Ms. Husk has created a fantasy tale of goblins and evil in this world and in the shadow world that feels real. She describes the goblin's dwellings and explains the curse the Goblin King faces in descriptive, colorful text. Her characters are strong, but fighting a curse is a tough job.

    Eliza finds herself in a real unfortunate situation. The man she's engaged to is abusive and has been stealing her blind. The worst part is that her signature is on all of it. She trusted him once but not anymore.

    Roan is the Goblin King who lusts for Eliza and wants her as his queen. But he can't ask a contemporary woman to leave her world behind and join him in his world. He has hope it will remove the curse on him and he can once more be a Celtic man instead of a goblin.

    It was fun to watch the author make her character, Eliza, take back her life. She cuts her hair and changes the color, orders a black wedding dress, and locks Steve out of the house. That increases the danger to her, but she's determined to get Steve out of her life. Eventually she asks the Goblin King for help. Roan shows her how he really looks as a goblin and asks her to be his queen. Could you sleep with a monster?

    Ms. Husk doesn't make this a formula fairy tale. These two main characters have some real challenges and nothing works out exactly like they hoped. I got to rooting for the Goblin King and his last surviving brother to be saved.

    Why not get a copy of this book for yourself and see exactly how the battle was fought and how the story ends. It's a very good read for those who enjoy fantasy novels with romance and love involved. It's also a good story for anyone who likes reading an action packed fight to the death between two enemies. Try it, you'll like it.
    Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Great read

    Wow. I read this in two days. I'm new to Shona Husk's writing but I'm hooked. Sometimes I got a little frustrated at the "there's no hope", and I wanted to shake Roan for leaving Eliza standing alone. But I LOVE the spin on this fairy tale. The darkness fighting the light...that's my favorite.

    And with that tag line, "Be careful what you wish for when summoning...The Goblin King." **shiver**

    It's so true. From the first page I was engulfed by Eliza and Roan's relationship and just had to know how they were going to make it work. How would they get through such insurmountable obstacles....I found myself near tears several times.

    The intensity of their passion and love engrossed me as well. It was a steamy read, but I saw a strong emotional weaving of the characters, too. I LOVE that, it yanked me into the book.

    Nicely done, Shona Husk. You're added to may auto-buy list now! Thank you!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Five Ghoulish Thumbs Up!!

    This is the best book I've read in a long time (well, in the past few months anyway, which is an exceedingly long time for me). I loved all the characters. It has a fairly unique story line, beauty and the beast-esque, but different. I was quickly enthralled and can hardly wait for the next in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Fantastic

    Wonderfully written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2013

    Really enjoyable read. I can't wait to read the next book. I lov

    Really enjoyable read. I can't wait to read the next book. I love how they struggled to break the curse while falling in love with each other. Highly recommended. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    IMAZING

    I loved it it was imazing and romactiony

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Read the prequil loved it

    Loved the short prequill but i was wondering if anyone could tell me ow many pages this has becouse i hate buying a book n then it is only 25 pages long and youve spent ten bucks on the thing so yeah if yone knows how many pages it has please l
    Poat it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Steamy

    A great read that made you want to try to help them figute out the curse and how it would or could be broken.

    She is totally commeted to Roan even in his goblin form.

    He can't deny her anything.

    She is beyond anything he could imagine

    Well their love prevail?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    I'll be honest-I hesitated at first. I thought it was just going

    I'll be honest-I hesitated at first. I thought it was just going to be a romance novel, cheesy and all. But I read the free prequel and I wanted to follow up.

    And I adored this. The characters, the plot. It was all pleasantly and surprisingly well developed with layers upon layers. It had a core story that was delightful and modern references now and again. It was a wonderful love story with a touch of adventure-I honestly didn't know who I wanted to follow more when they were apart, Roan or Eliza! Definitely worth a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Steamy

    Steamy! Good read, could have been a bit shorter. Little drawn out but enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2012

    Excellent Read

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. The goblin twist makes this series unique. I could not put this book down and read the second book (Kiss of the Goblin Prince) as soon as I finished this one. Can't wait for the new book to come out in January.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    The Goblin King

    Great read! Keeps you interested all the way through!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Oooo

    Great book. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Interesting read.

    Pretty good. Great characters and interesting lore

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    love it

    It was a good book to read. like that Celtic myth was involve and turn the most hideous creature into some one like the cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Nice read...

    I avoided this book for awhile since the title is Goblin King but after reading it, I am glad that I did. Roan ends up being the dreamy man for Eliza and all ends happily ever after. I love the fact that the author allows the book to have an ending. So many series books leave the reader with lots of questions and no closure but not Goblin King.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Unique story. Lots of fun!

    Unique story line. Good drama. Fun characters.

    Husk does a good job of painting the picture of the scene in your head. The story pulls you in right from the get-go. Can't wait til the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    a great story!

    I loved this story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4