Customer Reviews for

The God Box

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING

    i am neither gay nor christian but this book was great for insight and perspective. WARNING:IF YOU, LIKE ME, ARE LIBERAL AND GAY-TOLERANT, THE CONSERVATIVES IN THIS BOOK WILL MAKE YOU VERY ANGRY!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must-Read for people struggling with sexuality and spirituality

    Out of all of the books i've read about sexuality, this is the best one i have read yet. If you've ever had doubts about sexuality and spirituality, or even just one of the two, this book is a major help. It's a great love story and you will fall in love with Paul and Manuel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jeremey for TeensReadToo.com

    Paul is a boy who is highly religious, goes to a Christian school, lives in a very small town, and loves God and his girlfriend of several years. Living in such a small town and going to a small school, everyone knows the new kids. <BR/><BR/>The knew person, Manuel, is weird. Everyone talks about him, especially when he joins Paul and his friends at their lunch table. Manuel proceeds to tell them that he is both gay and Christian, two things that don't mix well. <BR/><BR/>The girls love Manuel, but the boys want to stay far away from him -- except for Paul. Manuel is trying to be Pauls friend and all the guys start talking about the both of them. <BR/><BR/>As Paul and Manuel hang out, a friendship is formed and Paul challenges Manuel about God, the Bible, and being gay. Every answer Manuel gives makes Paul think differently about his religion and what it says. Is being gay okay, and can you still go to Heaven? <BR/><BR/>While examining his feelings, Paul wonders about his own sexuality and if his friendship for Manuel is just that -- a friendship. When a series of events happens, Paul finds his true feelings, his true identity, and, most importantly, love. <BR/><BR/>Alex Sanchez's latest novel is amazing. It gives a new interpretation of "the Bible says that being gay is a sin," an excuse that many use. Very thought-provoking, this book will keep a smile on your face until the end.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    Paul is a boy who is highly religious, goes to a Christian school, lives in a very small town, and loves God and his girlfriend of several years. Living in such a small town and going to a small school, everyone knows the new kids. The knew person, Manuel, is weird. Everyone talks about him, especially when he joins Paul and his friends at their lunch table. Manuel proceeds to tell them that he is both gay and Christian, two things that don't mix well. The girls love Manuel, but the boys want to stay far away from him -- except for Paul. Manuel is trying to be Pauls friend and all the guys start talking about the both of them. As Paul and Manuel hang out, a friendship is formed and Paul challenges Manuel about God, the Bible, and being gay. Every answer Manuel gives makes Paul think differently about his religion and what it says. Is being gay okay, and can you still go to Heaven? While examining his feelings, Paul wonders about his own sexuality and if his friendship for Manuel is just that -- a friendship. When a series of events happens, Paul finds his true feelings, his true identity, and, most importantly, love. Alex Sanchez's latest novel is amazing. It gives a new interpretation of 'the Bible says that being gay is a sin,' an excuse that many use. Very thought-provoking, this book will keep a smile on your face until the end. **Reviewed by: Jeremey

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    Do not hesitate in purchasing this book. You will not regret it.

    Do not hesitate in purchasing this book. You will not regret it. Especially young adults doing their best to navigate their sexuality and spirituality at the same time.

    This book helps reinforce that mutual exclusivity does not exist among these two important structures in one's life.

    The characters in &quot;The God Box&quot; are all incredibly endearing. As a young gay reader, it is impossible to not fall in love with the character of Manuel. Strong, confident and assured in himself and his faith. The reader also has Paul, whom just has to be cheered on by the reader throughout the duration of the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    Amazing

    I know how Paul feels, I have for a while, I couldnt put this book down it was so good, and at the same time it helped me believe God loved me too and that I could be closer to accepting myself also

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this book opens your eyes

    Ive read other books by Alex Sanchez and in the God Box this book opened up my eyes the most, if your a christian this book makes you more aware of what the bible can be interpreted as. Ive asked my friend to read this book too and she loved it and I love it too!! The characters were amazing and it was written so well! this is the type of book that the schools should be asking students to read, it opens your eyes and really makes you think of whats happening around you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Compelling Coming Out Story

    This book was an outstanding book. It help me come to terms with the reality tha not many people see and helps understand life a bit more. I recomend this book to any gay Christian.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    A reviewer

    When I first picked up this book, I thought it was going to be the typical 'high-school teen' drama. I soon found out that this book went WAY beyond any of my expectations. Within the first three chapters it easily became my new favorite book. It not only changed my outlook about the christian community, but it also changed my view about the Bible. I would HIGHLY recommend this book to all readers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Didnt really like

    Liked the rainbow series better....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Wow

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    There is something so captivating and natural in Sanchez's writi

    There is something so captivating and natural in Sanchez's writing style; when I pick up one of his books, I just can't put them down. The only reason I don't give this one five stars is because there are some cliche story elements, but those are almost necessary to broach the spirituality v. sexuality subject.

    I've struggled with my faith (and sexuality) all my life, and as I try to explore my Catholic roots more deeply, I've ended up feeling more and more frustrated and unwelcome in church-- something I never thought would happen. As I've always understood it, the Church is supposed to be a loving, welcoming community. Though I've never been faced with some of the extreme events in this book, Paul's questions and mixed emotions are all very relatable for me, and Manuel's answers are all very freeing.

    For further Bible study and reflection, consider &quot;The Gay Gospels,&quot; a well-researched book that looks at context and further explains the often-used &quot;terror texts&quot; that are used against the LGBTQ community. You'll recognize some of Manuel's alternate interpretations and get even more to consider.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Loved it.

    This is one of the stories that made Alex Sanchez one of my most favorite authors. I love everything about this book. :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    AMAZING BOOK!!!! VD Ama AMAZING BOOK!!!! :D

    Read this book in three days, it was so good! I definatly recommend it for anyone who is religious and struggling with their sexuality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    A must read

    This is one of the best books very sweet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    VERY VERY GOOD

    I loved this book, I would recommend you at least read it, I was half way when I decided to just finish the book, Paul struggles with coming to terms he is gay, but what amazes me is his transformation when he meets Manuel, he starts to have it all in control but as he progresses in his life he starts to loose himself and his spirituality with God and towards the end he becomes somewhat depressed. Good Good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Very Good

    This book was one of the best gay fiction books I have read!! It reaches out to the gay community from a christain stand point. I couldn't put it down!!!!! Worth every penny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    If you dealing with the struggles of religion and sexuality then this a very good book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    great book

    this book is leadin my journey of understanding of my faith and other beleifs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    Overall just a good book

    This book is perfect for any teen caught in between religion and sexuality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4