Customer Reviews for

God Calling: 365 Days of Inspiration from the Bestselling Devotional

Average Rating 4
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A book to be savored, day by day

I bought my first copy of God Calling in 1991 and it has been a loving part of my life every since. Sometimes I go for months reading it daily and at other times I might not picke it up for months at a time. Whenever I read it I feel like I have just spent a very specia...
I bought my first copy of God Calling in 1991 and it has been a loving part of my life every since. Sometimes I go for months reading it daily and at other times I might not picke it up for months at a time. Whenever I read it I feel like I have just spent a very special, intimate moment with Jesus. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to share a very special time with Jesus. After reading this book I felt like I heard Him speaking to me more clearly. I have given many copies of this book to others as gifts.

posted by Franelliot on February 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Caution on God Calling

I just started "God Calling" journal. I was a bit cautious as it was written by two anonymous women called "two listeners". Please do an Internet seach for "Two Listeners". It will surprise you. I will continue with the devotional with a discerning heart...

posted by Anonymous on February 19, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    A must have!

    Tis book is a must have. You must start by reading the first few pages. After that, it gives you an inspiring and uplifting message for every day of the year. I have shared it with many people who have told me that it has helped them tremendously. I recently bought six more books to share with others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2006

    This is God talking

    What a marvelous book. Full of messages right from God. A must read every morning!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2006

    My favorite book for peacefulness and healing.

    This book provided my greatest source of healing after the death of my son in 1992. I have reread it so many times that it is falling apart, but it has become such a wonderful friend that I could never replace it with a new model. It continues to take on a new meaning every time I read it. It helped me recover so that I could go on to write my own book. I have never read another book where I felt God's presence so strongly. Thank you for such a wonderful gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2005

    Two Very Blessed Women

    A beautiful, inspiring book. I am on the second reading, using a different color pen to underline passages that touch my heart and help me through the day. I keep it at my desk at home and read it before and after work. I would love to know who the women were.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2004

    ...Jesus Speaking

    32 Years ago I happened to find the dutch translation of GOD CALLING (entitled 'Jesus Speaking'). Like the editor A.J. Russell said 'This is not an ordinary book, but a mine of spiritual treasues, arranged for every day of the year and clothed in language of tender beauty'. I can only underline what the editor. other readers and reviewers say. This is truly our Lord Jesus speaking to us. From the very first moment I opened this Book I keep running into points relating to situations going on. And I still do after all these years. I have been a dedicated follower and desciple of Jesus since. This Book has changed my life completely. With the exception of the New Testament there is no other Book that I treasure more. With this Book (that was born in december, 1932) we truly find ourselves on Holy Ground. --A must have for all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2004

    Yes, He Still Speaks

    I too read the review that urges caution. This only confirms my very positive experience with the book. I firmly believe that God's voice is here with us today and is sometimes heard by sources other than priests, pastors, theologians, and Biblical scholars. Artists and writers are among those sources, as well as people such as the two 'Listeners' who wrote God Calling. Christians who selectively choose words from the Bible to promote their own biases seem misguided to me. Some of the most egregious acts in history have been done in the name of religion, and a literal interpretation of the Bible has too often been used to promote oppression of women, people of color, and gays and lesbians.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2004

    Hands down the best book I have ever read

    This book has changed the way I look at life. It has freed me from wordly worries and stress. Powerful, a real life altering read. The words of Jesus Christ are given to us through these two listeners as a way to correct mans miss-interpretation of the Bible, confirm writings in the Bible and inspire us to strive for spiritual communion with Him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2003

    I Highly Recommend This Inspirational Book On A Daily Basis

    I first found this wonderful book in 1989 when I was going through a painful divorce. I received so much comfort from this book, along with my Bible. I am envious of the 'two listeners' and wish I could have met them during the time this inspired book was being journaled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2002

    Excllent daily meditation. Want 10 copies!!!

    Best daily inspirational book I have seen in years. A classic!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2002

    Worth reading

    Good book, it was hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2002

    Truly inspirational!!!

    I have read many devotionals but this one touches my heart!! I have given away several copies as gifts and rely on it daily as it's insights and applications into everyday living and normally always has a point relating to a situation going on. This book is truly a 'God calling'!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2001

    Perfect addition to Bible reading!

    Received the book from my friend Shirley and can't wait to get more to give away! The first day I opened it there was a direct link to a situation in my life and my friend Kathy's life and I had to call her right away and read it to her. Luckily, Shirley already had one to give to Kathy so now we can share daily!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2000

    Read this book every day!

    I found this book on the shelf of a bookstore almost 20 years ago when my life was at its lowest point. It has been my constant companion, reminding me of the love God has for me. I have given countless copies away to friends, or anyone I know who is hurting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5