Customer Reviews for

The God Delusion

Average Rating 4
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

53 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

Reason over Faith

I am amazed at some of the negative reviews of this book and am doubtful that some of these reviewers actually read the book. I found The God Delusion to be a well-assembled and witty argument against faith. For the reviewers that throw scriptures at him as rebuttal, ...
I am amazed at some of the negative reviews of this book and am doubtful that some of these reviewers actually read the book. I found The God Delusion to be a well-assembled and witty argument against faith. For the reviewers that throw scriptures at him as rebuttal, you might as well threaten him with unicorn attacks, as they hold as much weight--none! This book will not convince those blinded by faith to open their eyes but it reinforces the convictions of those that still hold onto reason. Richard Dawkins does a great job of showing how faith requires the believer to suspend their reason. The fact that so many are willing to do this is troubling and downright scary. I particularly enjoyed his dismantling of the 'uncaused first cause' argument. I was raised as a Catholic and always asked 'Who created God?' I never did get a satisfactory answer, only 'God always existed.' Well, the fact that the universe always existed is more likely because it doesn't rely on some 'bearded sky daddy' that hears your thoughts and answers your prayers, just physics we don't yet understand. Too many of us have been brainwashed as children to believe in fairy tales. Thankfully, some of us recover the reason needed to see how foolish we were. I have read most of the books that the negative reviewers recommend and would put Dawkin's book against all of them. Logic always wins over blind faith!

posted by Anonymous on February 28, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Postulation Unbridled

It becomes increasingly amazing what people will pay to read...oops...that must mean me too. Belitteling a belief system using Darwinism is so much a stretch. Current evolutionist have given up on Darwin's theory and looked under every rock imaginable, and some that are...
It becomes increasingly amazing what people will pay to read...oops...that must mean me too. Belitteling a belief system using Darwinism is so much a stretch. Current evolutionist have given up on Darwin's theory and looked under every rock imaginable, and some that aren't, to find something - anything except intelligent design that they can't see the obvious. Or they just don't want to see the obvious. Rule out a god and you rule out accountability and any stable morality. Right and wrong then become a slidding scale, totally situational. I will agree that there is intolerance out there, in fact most everywhere. But it is not from religion, it is from individuals and cults that twist and misuse it, just as Dawkins has misused his gift of writing to minuplate the readers conscience. Makes one wonder what is he really afraid of? Two stars for effort expended

posted by Anonymous on March 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    A great way for atheists to learn more about their position.

    Before this book, I knew that I didn't believe in "God" or anything of the sort. I knew what a person like myself was called before I read this book, but afterward I understood more about it afterward. I've learned a lot from this book and I recommend it to all, atheists especially who need solid ground to stand upon.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    Making peace with reality

    This book is an essential spiritual guide for the contemporary reader. Richard Dawkins teaches us how to make peace with reality. He shows us not just that there is almost certainly no God, but he also shows us how to understand and make sense of the world once we've discovered that there is no God.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2007

    Bullcrap Gets A Rap

    At last it is great to read a rebuttal of the voodoo cultist crap that is splattered upon history,literature and through every church,institution and or tent in the world by either warped or control- freak human dung carriers. Dawkins makes sense. Can't people see it? Please read this book regardless of your faith or imagination.

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    Richard Dawkins and the Question of God

    Richard Dawkins has taken upon himself, with a scientific genius unparalleled since the rise of modern science, the task of dismantling religion before the eyes of the whole world. His intent and purpose is well summed up in a phrase of another master of the well-turned phrase: Francois Marie Arouet, better known as VoltaireL 'Encraser l'infame'. 'Religion is a disease of the mind, get rid of the damned thing!' The only answer to Richard Dawkins is an attack in the opposite direction, exposing with awful clarity the unreasoned foundation of his own premises and the pathetically infantile logic upon which they are based. He stands upon a mountain of knowledge of which he is the master and brillian exponent. but none of his conclusions flow logically from that mountain of knowledge, but are based upon the primal fears of a feral child lost in the woods and cursing the darkness. He is locked in the empiricism of Berkeley, Locke and Hume. He cannot recognize the difference between an opinion and a reasoned conclusin, and whose logical tools have been replaced by ridicule, revulsion and satire, in the face of a body of theological knowledge and theological culture too massive for his well-honed empirial skills. He is a master satirist, but satire is the last refuge of the intellectually incompetent, and of masters of deceit who create clever images to hide the poverty of their thinking and, like a master magician, become masters of ilussion as well. THe illusion is that of a master of anthropology, history, philosophy, literature, education, and every human art and sciencel, while his knowledge is wrapped up in a few key concepts of Darwinian evolution, which no reasonable person doubts, but from which he has drawn historical, anthropological and cultural conclusions having no basis whatsoever in the scientific data of which he is the supreme master. It reminds me of Adolf Hitler's use of a diseased racial anthropology, concocted by his own masters of deceit, to despise, outlaw, and ultimately plan the destruction of a whole race that he had painted with his own anthropological brush, and, if Richard Dawkins is correct in his diatribe against people of religious convictions, he is ready to outlaw those who hold convictions contrary to his own to his own and imprison them in his version of insane asylums. This deceit and calim of scientific impartiality is backed by a massive and overwhelming knowledge of microbiology, as if this knowledge gave him a key to the secrets of the universe and of human life itself. He has created an illusion of absolute certainty based on the three-legged stool of Darwinian evolution: Natural Selection, Descent with Modification and Survival of the Fittest. That stool is supposed to explain the whole of human civilization and culture, the totality of human history and the root and origin of religion. The rawest student of cultural anthropology could point out how thin the reasoning and how fallacious the claim: parturiunt montes, nascetur ridiculus mus.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2008

    Spot On

    Reading this validated everything I've read up to now and those that have open, caring minds will take up this book and not be able to put it down. Very thoughtful and very well done. Bravo Richard!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2008

    Atheism is not scientically demonstrable.

    Like Natural Selection, atheism is an hypothesis, that should be demonstrable by repeated experiments. <BR/><BR/>This has not been shown by Richard Dawkins in this book.<BR/><BR/>Also, his concept of God is a caricature, held by no majot pholosophical or theological mind. If he is going to challenge belief in God ,he has to challenge the thinking and reasoning of the best philosophical and theological minds: Augustine, Aquinas, Barth, Tillich, Ratzinger, Maimonides. De Lubac. Rahner, von Balthasar.

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2008

    BRILLIANT!

    This book makes complete sense from cover to cover. I'm an atheist and I'm delighted that Professor Dawkins has stood up for our cause. Those people who have criticized him are those who want to see humanity suffer forever under their wicked and utterly false doctrines. I especially liked how Dawkins ridiculed the various 'proofs' for the existence of god. Religion by its very own inherent nature is evil. This book will give me and others points to use in defense of the freedom and democracy we all deserve.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    Many things I have thought, but didn't know how to explain in such an organized manner, are in the book. He also brings up other issues I hadn't thought of before. He also made me look at many other things from an evolutionary standpoint.

    I didn't see the point in reading this book because I didn't see the point. I know some religious people are delusional. Why should I read about it? But it was so highly recommended by some friends of mine, that I eventually caved in and I'm glad I did. I got a lot out of it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    EXCELLENT BOOK

    Richard Dawkins is a great author and a very respectable scientist.
    I found this book absolutely compelling and it is quite readable.
    Some chapters I had to read several times as I was spellbound.
    GREAT BOOK.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2007

    Superb. A glimmer of hope in the dark Forest of Religion.

    I wish to thank Prof. Dawkins for this excellent and superbly argued book. It is intelligent and outspoken men like him that will eventually rescue the dim-witted world from religion. America is a great hurdle in this regard, but hopefully it can be accomplished.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    Dawkins's book is by far the best book in the anti-religion genre. Yes, he is trenchant and forceful in his arguments, and he is not concerned about offending anyone's religous sensibilities 'a breath of fresh air in a world of political correctness? you be the judge'. However, he also presents his material clearly and logically in a style that is enjoyable to read 'Christopher Hitchens is not as good a writer'. Whether you like what he has to say or not, that's another matter. For folks like me who were raised without religion in the household and who never gave it much thought, this is a thought-provoking book. It made me realize that critical thinking 'meaning clear, rational, logical analysis' should be applied to all areas of human endeavor and culture, including religion. To live in a truly free and intellectual society, there can't be topics that are forbidden to be debated or criticized. This book led me to read other similar books, and I'm grateful that I did. I'd also like to take a paragraph in response to the reviewer below who says '...You have the two World Wars, the Purges, et citera [sic] all in the name of men self-proclaimed as atheists. You have Hitler, Stalin, Mao and Tojo, all atheists...' and state that it's a fact that none of these terrible people committed any of their crimes *in the name of atheism* rather, they acted out of lust for power, bigotry, hatred, and probably in some cases mental disorders. Their crimes cannot be laid at atheism's door, because they did not claim to carry them out FOR atheism, whereas the crimes that can be laid at religion's door have perpretrators who explicitly stated that they were acting for god.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2007

    Dawkins hits every nail on the head... PERFECTLY

    AWESOME BOOK!! Everything I have ever thought about GOD is confirmed and allowed me to know that I am NOT the only one to feel this way. Atheism is just as much frowned upon as gay america... which is sad. Ignorance is bliss, I guess...CHEERS DAWKINS!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2007

    Hans Christian Anderson

    My fuzzy grey atheism poped into sharp focus reading this book. It takes a child or a genius to show the truth. The emperor has no clothes. Thank you Mr. Dawkins

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2007

    Almost as good as it gets in science

    For those who may finally dare to question and to think for themselves this book guides them through many of the all the possible arguments, which explain the idea of god as the wishful thinking of people who want to be the center of the Universe (That is why they get so angry when you tell them they are nothing more than animals with not even the free will to choose to be either smart or dumb). This book's only defect is to assert, without proof, the nonexistence of god, however, this can be partially excused because we can not prove the nonexistence of the easter bunny either and we still make statements about its nonexistance.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2006

    It will stand the test of time

    Someday, when all is said and done, and we come to accept the fact that God is not a superman dressed in an elegant white robe sitting on a golden throne with a notepad recording everything each one of us does from the time we are born until we take our last breath, this book will take its place as one of the more important works of the new millennium. It is sad that so many will give it low grades for its philosophical content vs. their theological convictions. To me, Dawkins¿s work echoes Sam Harris¿s `The End of Faith¿ and Lucien Gregoire¿s biography of the 33-day pope John Paul I (Murder in the Vatican) whose thesis `The God of Nature vs. the God of Religion¿ was inspired by his atheist father. I¿m sure Dawkins, like the rest of us, grew up in an atmosphere of religion. Thank `God¿, in his wisdom, he was able to separate fact (science) from belief or fiction (religion) and bring us this important work.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2014

    Excellent. 

    Excellent. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    Highly recommended!

    Best book ever (and I read a lot of books).
    Dawkins clearly explains natural selection, evololution and why god can't possibly exist in this very readable book.
    He is very, very funny at times and utterly brilliant in his scientific explainations geared toward the layman.
    This book should be read by Students, Christians, Mormans, Muslims, Agnostics and Atheists alike.
    I would also recommend God or Godless by John Loftus/Randal Rauser and everything written by Richard Dawkins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    A "must read" for all intelligent, free thinkers in this world.

    I remain in great awe of and hold great respect for Mr. Dawkins, who continues to convey his clear, intelligent, and correct thoughts pertaining to the atrocities of religion. Wonderfully written, very insightful, and certainly thought-provoking. This book should be distributed to all high schools across the country in promotion of cognitive progression and personal awareness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    Amazing

    insight many fail to see

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    Not yet read, but plan on purchasing today.

    I have known for some time that god is nothing more than a good joke played on the unfortunate that are unable to question authoritive figures in their lives. Why is it that god believers alway place a male gender on their god? Very strange that they call it a spirit, but refer to it as a man. Although I am fully aware of the falicies promoted by those wanting to keep their authoritive positions over others, I think I will enjoy reading another fellow non-believer,s perspective.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4