Customer Reviews for

God Don't Make No Mistakes

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

This book was.good and i hope she make some more i read this book in two days awesome awesome awesome

posted by Anonymous on June 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Awful,reads like a reality show on paper. Stereotypes galore.

Awful,reads like a reality show on paper. Stereotypes galore.

posted by Anonymous on July 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Awful,reads like a reality show on paper. Stereotypes galore.

    Awful,reads like a reality show on paper. Stereotypes galore.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    God Don't Make Mistakes is the final installment in the "Go

    God Don't Make Mistakes is the final installment in the "God don't" series by Mary Monroe. The series follows the lives and adventures of two childhood friends: Annette and Rhoda. These ladies have survived it all from molestation to breast cancer, from prostitution to the death of a child. They make it through these challenges because of their unshakeable friendship. This bond is again tested as the ladies find themselves at odds about the best interest of their daughters.

    Annette's daughter Charlotte, once again finds herself involved with the wrong crowd. When she tries to tell her mother about what is going on, Charlotte mistakes her attitude for moodiness. Will Charlotte be able to get through to her mother before things take a dangerous turn? Then there's Jade, Rhoda's rebellious daughter. Jade does everything in her power to bring her mother pain and sorrow. Through it all, Rhoda still loves her. So, she hatches a plan to get her daughter on the right path once and for all. In addition to our two stars, Monroe brings back the rest of the quirky family members. These characters provide just enough comic relief to keep the storyline moving.

    I have read every novel in the "God don't" series and I must say that this novel is my least favorite. This is probably because I have grown tired of the group and am no longer interested in their life stories like I did in the past. However, I still found the story to be entertaining with quite a few LOL moments. I will truly miss these characters, especially Scary-Mary. I like the fact that Monroe gives true closure to the story and its characters. The reader definitely will not be wondering about what happens to the main characters later in life. For an author to truly end a series, this closure is necessary. So, while I bid farewell to Annette, Rhoda and the gang, I look forward to Monroe writing more books with characters that I will grow to love and be entertained with for many years (and series) to come.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Just OK...

    I usually enjoy all of this author's books, however this was a bit too slow. It took me a while to finish the book. The book also seemed rushed, some of the storylines could have been much better. This was my least favorite book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Awesome

    This book was.good and i hope she make some more i read this book in two days awesome awesome awesome

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by: Amie Lou Book provided by: Publisher Review origina

    Reviewed by: Amie Lou
    Book provided by: Publisher
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book




    When I cracked open this book, I expected an inspirational story of strife and longing, a change of heart. A book that when I put it down I would say to myself, ‘How incredible.’ And I would walk around for days thinking and mulling over the profound instances that happened between those pages. Instead, I got a story about people I couldn’t identify with and sparks of inspiration buried deep within the crazy lives of Annette and Rhoda.




    I’ve known women like Rhoda and Annette. Women who fly off the handle and do things like have cat-fights with their daughters on the front porch in broad daylight. Have affairs behind their husbands’ backs–and with his best friend–and somehow convince themselves that it’s perfectly okay. Not necessarily women I would want to be friends with.




    Annette is currently separated from her husband, but still seeing him on the side along with two other men. She has a daughter Charlotte (12) who has an intense but undisclosed problem with the new neighbor. Annette’s best friend, Rhoda has a tub full of troubles of her own with her grown daughter. But when Annette finds out that husband Pee Wee’s new girl is pregnant, a scramble for the truth begins. Is the baby Pee Wee’s or another man’s?




    I considered Annette too caught up in her own life (and that of her best friend) to pay enough attention to her daughter. Only when Charlotte runs away does anyone listen to her complaints about the neighbor. Neglectful parenting sets my teeth on edge.




    Though well-written, I had trouble relating to characters in God Don’t Make No Mistakes. Their actions, reasoning, and behaviors were not commendable. Maybe because I’ve had some experience with the CBA and expected a book pegged as inspirational to be… well, inspirational. To contain upstanding characters with flaws but not quite so rough around the edges.




    That is not to say that this book would not have appeal to other readers. But unfortunately it was not my cup of tea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Good Read

    This is actually a great book,I've read the series "God Dont Like Ugly" and I also enjoyed it. I normally read a very good book that like usually within a day or two but it was so hard with this book due to the fact that each chapter is extremely longgg. I think this author needs to learn on how to get to the point in a reasonable time,no one wants to read a book thats 300 and something pages. Dont get me wrong, after all is said and done this is still a good book. Makes you want to appreciate the ppl we sometimes take for granted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Mistakes were made butnot myme

    Mistskkes were made nnut not by eedg

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Awesome

    I just bought it a few weeks ago, i love your books .
    Keep on doing what cha doing, in the words of the late great Don Corneilus, we wish you love,peace and soul.....




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Everyone knows i love mary monroe

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!!!!!! KUDOS TO MARY MONROE FOR A JOB WELL DONE ON THIS SERI

    WOW!!!!!! KUDOS TO MARY MONROE FOR A JOB WELL DONE ON THIS SERIES. I
    WAS THERE FROM THE BEGINNING, AND I MUST SAY WHAT A RIDE IT HAS BEEN. I
    WAS DRAWN IN FROM THE FIRST BOOK, AND NOW I AM SADDEN AFTER READING THE
    LAST BOOK. MS MONROE HAS FINALLY ANSWERED ALL OF THE QUESTIONS THAT HAS
    KEPT US ALL HANGING ON AND RUNNING TO THE NEXT BOOK. I LAUGHED SO
    MUCH WHILE READING THIS BOOK. IT WILL TRULY BE HARD TO SAY GOODBYE TO
    THESE FAVORITE CHARACTERS. EACH CHARACTER IS LEAVING A LITTLE SOMETHING
    FOR ME TO REMEMBER THEM BY. IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A GREAT SERIES TO
    READ, LOOK NO FURTHER. YOU WILL BE SO HAPPY THAT YOU DEDICED TO GIVE
    THIS SERIES A TRY. I LOOK FORWARD TO WHATEVER MS. MONROE HAS
    INSTORED FOR US NEXT. BUT PLEASE, PLEASE DON'T KEEP US WAITING TOO LONG.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    The best

    This was the end of the series and I think her best of all of them. I really loved this book it is so interesting I couldn't put it down. Really worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Worth Reading....

    Great Book, Great Author! The story kept you wondering about the next scene. When reading, you could give your own conclusions, but you kept reading to find out the outcome. I'm waiting for the next book....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Great**

    I'm going to miss reading the books i feel like part of the family I cried when they cried smiled when things worked out and understood when they didn't......loved they way it ended

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Ms Val

    I loved it will miss everyone!!!!!!.!.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Nice Ending

    Really enjoyed this last book to the God Dont Like Ugly Series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Love Love

    Wishi wasnt done with it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    ' wonderful

    Mary Monroe is one of the best authors of all times. Please start a new series!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    Wow! I have been following the "God" series for years.

    Wow! I have been following the "God" series for years. The conclusion of this series was sad, funny and enlightning. I felt like a member of the family. I cried at the end for Jade, Scary Mary, Muh Dear and the others. Cheers to Mary Monroe for keeping me entertained for years, I have read all her books. A Great Author!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wow! Amazed...Again This was one the most amazing book reads, I

    Wow! Amazed...Again
    This was one the most amazing book reads, I've read. I do not even know where to begin either, the characters in are family to me now. I hated that the series ended. I loved Annette, Rhoda, PeeWee, Scary Mary, Charlotte, Muh-Dear, Liliemae and Frank. Even though it's the end of the series I really appreciate your conclusion summing up the family events and how amazing plus sad. I hate this is the end of the "God don't like ugly" series. Excellent Ms. Mary Monroe!!



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Wow

    I cant wait to read this book. Im hoping to finish it in about 3 to 4 days..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2