Customer Reviews for

God Gave Us Love

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    God Gave Us Love review

    God Gave Us Love is a sweet children's board book by Lisa Tawn Bergren. I did not realize that this little book is actually in a series of "God Gave Us" books by Bergren. I have not seen or read the others but enjoyed this one. In God Gave Us Love the Grampa Cub is explaining to Little Cub God's great love for us. He helps Little Cub think through why we are called to love others, even "pesky otters" when we don't feel like it. The book is a great discussion between generations of love of various relationships such as grandparent/grandchild, mothers/fathers, brothers/sisters, and then ultimately the love of God for us.

    These are questions I have seen come up even from my daughter, 3.5 years old. While the book does an excellent job of approaching deep theology for the younger age set it is really quite long. The format I received is a board book, recommended for ages 0 to 3 (according to the back of the book). Most of the board books we have or have read tend to have limited text per page. While God Gave Us Love's content message is important and wonderful to begin addressing at a tender age I find it rather unlikely many 0 to 3 year olds will be able to sit or comprehend its message. The books is also available in a hardcover format and for a child ages 4 or older, I can see this being a wonderful gift.

    My favorite part of God Gave Us Love are the beautiful illustrations by Laura J. Bryant. Every page is colorful, playful, and the detail is lovely. Even if the content may be long or tedious for the younger age set, the pictures are sure to delight. Overall, I would recommend this book to parents who are seeking to train up their children as we are called to do in the Bible.

    Note: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    “God Gave Us Love”, is another sweet book in the ch

    “God Gave Us Love”, is another sweet book
    in the children's series by Lisa Tawn Bergren. This series of books centers on a family of polar bears. In this particular book, the theme is God's love for us and how we should be showing that love to others.
    Not only does Grandpa Bear explain various types of love to Little Cub, but he also explains how all love is an expression of God's big love for us. Through all, he says, Grandpa shows that because God is love, we are called to love others as we strive to be like Him.

    When it came to the main message of God's love and showing love to other people, it was portrayed very well.

    I love that these books are sturdy board books that withstand a lot of rough reading by children! As always, the illustrations are precious and capture the eyes of a child fast.

    I would recommend this book to parents and grandparents of small children. I would also buy these books as gifts for All that have small children (daycares, pre-schools, est.)

    I read and write blogs for free. This book came from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    My children enjoyed reading this book. We read it often as a bed

    My children enjoyed reading this book. We read it often as a bed time book. God gave us love is a sweet way of reminding ourselves and our children that everyone was given to us by God and he made each relationship in our lives unique and special. Our children are better able to understand how we love all people but some people are closer to our hearts and our affections for them can be displayed differently

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    This is a sweet little story about God's love. My kids, althoug

    This is a sweet little story about God's love. My kids, although older than the recommended 0-3, still enjoy Little Bear. This particular story shares, in easy to understand terms, the different ways we love. Most importantly, the Truth of God's gift of love is at the center.

    I like the fact that the story ends with a prayer that little ones could emulate.

    The only issue we had with the story was that you don't know Little Bear is a girl until the end. My son was a tad upset by this.

    This book was provided by WaterBrook Multnomah publishing in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    Too much info for a board book!

    When I pick up a kid’s book, I’m looking for a few things. The first thing is good illustrations. You can say all you want to, but small children aren’t going to care what it says if the pictures are off. Second is the content; is it interesting? age appropriate? do I agree with what the author is saying?

    I think the best part about this book is the illustrations. They are fun, colorful, detailed, and go along appropriately with the words.

    The content. Well, it meets one out of my three criteria. I definitely agree with her points. However, it’s a board book and I feel like the content is way above my preschooler’s head. Some of the concepts are even above my 1st grader’s head, I think. There’s just too much information in one little book. She covers different types of love and how you can feel all of them. Why not just focus on one at a time? Write more books with less words if you’re going for the preschool audience. I found the story interesting enough, but my kids did not.

    You can tell how much my kids like a book based on how many times they request I read it. I think I’ve read this one to them just two times and we’ve had it for a few months (Yes, I’m behind on book reviews…oops)

    Not a bad book, just not a great one either.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    God Gave Us Love is a great little story about a little bear cub

    God Gave Us Love is a great little story about a little bear cub and her grandpa. Through the story little cub is faced with many challenging people and behaviors, but grandpa's words of wisdom shine some light on the issues for little cub. Through grandpa, little cub is shown that "anytime we show love....we're sharing a bit of His love."

    It was a great story, but a bit long for a toddler to sit through (meaning the dialogue per page). The pictures and artwork work were colorful and created perfect images for the story. I love that the book was in board book format and small enough for little hands. This is a great addition to our library and would be great for any little believer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    God Gave Us Love - hardcover

    This is a very cute book from Lisa Tawn Bergren and Laura Bryant – exactly what you wold expect from these two. I found the story a wonderful explanation of not only God’s love, but love in general. Little cub struggles with loving “the unlovable” and through the course of the book comes to understand the height and depth that God calls us to.

    This is a great book! Thank you Multnomah publishing for the opportunity to review this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    God Gave us Love by Lisa Tawn Bergren and Laura J. Bryant is a w

    God Gave us Love by Lisa Tawn Bergren and Laura J. Bryant is a wonderful children’s book. The story is about Little Cub and his Grandpa. Grandpa takes Little Cub fishing to find pesky otter in their spot playing and scaring away the fish. Grandpa helps Little Cub to see that we are to show everyone love. Grandpa also explains the difference in love that God gives us for each other. He learns that go loves us so much and he wants us to give his love to others, even if sometimes they are hard to love. The author captures the true love of Christ and makes it easy form a child to understand. The illustration in the book is beautiful and is sure to keep the child wanting to turn the next page.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 [...]: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Little Bear goes fishing with Grampa Bear but the Otters were so

    Little Bear goes fishing with Grampa Bear but the Otters were so playful and mischievous that Little Bear just knew they would chase all the fish away. Grampa sensed that Little Bear was getting upset at the Otters. Grampa decided to have a talk with her about sharing the love of God.

    The story is very endearing. I could almost hear the tone in Grampa Bear's and Little Bear's voices. Grampa being loving and patient, Little Bear being curious and sometimes confused. Grampa does a wonderful job getting God's message of love for others across to Little Bear.

    The illustrations in this board book colorfully depicts the feelings shared between Grampa Bear, Little Bear and the rest of their family. Let's not forget the playfulness of the Otters that prompted the lesson of God's Love.

    I highly recommend this book.

    Disclosure
    I received a free copy of this book from Waterbrook Multnomah for review. I was in no way compensated for this review it is my own review. It is my own opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    The story is about a little bear cub fishing with his Grampa. T

    The story is about a little bear cub fishing with his Grampa. The sea otters in the river are disturbing the fish. Little Cub is upset that the otters will make the fish swim away. Grampa goes on to comfort him and let him know that the otters are sharing their space. Grampa explains that we need to show love for everyone even though they may upset us. God installed in each of us love. All the good things in life are from God. Grampa helps little bear understand that God is love and when we show love, we're sharing a bit of His love.

    I love that this book talks so much about God's love. That we should all have love for everyone and everything. This is a very sweet book to have for my children and in helping them understand kindness

    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. All opinions expressed are mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is a wonderful book with a magnificent art and will make an

    This is a wonderful book with a magnificent art and will make an unforgettable gift to any child and he/she will ask you to read it until the book is completely worn out. The presentation is gorgeous: a hardcover book with a beautiful art in the cover and inside. The content is great. The book is written in a very easy language appropriate for children. GramPa Bear gently explain to his Granddaughter Bear the different types of love and the importance of sharing God's love for his creatures.
    This beautiful message is passed in a lovingly way.
    This is a must have in the permanent library of any Christian family that wants to transmit the message of God's love to their child/children.

    This book was written by Lisa Tawn Bergren and illustrated by artist Laura J.Bryant and was published in September of 2009 by WaterBrook Multnomah Books. The publishers were kind enough to provide me a copy for reviewing through their Blogging for Books Program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    This story as the title indicates is all about love. During a fu

    This story as the title indicates is all about love. During a fun outing with her Grampa, Little Cub learns all about love. And this book does a beautiful job of explaining the wonderful gift of love that God has given to us. I really appreciate the tempo of these books. They so thoughtfully unfold God's truths in a way that little one's can understand and grasp. It touches on the different kinds of love that there are, how God always loves us and how sometimes we have to choose to love even when it's not an easy choice. Like when you're upset with a brother or sister, you can still make the choice to love them. I received a copy of this book from Waterbrook Multnomah for the purpose of this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    "God Gave Us Love" by Lisa Tawn Bergren is an adorable

    "God Gave Us Love" by Lisa Tawn Bergren is an adorable story written for children all about love. The basic moral of the book, told through a Grampa polar bear and his adorable grandson polar bear, is that God gave us love, in many forms. The book talks about loving siblings, God's love for his children, love between a mommy and a daddy, and loving people we may not really like. This book is perfect for young children, between ages 1 and 5. The words are simple and easy for young children to understand easily, and the illustrations are adorable. We will definitely be adding this book to the rotation for my three year old. Adorable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This board book is about how much God loves us and how we can sh

    This board book is about how much God loves us and how we can share His love with others. It uses a little girl bear and her grandpa to illustrate these things.

    I have a five year old son and a three year old daughter. So I read this book to them one evening and asked their opinions.

    My opinion - The artwork is really great. The premise for the book is a great idea, but I felt like it might be a bit over my children's head. It's a board book so it seemed deeper than the type of book it was presented in.

    Five year old opinion - He liked the pictures and reading about God, but didn't like that it "talked too much" and that nothing happened.

    Three year old opinion - Her attention kept wandering while I was reading it. When I asked what she thought she said it was nice.

    It's a cute book with a very good "story" so we will be adding it to our collection.
    I received this book free of charge from WaterBrook in exchange for my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    Lisa Tawn Bergren has written another great children's book fill

    Lisa Tawn Bergren has written another great children's book filled with the amazing artwork of Laura Bryant.

    God Gave Us Love is an adorable little board book for any age that illustrates the loving relationship between Little Cub and Grampa as he teaches his grand-daughter patience, sharing, faith and love. Mostly love though - who we are to love; why we love; where love comes from; what love looks like; when we are to show love and how we know we are loved.

    Little Cub becomes quite upset when three playful otters decide to share the same fishing spot she and Grampa had picked out. Right away Grampa has to explain to Little Cub that God wants us to love everyone - especially otters. (I just love how that almost sounds like others)

    When Little Cub asks why we love Grampa explains to her that it is something deep within us that God put there when He creates us. God is Love so He created us to love.

    Little Cub said she didn't want to love the otters like her Mama and Papa love each other with all that kissing and hugging. With a smile on his face Grampa goes on to explain to Little Cub that God gave us all kinds of love and that it brings out the best in us and others.

    Excited by what she had learned Little Cub yelled "group hug!" As the family nestled in close together, nice and tight for a few moments Little Cub realized God was giving them love right then and bringing out the best in them. "Any time we show love, we're sharing a bit of His love."

    In the beginning of the book Little Cub states she loves the otters but she just doesn't like them right now because they are messing up her adventurous fishing trip with Grampa. Later in the book she compares her brother and sister to the pesky otters and Grampa has to remind her that we may not always feel like loving others but choosing love is always right. Love is a choice. We love because God loves us.

    Little Cub becomes curious and wants to know how we know God loves us and Grampa explains that God sent His Son to save us and forgive when we don't make good choices. He reassures her that we won't ever be separated from God because of his God-size love for us.

    What a great story of reassurance that we are all loved and created for love by the One who is LOVE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    god Gave us love

    We received the board book god gave us love to review. My 3 year old loves the God Gave us series. she especially loves that this one is a board book so she can tote it around and flip the pages as she pleases.

    I loved the over all concept that this book teaches. Even if we are bothered or irritated by someone or something, we still need to love them.

    All of the children I read the book to loved the illustrations and story line. The only down fall was that for a board book, it was a little wordy.

    Over all another great addition to our home library

    I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group for Review. This review is my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Great childrens book...!

    First off let me take care of legal business...I received this book "God gave us love by Lisa Tawn Bergren" for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review, ok now let me tell you a little about it. It's a hardback children's book, and upon opening it Khloe and Kamille absolutely loved it. The bears in the story find out about the awesome power and amount of God's love. Throughout the story they learn patience and the gift of loving everyone and everything around them. A keeper in this household, even after reading the book to my little one's they are still looking at it and reading it to each other. Great children's book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Love the pictures

    God Gave Us Love

    by Lisa Tawn Bergren

    art by Laura J. Bryant

    Juvenile Fiction/Board Book

    Christian Family

    Ages: 0-3

    The illustrations: I LOVE picture books and God Gave Us Love is full of beautiful art that captures your attention.

    The text: I think the text is wordy for a board book. In this story, Grandpa polar bear explains to the little cub how God has given us all kinds of love. This is a huge concept that would be better understood by little listeners if the sentences were smaller. I also think it would be a better read-aloud with some rhyme and/or repetition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Good Reminder

    God Gave Us Love By Lisa Tawn Bergren is a sweet story about a little cub asking a lot of really good questions to her Grandpa.
    Little Cub is curious why she has to love the otters. So she starts to ask “What is love?” Grandpa explains that love comes from God, God is love, and God is the one who created us to love. Grandpa then goes into different examples from Little Cubs life of when she should show love because God has given her love to show.
    Overall, the story is sweet and has a good simple message for young readers. I thought that pages of the story jumped rather quickly, but the author seemed to want to get several messages about love across in a short picture book. The illustrations are sweet with mellow colors that are not over stimulating. I also enjoyed the fact that it was Grandpa explaining what love is. Not all children grow up with their parents, so this is a sweet way for children to feel loved when reading this book.
    I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah’s Blogging for Books program for my honest thoughts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Great message!

    Another book in the "God gave us..." line, this book is equally as cute and cuddly, filled with a Christian message of loving one another. The story addresses the different kinds of love we might have, depending on who or what it is for, and reinforces the message that God created us to love and that we should always try to love, even when we do not feel like it.

    A children's book, this version is a smaller board book. Because it is a board book, I expected it to be simpler in wording and shorter in length, as board books are generally geared toward toddlers and very youg children. This book, however, is fairly complex and wordy for little ones, with concepts more advanced than a board book would generally be. Reading it with my 2 year old became frustrating and we eventually gave up because she lost interest when pages did not turn quickly and the story was too deep for her understanding... And this is a child who usually engages in books easily. Because of this, I would say that a recommended audience is ages 4 to 7. Unfortunately, this audience may be less apt to consider reading it as it comes in "baby book" format.

    Still, a great message with a familiar set of characters. Illustrations are soft and warm, inviting and matched to the story. A book I would recommend with the above precUtions as to age appropriateness.

    I was provided a copy of this book through the Waterbrook Multnomah publishing company's Blogging for Books Program.  I was in no way compensated for this review nor was I required to write a positive review.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2