Customer Reviews for

God Gave Us You

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    God Gave Us You: A Beautiful Way to Convey a Meaningful Message

    Shortly after he turned 3, my little boy began asking questions about where he came from. We shared how for years (10 years, in fact) we had asked the Lord for a baby and when the time was just right, He gave him to us. Later on, when our little guy saw someone who was pregnant, he asked if that's how I looked with him. I told him that I got even bigger and I was filled with joy. Then, we came across this book. We got it to read to him at bedtime and we thought it might help him to put the whole process together. Not only did he immediately catch-on to each stage we went through as we waited for his arrival, but also he understood how deeply we wanted him, how grateful we were to have him and how wonderfully God had made him. <BR/><BR/>This is a simply written book that conveys deep concepts. That is hard to do and do well. Lisa Tawn Bergren succeeds on multiple levels. <BR/><BR/>Laura J. Bryant's illustrations are fantastic. They communicate warmth, tenderness and love in a moving way.<BR/><BR/>This story quickly became my son's favorite story and we have to read it no fewer than 3 to 4 times each evening. It is rare that I come across a book-- for children or adults-- that is so amazing. Our son is thrilled with how he came into our lives; he wants to discuss this story and "his" story many times a week. Neither I nor my husband get tired of reading this to our son and we find ourselves reminiscing and talking about this story, too. <BR/><BR/>This is not just a sweet story. "God Gave Us You" imparts a healthy and loving understanding of who we are and how uniquely we are made. I highly recommend this book to you.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    This book made me tear up in the store!

    I came across this book accidentally but knew I had to buy it for my 1 year old niece! The message was beautiful. The bear parents tell the story to their little cub of how excited they were about her pending birth and recall mama bear's pregnancy. The illustrations are interesing and cute...including little winged angel bears. Even though my niece is really young, this is one of those stories she will grow up hearing and I believe will imbue her with a sense of being wanted and loved. In time, I'm sure she will question why the mother's stomach grew or the cub wanted out of his mommy's tummy but how many times does this come up in real life when a younger sibling is on the way? When they ask how this happened, I'm sure they are not expecting a biology lesson. I think the message in the book is a very sweet way to address this issue for very young children and just a lovely story overall.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    Perfect

    This was a gift from my best friend who had her first baby a little over a year before I had Mikayla, and I put it on the shelf with all the other books we'd gotten from showers, and the night I took it off the shelf to read to my daughter I was so glad she fell asleep half way through because I was so choked up I couldn't finish reading it out loud! It couldn't have been written better!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2007

    It made me cry

    Such a heartwarming book about how babies are a special gift from God. It made me cry as I was reading it in the bookstore. Although my son is too young for the book now, I had to buy it so we could read it together someday.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2006

    Heartwarming

    This books makes the reader and the read to warm and fuzzy inside. There are few gifts as precious as our children. This books helps children learn just how precious they really are.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2015

    Great!!

    #1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2015

    I bought this book so I could use it to talk to my daughter abou

    I bought this book so I could use it to talk to my daughter about God giving her to us after a twelve year wait. I love it and how it explains a difficult topic. one of our treasured books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    We love this book.  We have it in the hardcover version and have

    We love this book.  We have it in the hardcover version and have read it to our little girl since she was born.  I've come back to order one as a baby gift.    I'm so happy I did because I stumbled upon &quot;God Gave us Two&quot; which I've now purchased since we have another one on the way.  Right now, my little girl is too young to really understand it but I still am happy to read it to her both because I love it and she loves the picture.  And I can't help but be happy  knowing that from a young age she's already been told how thankful we are that God gave us her.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    Sweet Book to Answer the Dreaded Question

    God Gave Us You answers the dreaded question, "Where did I come from?". My oldest has asked this question and I answered that daddy and I wanted a child so God gave us her - the same as this book. I didn't have a cute story to tell her though so even though I had already told my child this, I still loved this book. It's a sweet story with a cute polar bear cub that my children really enjoyed reading. I also like how it expresses to my kids how blessed my husband and I are to have them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Lisa Tawn Bergren has written a delightful Christian book for a toddler. The book kept my little ones attention right to the end. Really sweet way to explain how the little bear came to live with his folks. The illustrations are darling, and show a loving family really wanting what God has chosen to give them.
    I highly recommend this wonderful book!

    I was provided with a copy of this book by the publisher, and was not required to give a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LISA T. BERGREN'S "GOD GAVE US YOU" (REVIEW)

    LISA TAWN BERGREN'S "GOD GAVE US YOU" (A REVIEW)

    This was a beautiful little book meant for ages 0 to 5 years. The story employs the theme of a family of polar bears telling their young cub how she came to be and why they were so blessed by God to have her. A definite must read for any family with children of this age. The illustrations are beautiful and the story is simply adorable.


    -Kitty Bullard / Great Minds Think Aloud Book Club

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    Charming Bedtime Book!

    I signed up with Blogging for Books through WaterBrook Multnomah Publishers and requested the book God Gave Us You by Lisa Tawn Bergren, illustrated by Laura J. Bryant.

    This is a story of bedtime where an inquisitive little polar bear questions where she came from and with every answer given by her mother, questions further as young children are known to do. It always comes back to the reason "God gave us you!"

    The book is beautifully illustrated. It is a cuddly, tuck-in-bed book. My favorite line is, "Every night I prayed for you, my special child. I prayed that your bones would be straight and your heart would be strong. But most of all, I prayed that someday you would love God." Makes me teary as this is my greatest desire for my children.

    As I mentioned above, this book is part of the Blogging for Books program. I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for an unbiased review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Beautiful reminder that babies are blessings from above!

    When my aunt was pregnant with both of her kids each night during her pregnancy she read the same book to her unborn child. I have always thought that this was a really neat idea and I plan on doing it with my own children, and now I have the perfect book to do it with - "God Gave Us You" by Lisa Tawn Bergen with art by Laura J. Bryant.


    This story takes place at bedtime as Little Cub is being tucked in by her mama she asks, "Mama, where did I come from?" A perfectly sweet and innocent question which Mama answers with, "From God." Mama continues to explain to Little Cub about how before she was born her and Papa were alone but they wanted to have a baby. The entire time Mama is explaining this Little Cub continues to ask more questions like, "And then what happened" ("You started getting bigger.. ..And my tummy got bigger.."). Mama continues to explain the joy that they had while waiting for Little Cub to arrive. Then tells of how when it was time they went to the hospital and Little Cub was born. When they got home "We just stared and stared, wondering at the miracle of incredible you." This is such a sweet story and a great reminder that babies truly are blessings from above.



    I am very happy that the publisher WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group sent me a copy of this book to review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    A Must Have!

    Continuing in the "God Gave Us" Series by Lisa T. Bergren and Laura J. Bryant is a stunning triology called "God Gave Us So Much". There are enough words to the story to keep my 5 year olds attention (I frequently will read chapter books to her, so alot of picture books are too short for her) yet the words are simple enough that a younger 2 or 3 year old would also be able to keep up with the plot.

    I'm always watching for clearance sales, and normally that is how I purchase books for my kids as well. Forget that with this book, it is a full price keeper! And there are actually 3 stories in book - "God Gave Us The World", "God Gave Us Love", & "God Gave Us Heaven". This is one of those books that is so special to my family I can see keeping it to pass down to my grandkids.

    The illustrations & paper quality are the best. I actually find myself wanting to open up this book and touch the pages and look at the beautiful watercolor paintings without even reading the book! There is just the right amount of God in this book that I think it would still be a wonderful book for a family that doesn't typically buy children's books with a religious theme.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This is the most beautiful book to have in your own child's library or to give as a gift.

    I heard this book for the first time this year. I absolutely fell in love with it. My children are all grown with children, and my grandchildren may be a bit too old for it, but I purchased it anyway to add to my library. It is the sweetest story to read about how God chose the child to be with their parents. Not frightening...just sweet. I also purchased it for a baby shower gift, and will continue to use it as my signature book for new babies. I truly fell in love with the the story line and the illustrations. The author did a wonderful job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    Outstanding! New favorite of my daughter

    I bought this book because I read it in the store and it was so sweet it made me cry right there. It is a lovely story told by a momma bear to her baby cub of how she came to be in this world, the excitement of waiting for her, the joy of her arrival, and why momma and daddy would not trade her for all the world. Because God gave US YOU! It is a really sweet and simple way to introduce or re-inforce God to a little one. My daughter is one and she asks for it all the time. The illustrations are beautiful as well. This is a great book for your child or as a gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Important message, but not everyone's story

    I love the message in God Gave Us You. I have been reading it to my daughter since she was still in my belly, and it never gets tiring. It still brings a tear to my eye everytime we read it together. The whole point of teaching that God chooses the right parents for the right kids is awesome. However, the book addresses the cub's arrival by his mother going into labor and having a regular birth, which is not my daughter's arrival story at all. She actually starts asking questions like, "Is that how you felt, Mama," or "Did Daddy have to rush you to the hospital, too?", yet she is too young to tell the real story (c-section, very sick mom). Why can't books leave that part out? It would not have changed the storyline at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    WHAT A HEART WARMING DELIGHT

    I bought this book for my very first grandchild before she was even born. It is a delightful book that conveys the message of how special she is not just to her Mom and Dad but to God Himself. This is an excellent choice as a new-parent gift that will hold special meaning to the parents and child; one of the favorites that will be read time and time again.
    There is a review that indicates this book is about adoption but if you read the book, you learn that it clearly is not. Lisa Tawn Bergren does write a tender, loving book about adoption entitled, God Found Us You.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    Great book NOT about adoption

    This is a great book for kids and babies. Before buying it I read someone's review on it and it said that the bear was adopted. This is NOT true. Wonderful book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A DELIGHT!

    This is the sweetest book with such an important message. As a brand-new grandma of twins who have had a difficult time, this touching book brought tears to my eyes. We gave it as a gift to those new little girls to remind them of how very precious they are. The illustrations are lovely, comforting and engaging. The book is a total delight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2