Customer Reviews for

The God I Never Knew: How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit Can Change Your Life

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A MUST Read For All Christians - You MUST Come To Know The Holy Spirit

Not knowing anything about this author, I picked up this book and began to read. It was great right from the start! It was about how everyone knows God and Jesus but forgets the Holy Spirit. But the Holy Spirit IS the part of God and Jesus that you and I CAN KNOW, can t...
Not knowing anything about this author, I picked up this book and began to read. It was great right from the start! It was about how everyone knows God and Jesus but forgets the Holy Spirit. But the Holy Spirit IS the part of God and Jesus that you and I CAN KNOW, can talk to, can pray for us, can help us. The Holy Spirit is the part of the trinity that can be CLOSEST TO US. I was so excited to be reading about a book encouraging me to work on building my friendship with the Holy Spirit. I had never really heard much emphasis on the Holy Spirit, yet as this book points out, the Holy Spirit is God WITH US NOW. God is in heaven. Jesus is on his right hand. But the Holy Spirit is WITH US NOW!


The author goes into how the Holy Spirit can help us know what to say in difficult or uncomfortable times and also warn us not to say certain inappropriate things at times. The H.S. guides us through life and tells us to talk to so-and-so or take that job or go to that college or help that person or avoid that house, etc. The Holy Spirit is a super natural spirit guide. How can we know the WILL OF GOD? Through the Holy Spirit.


Many Christians never fully let the H.S. into their lives. They might let one foot in, but that's it. When we keep control of our lives, we struggle with sins and make poor life choices. If we were t0 let the H.S. into our lives, we could become so much more as Christians. We are always praying for God to be in our lives and help us, but we don't let God/the Holy Spirit truly into our lives to make these changes.

TONGUES: Author correctly interprets "tongues" as "languages". He explains the Greeks heard those speaking tongues as speaking Greek. Those who were from Crete, heard THE SAME PEOPLE speaking Cretan. (pg 72) "On the day of Pentecost, God removed language as a barrier from knowing Him."

I received this book free of charge from the publisher in exchange for this review but I did really give my honest opinion

posted by mirandi on July 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not What I was Expecting

I recently received an advance reading copy of The God I Never Knew , How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit can Change Your Life. The author, the senior pastor of Gateway Church in Dallas, Texas, Robert Morris conducts a plain, easy approach to the Holy Spirit. He go...
I recently received an advance reading copy of The God I Never Knew , How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit can Change Your Life. The author, the senior pastor of Gateway Church in Dallas, Texas, Robert Morris conducts a plain, easy approach to the Holy Spirit. He goes into detail to explain that the Holy Spirit should not be feared, but revered, as the other two members of the Trinity. The Holy Spirit is the promised comforter that Christ spoke of in John 14.


Morris breaks the book into "Parts", not chapters. In reading this book you will review topics such as the different gifts of the Holy Spirt, along with instruction on various controversies surrounding the work of this member of the Triune God. Being of a fundamental Baptist mindset, I did find some of this work to be quite challenging, especially the part about 3 separate Baptisms in the life of the believer. We'll just agree to disagree.


The author at times seems to have a convoluted presentation of his material. If you come to this book and are not part of a charismatic worship assembly, you will take issue with some of the ideas presented.


I would rate the book 2 out of 5 stars, and would not recommend this book to a new believer.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through their bloggers review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

posted by McDawg81 on June 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    The God I Never Knew

    After reading The God I Never Knew by Robert Morris, I have gained a new understanding of who the Holy Spirit is. The author has been in the ministry 25+ years and has authored many books. It is obvious from reading this book that Morris has a deep and meaningful relationship with the Holy Spirit. But Morris doesn't make you feel bad or guilty if you don't have the same relationship - he simply encourages you to begin today to let the Holy Spirit change your life.
    This is the first book I have read devoted solely about the Holy Spirit. There is no question in my mind that the more Christians learn and gain understanding about the 3rd member of the trinity, it will only strengthen their walk with the Lord. Morris begins the book by acknowledging that there are people that might be hesitant or basically closed off with learning more about the Holy Spirit, but he addresses these feelings quickly. Morris recognizes that most people are uncomfortable with the mere idea of the Holy Spirit - especially if we believe what society believes. But if we take the time to learn more from the Bible about who He is, then hopefully those misgivings will disappear. I appreciated that Morris addresses the fact that most of society thinks that the Holy Spirit is "strange." That people who are "spirit-filled" are strange. Morris writes, "I am convinced that one of Satan's primary strategies for keeping people from experiencing all the amazing help and benefits that come from a relationship with the Holy Spirit is to convince us that doing so will make us weird - really weird!" (pg 20). This section was important to me because a part of me had some of these thoughts. I was willing to let the Holy Spirit in, but only on my terms. A real friendship with the Holy Spirit can change people's lives. Here are the big ideas that really spoke to me. First, the Holy Spirit is a person and fully God. This is vital to believe because we must develop a personal relationship with him. Only then can He work within us. And because He is fully God, He knows everything, all at once, all the time (pg 49). Second, He is our helper and we need Him. The Holy Spirit has gifts He wants to give us, but we have to receive those gifts. We have to be open to His power. Morris explains, "Yet His power only operates to the degree that we allow Him to change us.We have to yield. Our stubborn, prideful selves have to submit" (pg 122). Morris backs up everything he writes with scripture from the Bible. To me, providing the scriptures that say the truth about the Holy Spirit is overwhelming "evidence" that we must have the Holy Spirit in our lives. Not doing so only gives us a small glimpse of the life that God created us to live. And third, God created us to be in intimacy with the Holy Spirit. The bottom line is simple: The Holy Spirit wants us and we need Him. Author Robert Morris took a difficult and complex topic and made it easy for someone like me (one who doesn't have as much experience and knowledge about the Holy Spirit as I'd like to have) to fully appreciate the role the Holy Spirit would like to play in my life. When I'm reading a book that is truly teaching me something, I have a highlighter and a pen at the ready; this book is filled with many highlights.
    *FTC Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Worth the time to read

    "THE GOD I NEVER KNEW", by Robert Morris


    I requested a review copy of "The God I Never Knew" because I recognize I have long neglected the influence and presence of the Holy Spirit in my own life.  I was one of those who grew up in a denomination where I was given poor teaching and theology regarding the Holy Spirit, so I grew fearful and reserved about His role in my daily Christian life.  Over the course of years, I flip-flopped from one extreme of Holy Spirit theology to the opposite, and I don't believe either of them are/were biblically healthy.

    I read "The God I Never Knew" with an open mind; with a fresh set of lenses, as though I was discovering the Holy Spirit with the faith of a first-time reader of the Bible.  I was open to learning fresh what the Bible has to say about the Holy Spirit, and as a result, I'm pleased I read this book.  Maybe the Holy Spirit knew I was ready to receive something about Him from scratch; I certainly won't call it coincidence.

    The chapters in the book are divided into themes about who the Holy Spirit is, what His character is like, how He came "onto the scene", His gifts, the baptism & filling (although I'm not sure I see a difference theologically), and the controversies over speaking in tongues in public and the use of tongues as a spiritual prayer language.

    Morris approached the topics biblically and candidly from his vantage point.  His writing is simple to read and not too heady.  There were moments when I had to pause my reading to contemplate what was being conveyed, but all-in-all it was not a difficult one to read.  He breaks down 1 Corinthians 14 and other passages quite well, making good arguments for the role of the Spirit in believers today.  I'm sure he did not intend this book to be the final authority on all that is of the Holy Spirit, but he convinced me to trust the Spirit and look into His role further.

    DISLIKES: I have one major dislike, and that is the overuse of the word "amazing" (or a derivative thereof).  Sadly, Hollywood (via reality TV) has taken this word hostage and it seems to have lost its true meaning.  Morris used "amazing" (or amazed) no fewer than 28 times in the book's 198 pages.  That equates to one use per every 7 pages!

    I recognize this book is an "advance reading copy" and has not been finalized, but there are other corrections that need to be made by the editor prior to official release.  There were several misspelled or misused (correctly spelled but used in the wrong context) words.  Additionally, on page 60 there was a complete sentence repeated immediately one after the other.  Verbatim.  It was obviously not a literary technique, but a "copy and paste" error.  Minor errors, but never-the-less these are some of the mistakes I'd like to see corrected.

    RATING: All-in-all, I give "The God I Never Knew" 4 stars.  It was biblically sound, it was pretty well written, and it caused me to consider my position (right, wrong, or indifferent)...and isn't that all an author can hope to accomplish?


    I received this book free of charge in exchange for my unbiased opinion. I was not threatened or coerced to provide a positive review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    The God I Never Knew is a wonderful book to read and have in you

    The God I Never Knew is a wonderful book to read and have in your library. This book speaks volume of the Holy Spirit, the reasons we receive the Holy Spirit, and how to develop a relationship with the Holy Spirit. It is also a wake-up call on how we treat the Holy Spirit. This book has life changing and divine insight that brings understanding to us about the third-party of the Trinity. In building a relationship with the Holy Spirit it takes communication, something that is often lacking and little of in a relationship. I would recommend this book to anyone to read not just for pleasure, but for wisdom and understanding.

    “I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review”.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2012

    Must Read: The God I Never Knew

    Are you looking for a closer friend? Read The God I Never Knew. Pastor Robert Morris encourages and exhorts believers longing for intimacy in their relationship with God to become friends with the Holy Spirit, the third person of the Trinity. Being raised up in a conservative denomination, Robert Morris describes the mental blocks he had that prevented him from receiving the abundant life that the Holy Spirit brings to the life of the believer. He gracefully dismantles the misconceptions most people have regarding the Holy Spirit and bridges the gap between the mystical and the practical. Morris emphasizes that the Holy Spirit isn’t weird and leads the reader on a journey through the word that equips and prepares the believer to open their heart to receive the promise of the Father to endue us with the power to be more effective in what God has called us to do.

    Pastor Robert addresses everything that makes people nervous about the topic: Gifts of the Spirit, Manifestations, Speaking in Tongues and more. This book is the one of the best that I’ve read on the subject of the person of the Holy Spirit and is an invitation to benefit from the bountiful blessings that await all us who are ready to take a closer step to God. I’ve already purchased a copy for a friend and I am giving my free copy away to someone else who has feared this topic. I highly recommend you put this on your reading list for 2012. I received this book for free as part of the Blogging for Books program in exchange for my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Worth Reading!!

    I am experiencing a good understanding of Holy Spirit. The explanations and examples along with scripture references by Mr. Morris is so easily understood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    A great exposition of the biblical truth of the Holy Spirit

    I received a pre-release copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my review.

    I wasn't sure what to expect when I got this book, but chose it specifically because I wanted to investigate more about the Holy Spirit. Morris did not disappoint with his tackling of what can be a very difficult and controversial topic.

    He gives very detailed descriptions of how the Holy Spirit operated in scripture with plenty of scripture references. He then goes on to explain how he believes (and has seen acted out in his own life) that all of those things are still available to believers today. I believe that the book was very thorough and has left me with much to think about concerning the role of the Holy Spirit in my own life.

    My only disappointment was that I would have liked him to have a chapter discussing his opinions of the major arguments of cessationists.

    All in all, I recommend this book to all Christians, especially those who feel a tugging on their souls by the Holy Spirit to look for what they might be missing in their relationship with God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    The God I Never Knew

    "The God I Never Knew" by Robert Morris focuses on the third person of the Trinity - the Holy Spirit.

    The author covers several aspects of the Holy Spirit, including:

    1. His relationship with us as friend, helper, and God.
    2. Personality and Soul.
    3. How He enters into our lives and gives us God's power.
    4. Some of the gifts the Holy Spirit gives us.
    5. Controversy over Pentecost and the speaking of tongues.

    Also, Morris mentions other points:

    1. Making time to be alone with God needs to be the priority in our lives.
    2. 4 benefits of your friendship with the Holy Spirit.
    3. The Holy Spirit's role is to glorify Jesus Christ.

    While all may not agree with the book's thoughts on the Holy Spirit, the title will challenge you to reconsider your own thoughts of Him and Who He is.

    Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Great Overview of the Holy Spirit!

    I've previously read a few books on the subject of the Holy Spirit. One of my personal favorites is The Beauty Of Spiritual Language by Jack Hayford which was the first book I read on this topic back in 2002. This slim volume by Morris covers a lot of information regarding the Holy Spirit. Some topics covered are: His personality, the difference between being of and in the Holy Spirit, the three baptisms, the different gifts given by the Holy Spirit, different controversies, etc. Reading this book I learned some new things. Morris covers topics regarding the Holy Spirit that others don't. Depending on the denomination you grew up in you might learn a lot you didn't know, or you may be shaking your head in agreement. I grew up Presbyterian so I think my denomination believed in only two baptisms (coming to salvation and water baptism) and they believe that when you come to faith the Holy Spirit enters in you. For Morris this would be considered the baptism of the Holy Spirit, which is what you get when you come to faith and accept Christ. I have yet to have the baptism in the Holy Spirit, which is where Jesus baptizes me with the Holy Spirit. It sounds confusing. The only thing is I have not been properly dunked, but sprinkled, so I still need to get dunked before I can have the baptism in the Holy Spirit. If you are interested in learning more about the Holy Spirit I would recommend this book. It doesn't come out till August, but it's worth the wait. I think this book is a nice intro and covers a lot of ground for such a slim volume. I received my free ARC copy of The God I Never Knew by Robert Morris from Waterbrook/Multnomah Press for the strict purposes of posting a review. This is via their Blogging for Books program and my review is solely mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Challenging, Gracious and Encouraging!

    I've been thinking about the Holy Spirit for a long time, in many contexts. I grew up in a church where we invited the Holy Spirit to come and move, was part of a group dedicated to getting to know the Spirit in college and have experienced many times of sleep and awakening to the power of this Third Person of the Trinity. Needless to say, I was interested in what Robert Morris would say. I cried within the first 10 pages. This is not a normal thing for me. I found that the book was written humbly, with much grace, and apparently, with much prayer. It's obviously a sticky topic for many people, and Robert acknowledges that, and quotes numerous Scriptures to back up his prose. I have rarely seen a book written about such controversial topics delivered in such a clear-headed, loving way. I think that this would be a wonderful introduction to the person of the Holy Spirit and His role in our lives, but I also found something to encourage and challenge me a little further down that road. I didn't agree with everything in this book. I doubt that there is a book (especially a work of theology) with which I completely agree, however, I found merit here and would recommend it, regardless of your previous involvement with the Holy Spirit. In this season of Ordinary Time, we focus on the early church as seen through the lens of Acts. We walk with them as they find their feet in a new world with new rules and new Help. What a wonderful thing to be reminded that we still have the ability to walk in those steps, should we allow God to work in us, today. This book will be published on August 16, 2011.

    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1