Customer Reviews for

The God I Never Knew: How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit Can Change Your Life

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A MUST Read For All Christians - You MUST Come To Know The Holy Spirit

Not knowing anything about this author, I picked up this book and began to read. It was great right from the start! It was about how everyone knows God and Jesus but forgets the Holy Spirit. But the Holy Spirit IS the part of God and Jesus that you and I CAN KNOW, can t...
Not knowing anything about this author, I picked up this book and began to read. It was great right from the start! It was about how everyone knows God and Jesus but forgets the Holy Spirit. But the Holy Spirit IS the part of God and Jesus that you and I CAN KNOW, can talk to, can pray for us, can help us. The Holy Spirit is the part of the trinity that can be CLOSEST TO US. I was so excited to be reading about a book encouraging me to work on building my friendship with the Holy Spirit. I had never really heard much emphasis on the Holy Spirit, yet as this book points out, the Holy Spirit is God WITH US NOW. God is in heaven. Jesus is on his right hand. But the Holy Spirit is WITH US NOW!


The author goes into how the Holy Spirit can help us know what to say in difficult or uncomfortable times and also warn us not to say certain inappropriate things at times. The H.S. guides us through life and tells us to talk to so-and-so or take that job or go to that college or help that person or avoid that house, etc. The Holy Spirit is a super natural spirit guide. How can we know the WILL OF GOD? Through the Holy Spirit.


Many Christians never fully let the H.S. into their lives. They might let one foot in, but that's it. When we keep control of our lives, we struggle with sins and make poor life choices. If we were t0 let the H.S. into our lives, we could become so much more as Christians. We are always praying for God to be in our lives and help us, but we don't let God/the Holy Spirit truly into our lives to make these changes.

TONGUES: Author correctly interprets "tongues" as "languages". He explains the Greeks heard those speaking tongues as speaking Greek. Those who were from Crete, heard THE SAME PEOPLE speaking Cretan. (pg 72) "On the day of Pentecost, God removed language as a barrier from knowing Him."

I received this book free of charge from the publisher in exchange for this review but I did really give my honest opinion

posted by mirandi on July 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not very deep and didn't answer tough questions

We always read about God and Jesus but no one ever talks about the Holy Spirit. So I was really looking forward to this book. However, I was a little disappointed because I didn't really learn anything all that new. We already know the HS is our comforter, our helper, o...
We always read about God and Jesus but no one ever talks about the Holy Spirit. So I was really looking forward to this book. However, I was a little disappointed because I didn't really learn anything all that new. We already know the HS is our comforter, our helper, our guide. We know that he prays for us.

I wish this book showed a deeper connection and answered the hard questions. Like about his indwelling, how HS is different from God/Jesus, how HS relates to God/Jesus, how HS can be taken from you? You can lose the HS? Why does the NT talk about the HS only coming upon some people AFTER hands were laid on them? And whose hands must be laid? Not just anybody per the NT - so Peter and John had to travel to the city in which Paul was preaching to lay hands on people. What is this mysterious HS? What about tongues?

Disclaimer: Received from publisher for this review.

posted by poohbeargirl on June 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A MUST Read For All Christians - You MUST Come To Know The Holy Spirit

    Not knowing anything about this author, I picked up this book and began to read. It was great right from the start! It was about how everyone knows God and Jesus but forgets the Holy Spirit. But the Holy Spirit IS the part of God and Jesus that you and I CAN KNOW, can talk to, can pray for us, can help us. The Holy Spirit is the part of the trinity that can be CLOSEST TO US. I was so excited to be reading about a book encouraging me to work on building my friendship with the Holy Spirit. I had never really heard much emphasis on the Holy Spirit, yet as this book points out, the Holy Spirit is God WITH US NOW. God is in heaven. Jesus is on his right hand. But the Holy Spirit is WITH US NOW!


    The author goes into how the Holy Spirit can help us know what to say in difficult or uncomfortable times and also warn us not to say certain inappropriate things at times. The H.S. guides us through life and tells us to talk to so-and-so or take that job or go to that college or help that person or avoid that house, etc. The Holy Spirit is a super natural spirit guide. How can we know the WILL OF GOD? Through the Holy Spirit.


    Many Christians never fully let the H.S. into their lives. They might let one foot in, but that's it. When we keep control of our lives, we struggle with sins and make poor life choices. If we were t0 let the H.S. into our lives, we could become so much more as Christians. We are always praying for God to be in our lives and help us, but we don't let God/the Holy Spirit truly into our lives to make these changes.

    TONGUES: Author correctly interprets "tongues" as "languages". He explains the Greeks heard those speaking tongues as speaking Greek. Those who were from Crete, heard THE SAME PEOPLE speaking Cretan. (pg 72) "On the day of Pentecost, God removed language as a barrier from knowing Him."

    I received this book free of charge from the publisher in exchange for this review but I did really give my honest opinion

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    The Third Person explained

    The God I Never Knew by Robert Morris had one goal which was to show "how real friendship with the Holy Spirit can change your life." The author further explains that his ultimate goal is to "stimulate you hunger for God." Both of these goals were met and exceeded.

    Robert Morris explains the who, the what and the how of the Holy Spirit. Throughout the book he uses biblical references to show the promise of His coming and how He works through us once received. He also uses personal reflections and experiences regarding the Holy Spirit.

    The author makes a clear distinction between the two ways of receiving the Holy Spirit through baptism and confirmation. Most Christians regard baptism as a necessary sacrament to be received, however confirmation, baptism of the Holy Spirit, is disregarded. Robert Morris is thorough in his explanation about the importance and need for baptism of the Holy Spirit. At the end of each chapter he challenges the reader to reflect on his/her baptism of the Holy Spirit.

    Overall, Robert Morris is successful in inciting the curiosity of the reader to learn more about the Holy Spirit and His work. This book will definitely open the eyes of the reader while leaving him/her wanting more.

    Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2014

    Read This Book

    I never understood how close the Holy Spirit really is to a beluever. This book changed me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    awesome book! only if you had more available it would be a help. had to order more from amazon since there were none available through b&n

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    Highly Recommended!!

    I cannot believe that I haven't been taught this at church. Paul considered this info an elementary part of the Christian faith, yet this is the first time I've heard it broken down. Should be mandatory teaching! Best ever book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Awesome book!!

    This book helped me to understand so much more about the gifts I have received from God!!! Thank you!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    Highly Recommended-Reading is Believing

    I have read this book and received great insight to questions I have had. I saw the author's interview on TV and was intrigued by what the I heard. The book is written in layman's terms and is easy to understand. He also gives evidence of what he has written. Don't miss out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!

    Once again Pastor Robert Morris brings indepth teaching that brings to light truths that can be understood by everyone from the novice to the scholar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Recommended For Conservatives and Not Just For Charistmatics & Pentacostals

    While this book probably won't totally blow you away, it will make enough of an impression that it could change your whole life - so it is worth the read. When I first read this book, I thought it was probably just written for Charismatics and Pentacostals. I didn't think I would like it. But being a Reformed/Conservative/Presbyterian/Calvinist, I wanted a life changing book, and I think God the Holy Spirit speaks to me through this book.

    The book covers why the Holy Spirit and Charistmatics have a bad name and explains away a lot of anti-Holy Spirit teachings that conservatives have grown up with. The best part of the book is that it explains the benefits of becoming FRIENDS WITH THE HOLY SPIRIT. We should know God The Holy Spirit. Not Just God and Jesus. It is through God the Holy Spirit that God the father and son are able to change us. This is how we will know God's will, becoming stronger, kinder, more loving - through the power of the Holy Spirit.

    I just finished the chapter on the Holy Spirit in John MacArthur's Fundamentals of Faith and this book supports the same teaching that it is GOD THE HOLY SPIRIT that gave Jesus and the Apostles all their power - the power to preach, do miracles, etc. After studying up on the Holy Spirit and reading these two books, I now feel like the Holy Spirit is THE MOST IMPORTANT PART OF THE TRINITY in our daily lives today. In Christianity, He is so neglected, but in truth, HE IS THE ONE THAT CHANGES YOUR SINNER LIFE INTO A CHRISTIAN GODLY LIFE. Without the Holy Spirit, how will we overcome all our problems? How will we preach if we don't have the power of the Holy Spirit?

    5 stars because: Morris teaches that tongues and miracles are still relevant today and not done away with after the apostles like some conservative's teach. Morris has a good case and I'm going to have to re-research my position here. But he uses scripture fairly well to back up his belief and he does a pretty good job at that. So even if I don't agree 100% with his ideas, at least he's done a good job backing them up and this makes me go back to the drawing board and re-research my view to see who really is interpreting the bible correctly.

    I'm not sure I trust the last chapters 16-19 of this book - focused on tongues. Morris comes from a Charismatic perspective and some of his writing comes across as "selling" tongues to me. Is this a name-it-claim-it prosperity gospel teacher? I will have to YouTube Morris and find out more about him. I would want to know if Morris is another Joel Osteen, Joyce Meyer, Andrew Wommack, Creflo Dollar, etc.

    The natural inclination for a conservative Christian is to agree with the reviewer, "I'm not sure the Holy Spirit really works this way" but I must say, even being an ultra conservative Christian, I know a friend who gets "promptings" that truly must be the Holy Spirit because they've proven accurate and guided my friend even though this friend is not Charismatic. The Holy Spirit is real and can and does talk to us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1