BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

God Loves Broken People: And Those Who Pretend They're Not

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Encouraging!

Several months ago, I heard Sheila Walsh speak for the first time on a Focus on the Family broadcast. I had heard of her, but didn't know much about her.

This particular day I was home sick and laying in bed depressed. I decided to turn on the radio to 570 AM for so...
Several months ago, I heard Sheila Walsh speak for the first time on a Focus on the Family broadcast. I had heard of her, but didn't know much about her.

This particular day I was home sick and laying in bed depressed. I decided to turn on the radio to 570 AM for some encouragement.

Sheila Walsh was introduced and began to speak about her life. I felt as if she was speaking directly to me. The Holy Spirit was using her to minister to me in a deep way that I found myself in tears.


She left such an impression that when I saw God Loves Broken People (And Those Who Pretend They're Not) I knew I wanted to read and review it.

Sheila Walsh is an eloquent speaker. She is also a wonderful story teller and bible teacher. I appreciated her honesty and transparency in her writing. There is no fluff, Sheila Walsh tells it like it is. She also writes with a heart of compassion and love for people which is revealed on every page of this book.

I identified and resonated with what she wrote on page 45:

"God isn't some cosmic jukebox in the sky, from which, so long as you have the right coin, you get to pick the soundtrack for your life. Those who peddle a health-and-wealth message have wounded uncounted thousands who are left reeling with only one conclusion: The reason that my child died, or that my marriage failed, or that we lost our house . . . is because I didn't have enough faith.

That is beyond cruel; it is blaphemous. Christ never promised an easy path. He never said there would be roses with no thorns, or seasons without winter, or pathways without obstacles. In fact it is quite the opposite."

This was comforting for me to read. For years I felt condemned by Christians because they would judge me for being depressed. They would accuse me of lacking faith because was hurting and struggling with depression. I'm so glad I no longer believe those lies.

Sheila Walsh addresses these misconceptions and more in God Loves Broken People. She also touches upon the hard questions we wrestle with as believers. Those questions we are afraid to ask others or even talk to God about. This book gave me encouragement and hope.

If you are hurting, depressed, struggling, suffering or wondering why bad things happen, I highly recommend God Loves Broken People.

In conclusion, I want to thank BookSneeze for blessing me with a complimentary copy of this book to read and review.

posted by Sister-P on June 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

God Loves Broken People: And Those Who Pretend They're Not By Sheila Walsh

The other side of brokenness "If I could write only one book in my lifetime, I would ask God to make it this one, the very book you now hold in your hands. . . ."¿Sheila Walsh God loves broken people. And when weary, wounded men and women find a way to open their bruise...
The other side of brokenness "If I could write only one book in my lifetime, I would ask God to make it this one, the very book you now hold in your hands. . . ."¿Sheila Walsh God loves broken people. And when weary, wounded men and women find a way to open their bruised hearts and somehow welcome Him into their personal darkness, they will find a love beyond anything they have ever known. When the glass house Sheila had lived in for so many years came crashing to the ground, she began a new life outside the safety of those walls. No, it didn't feel good, nor safe¿not at all. But it felt true. Sheila saw herself as a broken lamb limping after the Shepherd, not knowing where He was going, but knowing that wherever He went, she wanted to go with Him. I have read other books by Sheila and I really enjoy her writing. She uses her life experiences in many of her books, as she did this one. It is always nice to know someone else has suffered and sinned, etc. just as you have. But this book of Sheila's was very different from her other writings that it really turned me off a bit, it was not uplifting nor was it encouraging to me at all. For instance she writes in one chapter titled 'Fierce Love & Halloween Grace' she writes: "I call this kind of grace 'Halloween grace,' because it wears an unanticipated costume. (Halloween Costumes) don't 'necessarily give any clue to the sort of kid on the inside. Grace can be like that too.'" "But in each case His grace wears a slightly different costume." This comparison totally turned me off and was very hard for me to swallow. There are many typos in her book as well as repetitive writing with the same point being repeated. The personal narratives were of no use to me either. I felt she left out some very useful bible based advise for the reader. This was not one of Sheila Walsh's finest books at all, it was not very well thought out, it was very disorganized. I did like some parts of the book, such as chapter 6 was very well written and the sad part is the whole book could be summed up in this chapter. I don't want to turn anyone off from reading Sheila Walsh's writing's because she has written some wonderful and useful books, this one unfortunately was not one of them I am sorry to say. I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program.

posted by JodyJ on March 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    God Loves Broken People: And Those Who Pretend They're Not By Sheila Walsh

    The other side of brokenness "If I could write only one book in my lifetime, I would ask God to make it this one, the very book you now hold in your hands. . . ."¿Sheila Walsh God loves broken people. And when weary, wounded men and women find a way to open their bruised hearts and somehow welcome Him into their personal darkness, they will find a love beyond anything they have ever known. When the glass house Sheila had lived in for so many years came crashing to the ground, she began a new life outside the safety of those walls. No, it didn't feel good, nor safe¿not at all. But it felt true. Sheila saw herself as a broken lamb limping after the Shepherd, not knowing where He was going, but knowing that wherever He went, she wanted to go with Him. I have read other books by Sheila and I really enjoy her writing. She uses her life experiences in many of her books, as she did this one. It is always nice to know someone else has suffered and sinned, etc. just as you have. But this book of Sheila's was very different from her other writings that it really turned me off a bit, it was not uplifting nor was it encouraging to me at all. For instance she writes in one chapter titled 'Fierce Love & Halloween Grace' she writes: "I call this kind of grace 'Halloween grace,' because it wears an unanticipated costume. (Halloween Costumes) don't 'necessarily give any clue to the sort of kid on the inside. Grace can be like that too.'" "But in each case His grace wears a slightly different costume." This comparison totally turned me off and was very hard for me to swallow. There are many typos in her book as well as repetitive writing with the same point being repeated. The personal narratives were of no use to me either. I felt she left out some very useful bible based advise for the reader. This was not one of Sheila Walsh's finest books at all, it was not very well thought out, it was very disorganized. I did like some parts of the book, such as chapter 6 was very well written and the sad part is the whole book could be summed up in this chapter. I don't want to turn anyone off from reading Sheila Walsh's writing's because she has written some wonderful and useful books, this one unfortunately was not one of them I am sorry to say. I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    Encouraging!

    Several months ago, I heard Sheila Walsh speak for the first time on a Focus on the Family broadcast. I had heard of her, but didn't know much about her.

    This particular day I was home sick and laying in bed depressed. I decided to turn on the radio to 570 AM for some encouragement.

    Sheila Walsh was introduced and began to speak about her life. I felt as if she was speaking directly to me. The Holy Spirit was using her to minister to me in a deep way that I found myself in tears.


    She left such an impression that when I saw God Loves Broken People (And Those Who Pretend They're Not) I knew I wanted to read and review it.

    Sheila Walsh is an eloquent speaker. She is also a wonderful story teller and bible teacher. I appreciated her honesty and transparency in her writing. There is no fluff, Sheila Walsh tells it like it is. She also writes with a heart of compassion and love for people which is revealed on every page of this book.

    I identified and resonated with what she wrote on page 45:

    "God isn't some cosmic jukebox in the sky, from which, so long as you have the right coin, you get to pick the soundtrack for your life. Those who peddle a health-and-wealth message have wounded uncounted thousands who are left reeling with only one conclusion: The reason that my child died, or that my marriage failed, or that we lost our house . . . is because I didn't have enough faith.

    That is beyond cruel; it is blaphemous. Christ never promised an easy path. He never said there would be roses with no thorns, or seasons without winter, or pathways without obstacles. In fact it is quite the opposite."

    This was comforting for me to read. For years I felt condemned by Christians because they would judge me for being depressed. They would accuse me of lacking faith because was hurting and struggling with depression. I'm so glad I no longer believe those lies.

    Sheila Walsh addresses these misconceptions and more in God Loves Broken People. She also touches upon the hard questions we wrestle with as believers. Those questions we are afraid to ask others or even talk to God about. This book gave me encouragement and hope.

    If you are hurting, depressed, struggling, suffering or wondering why bad things happen, I highly recommend God Loves Broken People.

    In conclusion, I want to thank BookSneeze for blessing me with a complimentary copy of this book to read and review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    I wish I had had this book years ago. Although there is a lot of

    I wish I had had this book years ago. Although there is a lot of controversy around Sheila Walsh's teachings and some people have rated this book low, it is quite profound and I found this book to be pretty biblical. Years ago, I had struggled with how a loving God could allow suffering and perhaps even cause suffering. Sheila addresses this very question. And while I ran to read shallow books with weak answers (like Harold Kushner's When Bad Things Happen to Good People) or Philip Yancy, I couldn't find any real answers. For a time, I was angry at God and couldn't understand how to reconcile the two: God and suffering. I heard all the typical answers and none seemed to fit. God uses all the bad circumstances for good just didn't add up to me. The end should not justify the means.

    Sheila does an incredible job of making intense suffering fit into God's will and plan for our lives. In fact, she turns suffering into something that we might even seek out or wish for because some of the blessings that come from it are just so profound and great. I did not find this book to be shallow or lacking in answers. Some of the examples might have been weak, but the overall story was amazing, beautiful and very very glorifying to God. I felt like this book gave REAL ANSWERS for suffering. I think all Christians can benefit from reading this book.

    Disclaimer: I gave my honest review. I received this book from the publisher but a positive review was not required

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    GOD LOVES BROKEN PEOPLE by Sheila Walsh

    GOD LOVES BROKEN PEOPLE by SHEILA WALSH God loves us, broken people, who open up our battered hearts to allow God to heal our personal sorrows and heartaches. When our carefully created glass houses crash down, we slowly start to carve a brand new world beyond the safe haven of those demolished walls. We are broken lambs, who limp after our Shepherd. We do not know where He goes but we want to go with Him. Our personal brokenness opens up the way to the heart of God. We broken people know that God loves us, a heart knowledge that we dare to believe, and through such blind trust, a whole new awareness emerges from the shattered ruins of yesterday's broken pieces. The Shepherd loves us. We have no hope and no meaning in life apart from Him. We are not alone, we have never been alone, and we will never be alone. Our divine Shepherd is with us. He has always been there except that we will never know it unless and until we welcome Him into our hearts. The dark little fingerprints in our lives leave not-so-easily-brushed-away smudges that only the Savior can wipe away clean from our slates. Let us bring the scarred, broken pieces of our lives to God and allow Him to do for us what only He can do. He can stitch together the torn fragments of our shattered lives into the most beautiful tapestry. God loves us with a selfless, undying passion. He has committed Himself and His supernatural, omnipotent power to getting us safely home to heaven to be with Him forever. To God be all the glory. © Miriam Jacob

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend This Book

    God Loves Broken People: And Those Who Pretend They Are Not by author and speaker Sheila Walsh is a beautiful reminder of God's tender care in the midst of our brokenness. As a missionary mother of six who has served in impoverished areas of the world this book reminded me of the healing that awaits any wounded soul who chooses to linger at The Lord's feet. I loved the way that the author shared from her own painful life experiences. In Chapter Eleven one reads "What if our deepest wounds are the very places through which God's mercy flows to others?" When in the midst of trial, isn't it the comfort of those who have walked through similar experiences that we reach for?

    I was especially blessed by the fact that Ms Walsh dedicated the book in Memory of Ruth Bell Graham. She states, "In Memory of Ruth Bell Graham who taught me to look for the beauty that God makes in brokenness." There can be beauty in our times of brokenness and there is hope for healing with every wound.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend it as a beacon pointing to the Hope that the Lord can give to any in the midst of turmoil. I give it a good 5 inspirational stars.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishing through the Booksneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am enclosing this in accordance with the FTC’s 16CFR, Part 255“Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    Author Sheila Walsh does a marvelous job of displaying the love

    Author Sheila Walsh does a marvelous job of displaying the love of God
    to those who are wounded and broken in this hurtful world. She helps the
    reader to understand that whether you are a young or mature Christian
    you will face various trials and broken moments within your life. While
    the believer changes God's love for them never does. She shares how
    there is nothing that a believer will face that God isn't prepared for
    and ready to help in the time of need. He never runs from trouble so
    the believer should run to Him rather than away when these moments
    occur. There are great thoughts for the individual reader as well as for
    small groups. Also included is a Bible Study section in the book that
    corresponds with each chapter. This is a definite 5 of 5 stars and must
    read for every believer. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received
    this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book
    review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review.
    The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in
    accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 :
    “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    I love this woman! And what a book! God Loves Broken People,


    I love this woman! And what a book!
    God Loves Broken People, by Sheila Walsh is a book about what it means to need and be saved by a Savior. Though this is the primary message of the Gospels, it still somehow gets lost in the rigmarole of church members struggling to be good little Christians, while inside, they know they don’t measure up to a Good and holy God.
    Sheila takes us through what it means to be broken, starting out with the notion that there are two kinds of shame: that which immobilizes us, and that which draws us nearer our Creator. She recommends the latter. I must agree. She recounts personal stories, her own and others, of how trial left the bearer of tragedy no other recourse but to call on the Lord, the One who would get them through. And in doing so, enrich their journey on this earth.
    She gives the broken a new way to view their challenges while giving steps to heal from them. Not to become the same as before, but to become better, growing deeper in relationship with a Savior who also understands our brokenness because He entered into it with us. And loves us—as she puts it, fiercely—in spite of it.
    I highly recommend this book for those who know what it means to be broken. And for those who don’t—I do not envy you.
    I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    Half a decade ago, I read Sheila Walsh's excellent book on depre

    Half a decade ago, I read Sheila Walsh's excellent book on depression, The Heartache No One Sees. I had never heard of Sheila before (despite her fame as a singer, speaker, and writer), but I was quickly taken in by her transparency, hard-knocks wisdom, and obvious heart for encouragement. Her words were a lifeline to me, and I've admired her ever since. So when her latest book, God Loves Broken People, became available on Booksneeze, I snatched it up.

    God Loves Broken People isn't exactly revolutionary, but it's sound and reassuring advice to people who are suffering, enduring trials or disappointments, or are still recovering from past difficulties. The crux of the message is one I've sought out and preached to myself for years now: that the hard things God allows into our lives are never meaningless or arbitrary. Suffering doesn't mean that He doesn't love us, or has abandoned us. He uses our pain to show us His love and provision, help us to grow, and make us more fit for service. Sheila Walsh elaborates on this theme through Scripture, true-life stories, and her own experience.

    I often feel that my own emotional and spiritual scars are a liability, or grounds for rejection, but I've already seen proof of what He can do with those scars. I've also learned that pain holds great potential for spiritual growth if we're willing to tap into it. This book reinforced those lessons and provided comfort. I hope it does the same for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    Being Rebuilt The author presented a book that speaks volumes f

    Being Rebuilt

    The author presented a book that speaks volumes from not only experience but from the scriptures as well. God Loves Broken People is a profound book that is highly recommended for those that are experiencing what may seem to be a setback or a standstill in your life. Oftentimes it is hard to share those tough experiences that we go through with others, but how can others overcome without knowing how you made it through. Share your testimony and allow others to share in your victory. The book gave some scriptures that help in understanding that God does love us, but we have to come fully to the throne and be made anew. People are afraid to give their selves fully over to the Heavenly Father and experience a new walk. But what do we have to lose. Thank you author for sharing this great book in hopes that the broken people will be made new through Him that loves us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    Are you stuck?

    How many of us are messed up??? *Raises hand*


    I know that I am broken, I'm not complete and I have burdens, bruises and un-forgiveness that only God can remove.


    Shelia Walsh writes in the introduction that if she could write on book, this would be it! As I began to read this book, I had a difficult time putting it down. Reading this book, makes me feel like Shelia and I are sitting at a coffee shop chatting the day away.







    This book is beautifully written and has a great balance between personal struggles and understand the process grief takes on while being biblical. Shelia uses stories from her life and the lives of others to help the reader understand how during pain, we can draw closer to God. She utilizes scripture and stories from the Bible that have gone through difficult situations.


    I love the raw honesty that Shelia brings to the table. She talks about real pain and struggles. She is honesty in saying that the journey is long and difficult. However, God's love is real, deep and vastly wide. Through scripture, Shelia shows the reader that God is near us in our darkest hour.


    This book is very encouraging to those who have gone through significant pain. God will use these times in our lives to help others on their journey. I would recommend this book to anyone. Whether you have gone through a significant loss or have had minor struggles, this book is for YOU!


    I received this book from booksneeze. I was not required to give a positive review. This is my honest opinion!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    I heard so many bad things about this book and was told to skip

    I heard so many bad things about this book and was told to skip this latest one. But I'm glad I gave it a try, because I really enjoyed God Loves Broken People by Sheila Walsh. I think this book is an honest look at how women deal with a life of trials and suffering. Sheila first acknowledges that many people reach a state where they feel they are no longer able to deal with everyday life in the rat race of making money and paying bills, which most of us can relate to. Then she offers really good compasionate advice on how these trials mold us into people of character. The ideas in this book are not new and they've been said a hundred times before, but from a woman's perspective, this is a warm, light, easy read. I found the book uplifting. Walsh isn't trying to give us any answers for why God allows suffering but by the end of the book, you come away feeling like suffering isn't so bad after all and actually can be good. I truly enjoyed this book and recommend it to women who want a ofter look and softer perspective on suffering but still without doing damage to God's soverignty.



    Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher for this unbiased review. I am not required to give positive reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    Great for Broken People

    This nonfiction book tackles brokenness at a very personal level--personal to the author and questions posed that make the material very personal to the reader. This author writes with a conversational tone (which increases the book's personal feel) and full of passion.God Loves Broken People is an encouragement to readers and loved ones going through any kind of brokenness. Sheila shares Biblical stories like Moses. She explores the men taking their friend to Jesus in Mark 2. I always enjoy Sheila Walsh's books and this is no exception. I appreciate her ability to simply portray God's love in a real way to the reader. In this book, her focus is people who are broken and hurting and I think she did a wonderful job of writing a book they can relate to and learn from.This book was easy to read and thought-provoking. Overall, a wonderful book and one that I would recommend to someone who was hurting or feeling broken from life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1