Customer Reviews for

God Never Blinks: 50 Lessons for Life's Little Detours

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Life can change in the blink of an eye, but that's okay....

    If you have ever seen the incredibly popular e-mail that has circulated over the years, claiming that Regina Brett was a 90-something woman who wrote in to the Cleveland Plain Dealer, you will get the same lovely surprise that I did. The short, sweet and smart advice that was on that list is here in the book...written by the 50-something Regina Brett.

    I have to admit that I was a bit shocked that a woman in her fifties could have come up with what sounds like the wisdom of a person who has lived a much longer life. It's no wonder that people attributed the clever statements to an elderly woman. Instead, the author has lived a very full life and has decided to pass on some bits of:

    Common sense (Don't take yourself so seriously. No one else does),
    Faith (God never gives us more than we are designed to carry),
    Relationship advice (You don't have to win every argument. Agree to disagree),
    Healing (The passage of time heals almost everything. Give time time),
    Worry (If we all threw our problems in a pile and got a look at everyone else's, we'd fight to get our own back)

    and so much more...

    I enjoyed the list of thought provoking statements completely on their own, but with Regina's quick accompanying stories there is even a greater impact.

    This is an easy read, great to break into a chapter or two per day or to reflect on certain ones at appropriate times. It certainly is going to go to my daughter and her to friends as they face graduation and can use these lovely tidbits to get them started on the right path. It's much like having Mom or Grandmother to chat with at any time and give a reliable piece of well-earned advice. Excellent.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Troubled Childhood?

    Everything I learned I learned in my childhood. The problem is most of it was a troubled one that I carried into my adulthood. This book is a good start to help you recognize your problems, especially when you are somebody like me that needs to make peace with the pass. I am glad that I read it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    Terrific Book!

    Regina Brett is an amazing writer. Each of her "Life Lessons" is written as if she is sitting at the breakfast table talking one on one with you about your particular issues over a cup of coffee. It is as if your best friend dropped by for a quick chat and instead helped you get your life in order. Her message is always thought provoking, sprinkled with humour, tears and the kind of clarity that renews your spirit in friends, family and life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    AMAZING

    I read this book when I was 38 and LOVED it! I passed it on to friends and decided I wanted to read it again so I bought a new copy! Then at 39 I was diagnoised with breast cancer and I've read it a dozen times. No matter where you are in your life you should read this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    Meaning in my life

    I started reading God Never Blinks and I couldn't put it down. It seems to me that almost each chapter fits my shoe. We all know what Ms. Brett tells us, but I needed to be rimindered. Excellent book.

    Armonia Eddy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    #ImGoingToHell

    God would be pretty well off with a weeping angel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    It is an accessible book for readers of different ages and stage

    It is an accessible book for readers of different ages and stages in their lives. I bought this on my Nook but will buy
    a paperback as well because the chapters are full of wisdom that you need to read time and time again. I will
    keep it by my bedside for those nights when I need to be reminded of what's really important in life and to 
    remember how far I've traveled. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Highly recommended

    One of my New Favorite Books..!
    am going to use it as our book selection for our book club

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Feel good read

    Heard about book from a tv show.unbelievable read..its a feel good read because it makes you not feel bad about life experiences.you can learn something from everyday life..can pick up at a drs apt waiting for children and read a chapter...i bought 3 copies for friends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Truely a gem!

    I've incorporated this into my daily Bibly study. Funny, insightful, with life applications for everyone. I've recommended it to all my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Fantastic!

    I could not put this book down! The author writes with such raw
    courage, honesty, humor, and simplicity. It is timeless, a treasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Great

    Loved it its a great read makes u think alot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Wonderful Gift Book!

    Terrific, common sense book. I've given this book to friends as a gift, and they have all enjoyed it. Great gift idea for a 50th birthday present!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Good inspiration to our life

    Good book. Author shared her life difficulties in her book. In her life, she had a lot of bad time such as life struggle, cancer, relationship problem etc. Actually, we had been her situation and we know some of her lesson already like pay off credit card or life too short to waste etc. However, sometimes we do not do what we suppose to do. We know so much but we just don't do it. This book give me a "kick" on my back and refresh my mind that I have to take my life more seriously. My most favorable chapter is Lesson 2: when in doubt, just take tbe next right step. Yes, it seems too hard to walk the whole journey but it is more easy to walk one step at a time. I love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    50 Reasons To Buy This Book

    I don't think my words can do this book justice. All I can say is that it will open your eyes to so many things. I'd also like to suggest that you buy "When God Stopped Keeping Score," it's an intimate look at the power of forgiveness and yet, it's about so much more. I loved every minute of it. Given the chance, it too will change your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Spectacular!

    Just little diamonds of thoughts and inspirations - fed to the reader in short bursts of revelation! What a wonderful experience! I've sent copies to several friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Thoughtful and Thought Provoking

    I love this book....because it makes even the most difficult subjects easy to understand by giving real life examples. 50 Lessons easily puts our overwhelming world, personal crisis and issues into managable perspective. How is a woman so young, so wise?

    Highly recommend for anyone that just likes to pick up a book and start anywhere.....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    Great book to read and the perfect gift to give

    This book is inspiring and life changing! The book contains 50 easy to read 3-4 page lessons or short stories. Brett shares her inspiring journey and sometimes the journey of others in each of these lessons and offers insights into life's detours and their hidden gifts. She teaches us how to embrace the gifts during tough times and look at the world a little differently. Brett has had her share of detours....raised in a family of 11 kids, Became a single parent at 21, and a cancer survivor at 41 shares all that she has learned from these challenges and makes us feel like we can conquer anything. This book is the perfect gift for teenagers up to grandparents. Buy a copy for yourself and one to share!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2