Customer Reviews for

God, No!: Signs You May Already Be an Atheist and Other Magical Tales

Average Rating 3.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great read!!

I will preface my short review by saying that I am a HUGE fan of Penn Jillette. I have been excited to read it since that day it was announced. It did not disappoint. I have read several books by atheists; Dawkins, Hitchens, Harris, etc. This is the ONLY one I have ...
I will preface my short review by saying that I am a HUGE fan of Penn Jillette. I have been excited to read it since that day it was announced. It did not disappoint. I have read several books by atheists; Dawkins, Hitchens, Harris, etc. This is the ONLY one I have read that made me laugh out loud. It is also the only one that made me cry like a baby. Penn writes (rants) from his heart and it's easy to feel the love he has for his friends and family in the stories he tells. Do yourself a favor and buy this book. You won't be sorry.

posted by Joe74 on August 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great read, but...

...badly formatted, and was even missing a page! Does no one proof the files?

posted by 9540193 on September 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Bad to the Bone

    One late night channel flipping I came across Pier Morgan interviewing Penn Jillette on his latest book, God, No! At six feet and seven inches, this larger than life performer and talking head was delving into the atheist view. I expected this book to be guide to converting into atheism but it turns out to be much more.

    Cleverly in God, No! Signs You May Already Be an Atheist and Other Magical Tales by Penn Jillette, the author starts out each chapter with the tradition blend of the Ten Commandments mixed in with Penn Commandments. Rather than take a preachy approach to atheism Jillette candidly shares stories from his gypsy life on the road as the other half of the Penn and Teller duo. Love, sex, and adventure are well chronicled in his tales.

    I must admit this book made me laugh, cry, and sometimes cringe to how this outer tough guy covered his inner teddy bear and found his way.
    Reading this book will either strengthen your faith in the almighty or lead you to a path of discovering another option.

    God, No! Signs You May Already Be an Atheist and Other Magical Tales by Penn Jillette is a perfect read about a modern renaissance man who still has that mischievous twinkle of a young boy ready to discover the wonders of the world.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Great read!!

    I will preface my short review by saying that I am a HUGE fan of Penn Jillette. I have been excited to read it since that day it was announced. It did not disappoint. I have read several books by atheists; Dawkins, Hitchens, Harris, etc. This is the ONLY one I have read that made me laugh out loud. It is also the only one that made me cry like a baby. Penn writes (rants) from his heart and it's easy to feel the love he has for his friends and family in the stories he tells. Do yourself a favor and buy this book. You won't be sorry.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    will make you think!

    very interesting, logical, thoroughly enjoyed this book

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    Pretty good read.

    Its mostly pretty interesting and he's definitely an entertaining writer, but some areas of the book kind of drag on. He would be talking about something interesting and then run off on a tangent that wasnt quite as interesting for pages. Its not really a problem, i felt the book as a whole was quite the page turner, i just wish it was a little more focused. But then again, he openly admits to his tangents early in the book so there isnt really a reason to be surprised or upset over it. Overall, a good entertaining read from a honest, entertaining and true to himself fella. Check it out.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    A Huge Disappointment-a Negative Five!

    If you're looking for a book to help support arguments for atheism--this is not it. This book does a major disservice to atheism. It sets the cause of atheism back fifty years. It's too bad it can't be rated a negative five. God, No comes across as something theists would write to discredit atheism. The reader ends up feeling like a voyeur, having been made privy to things that are totally irrelevant to atheism and the reader. No wonder one ex-girlfriend didn't want to be mentioned by name. This book belongs in the bargain bin with trashy, poorly written biographies--not atheism. Don't waste your time.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Great read, but...

    ...badly formatted, and was even missing a page! Does no one proof the files?

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    If your a woman, don't bother because it's not meant for you

    I bought this book after hearing Jillette on NPR. I thought it might be a funny take on the subject matter, but not so much. His adolescent profanity is over the top and some of his references show that he is writing strictly for a male audience. I felt so insulted that I ended up putting it down and not finishing it. Why bother? It wasn't meant for my eyes anyway.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Should be titled: Random Thoughts by Penn Jillette

    I was excited to read this book, but what a huge disappointment. There was no cohesiveness whatsoever in this book. What was it supposed to be about? It seemed to be random thoughts and ramblings thrown together. I could discern no real meaning from the book and it had no point. Also, he seemed to enjoy writing about sexual things in a nasty way. Would not recommend this book to anyone.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Grest read

    Penn being penn. Very honest an heartfelt book with a lot og laughs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    The Title of this book is misleading as to its contents

    God No is a hodgepodge of stories that center more upon Penn Jillette's life, his family, his political views and a few comments about religion thrown in. If Jillette adequately described what a Libertarian is, then I'm glad to know that I am not one. I found most of the stories uninteresting and came away liking Jillette less than I did before I read it. The book is full of foul language but that did not turn me off as I have read Tucker Max's, "I Hope They Serve Beer In Hell" and I loved it. I was disappointed in this book and certainly can't recommend it to you.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Great book, loved it! Not recommended for folks without a very warped sense of humor (really!).

    A good book about the Penn's beliefs about knowledge, God and religion. I'm an atheist observant Jew (it's oddly common) and found good writing. There are a few very observant and very intelligent discourses on the nature of what passes for faith bound together with a huge amount of very funny anecdotes. WARNING: much of the book is very obscene and way out there. It scares me to think that these stories are true, as I'm sure they are. I think that Penn would be a great guy to watch -- from a safe distance....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Sam

    First the good new, Penn Jillette is a fantastic Raconteur who has some truly great stories I really Liked the ones about him riding the vomit comet Nude, having sex underwater or getting his privates Burnt on his ex girl friends hair dryer. The bad news Is when ever he goes into his atheism schtick the book Sinks like a stone. His concept of God is clearly the Atheist cliche of God eg a supernatural mr fixit who "Lives" above the clouds while occassionly answering Our prayers here at home. It goes without saying that even Many "religious" people also find this view ridiculous Making his attacks seem uninformed and mean spirited. I will however say that the way he "atheistically commemorates his late parents is quite moving. I hope in the future he writes another book but leaves the Religion behind.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    More Penn, Less Religion

    It opens up as promised with the rantings of Penn Jillette about athiesm with some personal stories sprinkled in. It ended up a tome of personal stories with a little religion sprinkld in. Not that I'm complaining, I loved all those pesonal stories. Penn is a genius and an amazing entertainer, so I loved every minute of the book

    The one place where Penn has made an error in most of his.athiest rants is that he is comparing against organized religions, not necessarily spirituality.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Great read

    The ten commandments were fantastic

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    The stories are out of this world. I couldn't put the book down

    The stories are out of this world. I couldn't put the book down once I started. My only criticism is the premise for the telling the stories is weak. If you're looking for a book about atheism I would read Dawkins, Harris or Hitchens instead.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Recommended, once you know what it is

    In the course of the book, Penn explains that he was challenged by his friend, the personality and pundit Glenn Beck, to create of basic atheist guide to life modeled after the 10 Commandments. Penn calls them "One Atheist's 10 Suggestions". He introduces each section of the book with one of them.

    The book is not so much a defense of atheism or of Penn Gillette, but rather stories from Penn's life that explain his worldview. He looks at the world through the lens of there not being any kind of God. He doesn't feel that religion is the problem, but rather it is belief, or faith itself –"the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen" – which is the driving force of a lot that is wrong in the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Incoherent collection of stories

    Writing your own version of the Ten Commandments for each of ten chapter titles is not enough to claim the subject of your book is atheism. This book is simply a collection of Penn's stories from life, with occasional comments about religion thrown in. Nothing in the chapter matches the "commandment" for that chapter - the stories are all completely random. Maybe Jillette thinks he's making some kind of profound statement about life by doing that; however, he is more likely laughing hysterically all the way to his bank at all of us suckers who bought this book.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Love his work and Show. The problem with the book is the premise. If you don't know you are an agnostic ( Greek for lacking knowledge ) If you do not believe that God exists, than you are an Atheist.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Not a good book

    Unreadable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    The author is quite cude

    but once you get past that - the book is quite good. Not recommended for those hoping to stay "in the religion," especially if you are a logical person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5