Customer Reviews for

God, No!: Signs You May Already Be an Atheist and Other Magical Tales

Average Rating 3.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great read!!

I will preface my short review by saying that I am a HUGE fan of Penn Jillette. I have been excited to read it since that day it was announced. It did not disappoint. I have read several books by atheists; Dawkins, Hitchens, Harris, etc. This is the ONLY one I have ...
I will preface my short review by saying that I am a HUGE fan of Penn Jillette. I have been excited to read it since that day it was announced. It did not disappoint. I have read several books by atheists; Dawkins, Hitchens, Harris, etc. This is the ONLY one I have read that made me laugh out loud. It is also the only one that made me cry like a baby. Penn writes (rants) from his heart and it's easy to feel the love he has for his friends and family in the stories he tells. Do yourself a favor and buy this book. You won't be sorry.

posted by Joe74 on August 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great read, but...

...badly formatted, and was even missing a page! Does no one proof the files?

posted by 9540193 on September 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Bad to the Bone

    One late night channel flipping I came across Pier Morgan interviewing Penn Jillette on his latest book, God, No! At six feet and seven inches, this larger than life performer and talking head was delving into the atheist view. I expected this book to be guide to converting into atheism but it turns out to be much more.

    Cleverly in God, No! Signs You May Already Be an Atheist and Other Magical Tales by Penn Jillette, the author starts out each chapter with the tradition blend of the Ten Commandments mixed in with Penn Commandments. Rather than take a preachy approach to atheism Jillette candidly shares stories from his gypsy life on the road as the other half of the Penn and Teller duo. Love, sex, and adventure are well chronicled in his tales.

    I must admit this book made me laugh, cry, and sometimes cringe to how this outer tough guy covered his inner teddy bear and found his way.
    Reading this book will either strengthen your faith in the almighty or lead you to a path of discovering another option.

    God, No! Signs You May Already Be an Atheist and Other Magical Tales by Penn Jillette is a perfect read about a modern renaissance man who still has that mischievous twinkle of a young boy ready to discover the wonders of the world.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    will make you think!

    very interesting, logical, thoroughly enjoyed this book

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    Pretty good read.

    Its mostly pretty interesting and he's definitely an entertaining writer, but some areas of the book kind of drag on. He would be talking about something interesting and then run off on a tangent that wasnt quite as interesting for pages. Its not really a problem, i felt the book as a whole was quite the page turner, i just wish it was a little more focused. But then again, he openly admits to his tangents early in the book so there isnt really a reason to be surprised or upset over it. Overall, a good entertaining read from a honest, entertaining and true to himself fella. Check it out.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Great book, loved it! Not recommended for folks without a very warped sense of humor (really!).

    A good book about the Penn's beliefs about knowledge, God and religion. I'm an atheist observant Jew (it's oddly common) and found good writing. There are a few very observant and very intelligent discourses on the nature of what passes for faith bound together with a huge amount of very funny anecdotes. WARNING: much of the book is very obscene and way out there. It scares me to think that these stories are true, as I'm sure they are. I think that Penn would be a great guy to watch -- from a safe distance....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    More Penn, Less Religion

    It opens up as promised with the rantings of Penn Jillette about athiesm with some personal stories sprinkled in. It ended up a tome of personal stories with a little religion sprinkld in. Not that I'm complaining, I loved all those pesonal stories. Penn is a genius and an amazing entertainer, so I loved every minute of the book

    The one place where Penn has made an error in most of his.athiest rants is that he is comparing against organized religions, not necessarily spirituality.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    The stories are out of this world. I couldn't put the book down

    The stories are out of this world. I couldn't put the book down once I started. My only criticism is the premise for the telling the stories is weak. If you're looking for a book about atheism I would read Dawkins, Harris or Hitchens instead.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    The author is quite cude

    but once you get past that - the book is quite good. Not recommended for those hoping to stay "in the religion," especially if you are a logical person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    ^^

    ^^

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2