Customer Reviews for

The God Particle

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2007

    Intellectually scientific

    This author is fantastic. Once you start the book you can't put it down until you are finished and then you want to read it over to see what you have missed. It is as good if not better than Cox's first book, Rift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2005

    should be a best seller

    The God Particle is one of the most exciting novels this summer. It keeps you guessing, thinking and wanting more. The ending is one that does not let you down. This is not a 'Science Fiction' book... it is a hard science/thriller, and it's amazing. You can tell Cox did his homework and researched everything...down to the smallest detail. If it were up to me, Cox would be considered a best selling author. Watch out Dan Brown and Michael Crichton... you have some serious competition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2005

    When's the next one coming out???

    I highly recommend this book to anyone that is looking for an entertaining fast read. I really enjoyed the way the author described some of his pasages. I could really picture the scenes in my head and visualize what the writer was talking about. I really enjoyed the female interest (Kelly) and the interaction she had with Mike. This book really picks up speed in the last half of the book and I couldn't put it down. I am really looking forward to another novel by the writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2005

    God Particle

    I picked up this after it was recommended to me and was thankful to have such an engaging and interesting book to fill my summer days with. The theological discussions that pepper this sci-fi thriller are well thought out and thought provoking and the characters become fleshed out, flawed people that you're truly invested in. I'd recommend this book to anyone that's looking for a book that's not your average page-turner, but rather one that will make you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2005

    Make sure you have time....

    Because you won¿t be able to put this one down. If you have trouble thinking on your own or don't like to push your brain to the limit, I would definitely stay away from Cox's second book. While I won't give it away, the ending will leave you coming back for more. This is a great second novel from a young, up and coming writer. The research that went into the book is phenomenal; Cox most certainly put his heart and soul into his second thriller. At the same time, his writing style makes it so that even if you aren¿t a world renowned physicist, you can understand what is happening. If you like science and physics this is the book for you, and there is even some love plot woven through the pages. All in all, great novel, great writer, and I am looking forward to more from Cox.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2005

    God Particle

    I picked this up a few weeks ago after reading and enjoying 'Rift' by the same author and was extremely entertained. The scientific aspects of the plot were handled in ways that the non-scientific readers can understand it and the plot twists were dramatic and emotional enough to have impact on the reader. All in all this book was a fascinating summer read. I highly recommend it to any interested readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Superb science fiction thriller

    Los Angeles-based businessman Steve Keely is in Zurich with his assistant Serena who does not hide how much she wants him although he plans to marry Janine. After a spat with Serena, Steve answers his ringing cell phone to overhear his beloved Janine making love to someone named Barry. Heartbroken he quietly and sadly says goodbye. He picks up a Russian, Ana, in a bar and goes to her place, but someone enters her room and beats Steve up. He goes to the hospital where after physically healing he finds he is able to predict the future with uncanny accuracy and perform things on a par with a Jesus miracle.................. Mike McNair is the head physicist of the North Texas Superconducting Super Collider project. On a plane heading to Dallas, he meets news anchor Kelly Smith over Mark Twain. As they become acquainted his Noble Prize obsession takes back seat to this woman who has opened his eyes to a vast world he ignored. However, she will take a back seat to the universe that Steve shows him when the business mogul desperately turns to the physicist for help as he struggles to cope with powers beyond that of a human.................... THE GOD PARTICLE is a superb science fiction thriller that uses relatively up to date theories on subatomic particles as a base for a terrific action-packed thriller. The amazing feat of this tale is even with a deep science base that educates the reader and plenty of non-stop action, the key players, especially Steve and Mike, seem genuine. Richard Cox writes a deep thriller that will remind readers of Ursula Le Guin¿s THE LATHE OF HEAVEN.................. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1