Customer Reviews for

God Save the Child (Spenser Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Spenser Series Rolls Along

I gave the first book in the series three stars, though it is more accurately 3.5. This one is a little bit better. For a first time reader of the Spenser series, one can see his character developing and showing he is three dimensional. Quirk is again in this book, ...
I gave the first book in the series three stars, though it is more accurately 3.5. This one is a little bit better. For a first time reader of the Spenser series, one can see his character developing and showing he is three dimensional. Quirk is again in this book, as is Healy and along comes Susan Silverman as a recurring character.

The plot overall is fine, but it won't knock your socks off. The writing is great and Spenser is, quite simply, a sarcastic and funny tough guy, who has plenty of interests beyond being a private investigator.

I've read some of the later books in the series and wanted to start from the beginning. This one is very good, but as Spenser grows in subsequent stories, and we see similar growth with the recurring characters, the series just gets better.

posted by SlapShot62 on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Introducing Susan

As one of Parker's earlier books, it contains better descriptions and less repetition of "I said/he said/she said." It brought back (not so good) memories of the time in which it was written (1970's). Most of the characters are distasteful. For followers of Spenser t...
As one of Parker's earlier books, it contains better descriptions and less repetition of "I said/he said/she said." It brought back (not so good) memories of the time in which it was written (1970's). Most of the characters are distasteful. For followers of Spenser the book is notable for its introduction of Susan Silverman. Quirk and Healy are already in place, but Hawk and others are not yet on board.

posted by Guildenstern on April 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Spenser Series Rolls Along

    I gave the first book in the series three stars, though it is more accurately 3.5. This one is a little bit better. For a first time reader of the Spenser series, one can see his character developing and showing he is three dimensional. Quirk is again in this book, as is Healy and along comes Susan Silverman as a recurring character.

    The plot overall is fine, but it won't knock your socks off. The writing is great and Spenser is, quite simply, a sarcastic and funny tough guy, who has plenty of interests beyond being a private investigator.

    I've read some of the later books in the series and wanted to start from the beginning. This one is very good, but as Spenser grows in subsequent stories, and we see similar growth with the recurring characters, the series just gets better.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Introducing Susan

    As one of Parker's earlier books, it contains better descriptions and less repetition of "I said/he said/she said." It brought back (not so good) memories of the time in which it was written (1970's). Most of the characters are distasteful. For followers of Spenser the book is notable for its introduction of Susan Silverman. Quirk and Healy are already in place, but Hawk and others are not yet on board.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Parker never fails

    I have read all but two of the Spenser novels, and I recommend them to all. They always have a good plot, the characters are great and you can always identify with Spenser, Hawk and all of the minor characters.
    Enjoyable, and am so glad that I found this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2005

    Don't be Surprised By Your Friend's Harmful Will

    I really enjoyed reading the plot line of this book.I like how once you get stated reading the book you can get involved and can't get put it down. This was my first time reading this author. It was easy to visualize the author,because he didn't use use words that I would have to stop reading and look them up in a dictionary.I still don't understand how friends can kill friends,even if they are close or not. Everyone has an arguement every now and then, but I don't understand why you would personally kill your friend or loved one. I think there were ways around it like taking to the person who you have a problem with. Also you could have tried to discuss it with them. He the author did a really good job on making everything so real. My Mom reads his books abouts his stories. That they are so intereting and they make you want to read the whole book before putting it down. I myself can not see having the ability to really kill someone. It amazes me how people do it all of the time with no thought about if before or after and then to even kill your own friend with no remorse.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2000

    Yes, Spenser's saving kids again

    But it's a lot more than that. Apple Knoll is, as the bookback said, a place were kids grow up right. But we all know that things have to go wrong. And then theres Susan. Susan Silverman is easily the most complex and intelligent character ever written in this or maybe any genre. I am not even a teenager, but trust me, Robert B. Parker is on target with this

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Just average

    Not your typical Parker Spencer novel. Too much description of character's apparel, not enough of his typical action & dialog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Classic Spenser

    Classic Spenser

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    A good read

    I have always enjoyed Parker's books and this was no different. It doesn't pretend to beanything than a good P.I. novel, and was a quick read for me. I found that I couldnt put it down.

    The ending is a bit predictable and contrived a bit, but it still kept my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Talah

    Maybe...or maybe..ill kill myself...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Sabariam

    Well no really. No one kew tha i used a gun.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Jonathan

    No u wont

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Good story

    171 pages the story was good but too much descriptions who was wearing what, and how the landscpes looked. Skip the descriptions and get to the story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3