Customer Reviews for

God Still Don't Like Ugly

Average Rating 4
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Welcomed Sequel

    I probably wouldn't have read the 1st novel, God Dont Like Ugly if it hadn't been offered free by BN. I was pleasantly surprised! I was so hooked by the characters and what happened to them that as soon as I finished it, i had to download the continuation, God Still Dont Like Ugly. It was a well written account of a young black woman's life that pulled you in and made you feel for the characters. You found yourself rooting for the main character, angry for her and feeling genuine emotions. I highly recommend this read! It appears as of now, both books can be purchased for less than $10, and it is worth EVERY penny.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Great!

    Loved it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Sequel!

    The book starts out a few years after God Don't Like Ugly left off. It paints a great picture and gives plenty of information on the backstory so that if you didn't read the first book, you wouldn't be lost reading this one.

    It follows Annette, told from her point of view, on her journey through life. She stuggles with past demons in this book, trying to learn to let them go. She also finds her inner strength and is able to stand up for herself. She meets back up with her father, and is introduced to her half-siblings. Her childhood best friend, Rhoda, wracked all kinds of havoc in their lives, and was asked to leave in the first book. In this book, she finds her way back into Annette's life, and we join Annette on her own personal roller coaster ride.

    I greatly enjoyed this book, and would recommend it to just about anyone.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2007

    Great Book

    I really enjoyed the first book to which I could not but down, I fell in love with the characters of the book. When I finally read God Still Don¿t like Ugly, I could not put the book down I was so please that Annette had grown into her self and she was pleased with who she had become, also that she and her father was building such a lovely relationship. It also showed how her past at some point backfired and in some way I was very happy to know that she rekindled her relationship with her childhood friend. Hats off to Mary Monroe Great Book definitely a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2004

    GREAT SEQUEL!!

    I admit that @ first I was bored with the book thinking many times that I read this in teh first book. However it proved me wrong and ended up being a great great book! I am so glad that Annette after all, she's been through finally found what she was really looking for. It's a great book, and I would recommend it to all!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    this book

    very good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    S

    S

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    gets better and odd with the lives of the girls! I jsut ordered

    gets better and odd with the lives of the girls! I jsut ordered that
    last book of this series and I am not rushing to recieve it because I
    know it will be the end! NOOOOO!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Good story

    Monroe is a good author. She needs to learn that a good story doesn't need profanity to make it good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    A must read

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Could have been told in the previous book

    I don't think that there was enough "new" material to warrant a whole other book. That being said, it was well written and had a solid ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    I love the second one just as much as the first.

    I love the second one just as much as the first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Eewwwwww

    I cant even read this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Enjoyed it!!!

    Can't wait to see what happens with Annette in the next book!!
    Great story line. Keeps your interest from beginning to end


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Love it!! ON TO THE THIRD BOOK IN THE SERIES!!

    I LUV THE AUTHOR AND I CAN WAIT TO READ THE THIRD BOOK!! IT STARTED OUT KIND OF SLOW BUT QUICKLY PICKED UP AND BECAME JUST AS ENTERTAING AS THE FIRST BOOK!!! GREAT READ!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Do unto others as you would have them to do unto you.

    This book is one that touches reality in the way we treat others. It will also have you wondering why the main character did not reveal all in the beginning and then on the other hand this is the originality of how we do live our lives and accept things that's unclean and ungodly. This is a wonderful read and I recommend all to read. Also, the author writing style is one that keeps it true and real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    GOOD BOOK

    80'S the color purple

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2005

    THE BEST IS YET TO COME

    I hope this is not the last of Anette that I'll hear. I enjoyed this book so much until I must read 'God don't like ugly'. You go girl!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2004

    Better than the first

    The sequel was better than the first only because it has a happy ending. First, the author allows Annette Goode, the main character to have resolution/closure to her sexual abuse by Mr. Boatright. By allowing her to reveal this secret to her mother and the others, she can finally begin to heal. She also finds true love after all she has gone through. This storyline, while a little less interesting, was less depressing and offered a ray of hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2004

    BUT GOD LIKE GOOD.

    THIS BOOK WAS GREAT!MY FAVORITE CHARACTERS WERE MUH' DEAR AND SCARY MARY AND HER CUSTOMERS. (HEHEHE) I FELT AS IF MARY MONROE ACTUALLY BROUGHT THE CHARACTERS TO LIFE! ALL THESE OTHER AUTHROS NEED TO TAKE NOTES!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10