Customer Reviews for

God Theories: Revised Edition

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

MAkes you think

This book, God Theories, addresses questions almost anyone seeking the truth asks at one time or another. How did we get on earth? Is there an ultimate God-like figure? Author Ken Ungerecht is not afraid to address controversial topics head on. You may not agree wit...
This book, God Theories, addresses questions almost anyone seeking the truth asks at one time or another. How did we get on earth? Is there an ultimate God-like figure? Author Ken Ungerecht is not afraid to address controversial topics head on. You may not agree with all of his answers, but if you are seeking the truth, it is a good idea to read this book and get one perspective. The book is small, but is packed filled with information. He has a lot of good points that really make you think.

posted by shines1980 on September 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

An attempt to make sense of it all

Ken Ungerecht's "God Theories" is, I believe, an appropriate read for this period in our history, particularly because of the never-ending battle between the secularists and the religious. In this book, Ungerecht builds on the things that we know and comes up with a syn...
Ken Ungerecht's "God Theories" is, I believe, an appropriate read for this period in our history, particularly because of the never-ending battle between the secularists and the religious. In this book, Ungerecht builds on the things that we know and comes up with a synthesis that takes these ideas into account. It is almost as if he is thinking aloud and leading us through his thought process, so that we are able to come up with a conclusion that seems more or less reasonable.

Anyone who is trying to make sense of the world will probably find this book interesting. I think teenagers and young adults would benefit from reading this, because it presents its own brand of philosophy by clearly identifying its building blocks. However, for those who are already well-read, it can be quite tedious to read through Ungerecht's enumeration of scientific facts and other pieces of trivia which do not necessarily have much to do with what the book is trying to accomplish. In any case, it is a simple yet thought-provoking read.

posted by NA_Sena on September 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Very Good

    God Theories is an interesting dig into unanswered questions based on our existence. As individual, we definitely question plenty of unseen substances. However, the author does a excellent job incorporating theories. In particular, I enjoyed the author's direction of looking within ourselves.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    Interestingly good!

    God Theories: Let's Talk is a very interesting book. It allows readers to step outside of their religious box and ask questions about what we've been thought since our youth. There are plenty of people who walk through life and just believe everything thing that is told to them, but the author definitely let readers view the various theories of our existence and develop our understanding of where we come from. Good read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Stirs questions in your heart, and then answers them

    God Theories 2nd Edition by author Ken Ungerecht, points out the flaws and facts in three of the most popular views of the origin of life; Creationism, Intelligent Design and Evolution. Ungerecht then introduces a fourth theory that derives ideas from each of the three, and provides evidence for unique views that are not found in any of them. Ungerecht also explains the truths in spirituality and touches on the subject in many ways. God Theories is a good book for answering life questions, and stirring healthy thought in the mind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Great Read

    Ever wonder who we are and where we come from? Are we all a product of God? And does God really exist? In Ken Ungercht's 'God Theories - Let's Talk', Ungercht attempts to answer many of these questions.

    The book is very well thought out and structured, and the author does a great job of providing different angles and arguments. He allows us to enter his mind as he begins to debate the different sides of each belief and theory.

    And in the end after reading 'God Theories', can I say that I have I found my truth and where I come from? No, I can't, but this book has certainly opened my eyes and given me a lot to think about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Great concept, difficult read

    God Theories by Ken Ungerbrecht posits an interesting theory: that one cannot understand spirituality or religion without understanding the scientific components of the universe at large, and scientific proof of our existence. It's a fascinating premise, and one that I was eager to understand. Unfortunately for me, probably because scientific concepts are so difficult for me to understand, I couldn't really understand the fundamental scientific principles Ungerbrecht deftly discusses. Where the book's concepts came together for me, though, was in the last few chapters, where the author expertly addressed spirituality, Christianity, science, evolution, intelligent design, and their inter-relating theories; without understanding each component fully, one cannot understand their totality. I may be saying this wrong, but this is a daunting task for the author, and one which he undertakes intelligently and sensibly. It's definitely worth the time spent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    A Conversation About God

    Ken Ungerecht's "God Theories: Let's Talk" culls timeless questions about life, existence and the possible existence of an omniscient "supreme intelligence." Taking a scientific approach as well as a philosophical one, he tackles head on the universal question "Does God" exist?" In intellectual, yet digestible prose, he explores the realm religion with the eye of a scientist. While the writing is accessible, the writing is deep.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    Interesting mix

    I had to laugh when I read the overview....you shouldn't talk about two things, religion and politics at parties. Its absolutely right. This book covers religion in a new light. It explores the four theories of evolution and creation. I was interested the whole way through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Logical & Reasonable Presentation

    The fresh theory has been brought forth by Ken Ungerech espousing the idea that everyone should be educated in the ways of religion letting people to use logic and reason rather than blind faith to decide upon spiritual convictions. He presents his belief and explains his thoughts on the matter in a very logical and reasonable manner that allows everyone to come to their own judgment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    An attempt to make sense of it all

    Ken Ungerecht's "God Theories" is, I believe, an appropriate read for this period in our history, particularly because of the never-ending battle between the secularists and the religious. In this book, Ungerecht builds on the things that we know and comes up with a synthesis that takes these ideas into account. It is almost as if he is thinking aloud and leading us through his thought process, so that we are able to come up with a conclusion that seems more or less reasonable.

    Anyone who is trying to make sense of the world will probably find this book interesting. I think teenagers and young adults would benefit from reading this, because it presents its own brand of philosophy by clearly identifying its building blocks. However, for those who are already well-read, it can be quite tedious to read through Ungerecht's enumeration of scientific facts and other pieces of trivia which do not necessarily have much to do with what the book is trying to accomplish. In any case, it is a simple yet thought-provoking read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Well Written Exhaustive Account

    Ken Ungerecht's God Theories takes you on a comprehensive journey through the creation versus evolution debate. Including all different theories as to how the world began and how we all got here, Mr. Ungerecht advocates taking all such theories into consideration before deciding on one. While not imposing any one idea on anyone, he makes his own choice clear. Well written and well researched - a job well done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Awesome Message Poorly Delivered

    I have three words for any writer who would like to publish their work: edit, edit, edit. If you do not have the skill set to edit your own writing, find someone that does and pay them a few bucks to clean up your work. Ken Ungerecht's God Theories is a perfect example of a book that, had it been edited, would have had a much stronger impact on its readers. A message that is choppy, poorly worded, filled with fluff and filler words, and sentence structure issues will not hit home for its intended audience to the degree desired by the author. I believe that is sad; very sad, indeed. From the first paragraph in the Introduction, I knew that Ungerecht's book could have been so much better if it was edited.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Thought Provoking

    What Ungerecht does in this book- using mathematics and personal belief to prove his theories on God- is not only though-provoking but brave. Not everyday will someone share how they feel about a higher power and set out to prove why it is so with science. Although, not everyone will agree with him, he backs up his theories and creates a real dialogue with the reader. Using his background in science, Ungerecht opens up the readers mind and openly discusses evolution and God in a respectful, educated manner. This is a great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Mathemetician Test Existence of God

    Although I do not agree with Mr. Ungerecht's conclusions, I applaud his attempts to justify his theories. It would be very difficult to present mathematical and physics theories as it pertains to the existence of God to the Southern Baptist Convention. I shudder to even think of it. However, he has the same right to try to figure out for himself whether God exists as the rest of us do.

    The problem I have with his attempts is I am not sure how you can apply these mathematical applications to a belief. However, he BELIEVES he can, therefore he does. He very correctly sets up where the belief might have originated; through the years, parents, etc. For those very reasons, a belief is not subject to the methods which he wants to use to destroy it. If something is truly believed it cannot be broken down into the parts and pieces he wishes to apply to it like it is simply building blocks to be constructed into a house. True believers carry their God in their hearts, not just their minds; physics cannot touch the heart.

    However, Mr. Ungerecht's book is exciting on its own merits. It is interesting to test your belief structure against his methodology and it would not do your religion any good to poo-poo it or ignore it without giving it the same respect you give to your priest, for instance. It is unlikely that a true believer in God will be swayed by this book, but it is interesting nonetheless and it is always good to keep your mind open to the opinion of someone other than your own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Love Ken Ungerecht for sharing such interesting views!!

    As a firm believer myself of a higher power, I love to talk with others about their theories and thoughts on the existence of God. However, there are alot of people who are very private and would prefer not to bring up religion or politics. For this reason, I absolutely love that Ken Ungerecht decided to document his own thoughts and theories, backed with scientific evidence, and shared them with the world. You don't have to agree with everything someone says about a topic to gain a new and refreshing outlook on a controversial and unproven topic. This is a great read and absolutely enjoyed it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Fresh Look at Theories of Evolution

    The Theory of Evolution and the presence of God have never been brought forth in such a manner as Ken Ungerecht has done in God Theories: Let's Talk. Ungerecht has put the science of mathematics to the test by applying mathematical theory to the theory of evolution. He has developed a mathematical proof that will shed some light on many of the frequently asked questions on this subject. Readers will have a new perspective on and fresh look at evolution that is certain to stimulate thought.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Intriguing, Thoughtful Discussions Pertaining to Human Spirituality

    As the book title suggests, Ken Ungerecht's God Theories2nd Edition is an intriguing exploration of the vast field of human spirituality. With so many religions ardently believing in their ideas of creation and the Supreme Creator, there is much to absorb for the avid seeker of spiritual truth. In a nutshell, Ungerecht tries to define a balance between rational and irrational as he tries to use God Theories 2nd Edition as a platform for a thought-provoking discussion regarding the existence and influence of a Supreme Creator. An idea that is particularly interesting is Ungerecht's conclusion, based on his findings, that we live forever. The author puts his 35 years of teaching experience on full display by including tidbits on high school and college level evolution theories and discussion. Above all else, Ungerecht seeks to find a unifying thread between religions that will allow human beings to not only explore, but understand and embrace the higher significance and purpose in life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Path of Exploration

    Ken Ungerecht takes readers on a path of exploration in his book God Theories: Let's Talk. Ungerecht discusses the theory of evolution and the existence of a supreme intelligence as it relates to thermodynamics, energy and the laws of matter. Further in his book, he delves into the hot topic of religion and God in school; he gives his thoughts on how the government can implement an educational program where children can be taught different theories on God, spirituality and how it affects them. God Theories is a very well-written book that will leave readers pondering his ideas and how those theories apply to their own lives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Let's Talk!

    God Theories: Let's Talk by Ken Ungerecht is an compellingly written book on a controversial subject that has puzzled man for centuries: human life and how we got here. His book relates to his theories on this subject and whether or not there is a God-like being in charge of it all. Ungerecht may not give definitive answers to these questions; however, he does open up some very interesting avenues of thoughts that will allow readers to make up their own minds.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    How Evolution Should Be Taught

    Ken Ungerecht's God Theories: Let's Talk is a book written on the controversial Theories of Evolution and the perception today's society has taken on it. Ungerecht advocates that the common theory of evolution that is taught in school is nothing more than absurdity. Ungerecht does not wholly refute the theory so much as the manner in which it is taught, offering his insights on the meaning of evolution and how it should be taught for a more complete understanding of the never-ending search for truth that plagues mankind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Great Read for Curious Minds

    God Theories (2nd Edition) is all about assessing and analyzing the different ideas and principles of religions and trying to come away with something tangible. Though the book doesn't offer a concrete answer or opinion regarding the Supreme Creator, it interestingly focuses on the search, the journey to human spirituality. As human beings, our purpose in life has to be more than the routine and almost mechanical 8-5 life that the majority of the globe has. However, the primary focus of the book is to allow individuals to take time out and participate in a facilitated discussion that will help readers better understand their own spirituality, and the power of belief that hovers around them. The author probes deeper into the questions that have plagued humanity for ages, addressing many common and not so common issues of a spiritual nature. This is your chance to dive into the discussion and, from all the different voice, perhaps find your own. God Theories is clear, concise, and a worthwhile read for all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2